Leaking

Fireball0088

Hello,

What to find out a couple of things, hope anyone can help:

1. One of my rear tires, the sidewall is punctured. Sian man. Stamford said can't repair. I think about the tires are 10k km (i think only - can't remember). Any advise what to do (a) small leak, continue to drive; (b) change tire? or © other solutions?

2. If change tire, what can i do? (a) change one; (b) change a pair;

3. If change a pair, does it need to be the same as the front tires?

Please help. Thanks in advance.

10k? front or rear? for rear tyre, IMHO u can just buy one.

for the front tyre.. errr.. depends on the amount of wear of the good front tyre loh.. [:p] but i would recommend to buy a pair and use the other as spare tyre.

For sidewall puncture it recommended to replace the tire. Else it may burst when travelling at high speed plus long distance.

Since it is only 10k km, just change the particular tire will do. However use the same brand/model as the existing.

No kidding at high speed and long distance, the heat built up may cause it to burst.

Ofcourse I am not talking about 100kmh on Singapore expressway. I am referring to exceed 120kmh at NSH (long distance driving).

1. change tire

2. depending on your pocket. if u want to change a pair, select 1 out of the other 3 that thread is wearing out soon.

3. it need not be the same as the front tires so long same size can liao. you may want to take this chance to try out other brands. put the old ones infront and new ones behind.

If air pressure is leaking thru the puncture, how to burst? It will only become flat. If u say the tire break into several pieces maybe still possible. Burst? No.

How to heat build up? A release in pressure will only cool the tire. Just like u press and hold a can of spray deodorant and release its pressurize contents, the spray can feels cold after that.

Go read more on tire constructions, tire walls are reinforced and not prone to "bursting".

I think u got confuse with the sidewall being "cut". A puncture is different.

10k? front or rear? for rear tyre, IMHO u can just buy one.

for the front tyre.. errr.. depends on the amount of wear of the good front tyre loh.. [:p] but i would recommend to buy a pair and use the other as spare tyre.

But at next 10k, i will rotate the rear tires to the front.

Seriously, does it make a difference if just change one? What will be the impact when I rotate them to the front?

Good idea. But need to check whether the spare is the same size or not.

Is your spare the same? If so replace with the spare and discard the punctured one cos no use if sidewall punctured. Get a used tire to be your spare.

Oh no. I better drive slower than. Cuz was driving a bit faster these couple of days.

How long can the tires last? 30k km?

For sidewall puncture it recommended to replace the tire. Else it may burst when travelling at high speed plus long distance.

Since it is only 10k km, just change the particular tire will do. However use the same brand/model as the existing.

I will just replace 2 tyres.

kinda of expensive for two. but might be changing two and keep the other one as spare

will the tyre shop sell only one tire?

Edited by Fireball0088

err...anything is possible...dun take chance...life is precious and priceless

also since it is a sidewall damage, it may burst if it hit curbs

Edited by Help1

1. change tire

2. depending on your pocket. if u want to change a pair, select 1 out of the other 3 that thread is wearing out soon.

3. it need not be the same as the front tires so long same size can liao. you may want to take this chance to try out other brands. put the old ones infront and new ones behind.

Now I remember, I have rotated my tires once (every 10k km). So they should be evenly wear. So anyone of them will do correct?

I tot tires should be all the same or else they will not give you the max performance as a set?

dun assume they are evenly wear, visually check and touch the tyres. if your tires rotational type (then not anyone can) or non-rotational type (then anyone can)

max performance or not is very subjective, you can have all the 4 same tyres but 2 of them is new whereas the other 2 is old, so do you still get the same comfort and performance?

if u r happy with your current model, then use back the same else change to a different brand to have a feel.

Edited by Help1