Is GPS help

Tay107

of cos is the help

i use mapking2007, just load software to PDA and hook to my bluetooth, so hor, just key in roadname, and point point, the route will be set up, then no nid see lah.. u just drive, the thing talk to u.. say drive slow, u dun drive fast. turn left, u dun turn right. beri eechee one. but then if u turn left how? aiya.. the map check hor, say u salah. then after awhile tell u how to do next.

ok rite?

If you don travel often maybe a mobile phone with built in GPS is good enuff. I using the Nokia E71 with Garmin map. So far so good.

As always program in the destination first before driving off.

I have a Nokia E71 too. I try to go to GPS mode but the thing is always waiting for satellite even when outdoors. Does it take long, or something wrong with the GPS, or something I have not set right?

How do you switch to another map provider and get rid of the Nokia maps??

Using a shinco unit in my car too. It comes in useful when you are in a hurry and want to get from one unfamiliar point (A) (where you are now) to another unfamiliar point (B)...

yup. Been an early adopter of GPS in those days, 2003, and ppl were like, 'GPS in SG for what?'like our evo frn there...no wonder alwes get in deep sh&tlaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

neverthekess, good when you are lookin for a place u not sure of. It guides you right to the placethumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Me using a Garmin btw

is GPS can help you in driving. ( in spore )

cos sometime refer to street dir oso can memorise all the road. so hv to stop at carpark and check the dir again.

how much to install GPS ?

Is help me velly much.

No charge to install. Can install yourself after purchase.

Price from as cheap as $300 to about $1k.

Once you begin to use it, you won't need to look at a road directory ever again!

If you're like me and don't know where roads like XXX St. 1 or XXX Ave. 1 or XXX Road 1 are, then this is really a good tool to have!

cos sometime refer to street dir oso can memorise all the road. so hv to stop at carpark and check the dir again.

It is useful when to go to some unfamiliar place. I leave it in the glove compartment most of the time, and use it (mount it on windscreen) when i drive to places I am not familiar with.

[thumbsup]

Though in 4 months of owning it, I realize that you still need to study the route plotted by the GPS (simulation mode). The voice and on-screen navigation sometimes does not give you enough advance notice... for example, after you turn left, the GPS may instruct you to change 3 lanes and make a U-turn in 300 meters.

[sweatdrop]

Also, sometimes there are multiple turns/exists close to each other... and if the instruction from the GPS is to turn left in 300 meters, you have to guess which left turn if there are more than one left. Voice navigation with TTS (Text-To-Speech) helps, but it has its own issue... the instructions take longer, and by the time the instruction is over, you have already traveled 100 meters.

[sweatdrop]

If you don travel often maybe a mobile phone with built in GPS is good enuff. I using the Nokia E71 with Garmin map. So far so good.

As always program in the destination first before driving off.

I have a Nokia E71 too. I try to go to GPS mode but the thing is always waiting for satellite even when outdoors. Does it take long, or something wrong with the GPS, or something I have not set right?

How do you switch to another map provider and get rid of the Nokia maps??

I have a E71 using Garmin Mobile XT with Malsing Maps, my Bluetooth GPS receiver is the Freedom Keychain GPS 2000. It is constantly charged and kept in the glove compartment, the receiver goes into auto-sleep mode when not in use and auto-wake whenever I hv my phone in the car. No waiting, instant log on with the keychain's 51 satelite channels!!!

2869.jpg

More info: http://blog.treonauts.com/2008/02/freedom-keychai.html

If u just use the integrated GPS on the E71 then it take ages to connect.

Try to use assisted GPS and make sure yr internet access (IDEAS internet if u r on singtel) is enable. Then with this it can lock onto the satelites within 30sec.

If you are somebody that is poor with sense of direction .... do get it.

For me ... I still rely on the streetdirectory .... which is pretty sufficient.

I'm using the free malsing map.

Singapore is still not ready for the real time traffic update, so avoidance is notpossible. I'm refering to having seeing the LTA traffic board on traffic info eg "massive jam" and immediately out by nearest exist. The GPS will still recalculate and guide you to go somewhere else.

so which brand of gps u using? i used to own a garmin set but gave it up as i couldnt update. wanna use malsing but muz do contribution. where got time find so many faults to contribute.

den i got the holux set... bigger screen slightly cheaper den garmin with mapking. now using it...6mths later shinco started launching cheaper and nicer looking gps sets [:/]

and garmin now got paid jermome maps with free updates [bigcry]

Well .. I believe it's a cool features to had although not a must ...but definately would help me some way ..

Say in my case ... me not on sales line or moving about often ... Normal destination is work to office ...normal town shopping etc ... You ask me bout West Area in which i stay around ... i am more or less familiar with ...

If someday you ask me to go to punggol or hougang etc ...Yes ...traditionally i can still find the way there with a map directory ...the most one or two wrong turns ...but then ...it's seems not very "professional " [laugh]

Recently just got a few chance to fetch a few of my colleague back home after a company dinner ...so i just whipped my GPS ..(Cheap MIC brand one i think from my PI) ...I ask them to key in the postal code ...and after that ...a smooth ride home for everybody ...

Another time which i find it useful is when my parents ask me to fetch them back from a funeral at around 12 mn ...Old folks also don't know how to give exact address ...especially with some funny name ...Like Toh Yi , Toh Guan , Toh Luan or Toto or whatever etc ...I ask them to get the postal code from the incharge ...key in and this "Taxi" of my on the way ...

your version of MK must be very outdated

mine will warn me of BOTH fixed camera and mobile camera, with voice somemore

If it is mobile speed camera, i will quickly check the overhead bridge or road side for white ants

Have MapKing installed in my PDA phone and using maps from MalSing, GPS receiver is an external Holux unit.

Personally I find it very useful. [nod]

I have a GPS equipped PDA with MK2007, but cannot beat my Garmin GPS with Malsing Jerome maps in re-routing times, finding current location and speed accuracy.

Sometimes can be quite frustrating with the GPS PDA as it just takes too long to locate current location, thus unable to plan route to selected destination.

You will be better off using a dedicated GPS set to show you directions and POI, rather than a PDA or phone which is a jack of all trades but master of none.

Edited by Jetabout777