Thinking of an "up"grade to a Conti

Kraft

after experiencing the steering feel/feedback of a good conti,

most japanese models steering feels like playing arcade/console/computer driving games:

loosely connected to the front wheels.

i guess in part due to electric power steering...

My conti car has eps too. And no, it does not feel like arcade car. At higher speeds, the steering becomes heavier. I can let go of the steering wheel at 140kph and it does not crash into the ditch.

At 160kph, I can still drive with one hand in a relaxed manner. Arcade? Not so.

Don't get his point? maybe he's trying to tell u the he got a GTR and a Porky... [:p]

Good for him then. But why buy conti? No diff wat and natural man no nid identity crisis...watever..

The former will always turn away from jap however good the car is (like throttle who won't look at the GTR at all).

Heh heh, not true leh, Dude.

Who say i wont look at GTR at all ?

I was one of the first Singaporeans at the 2005 Tokyo MotorShow looking out for the GTR when it was still in concept stage prior to production.

I choose the Boxster 987 over the GTR becos I never drive up North so got no chance to blast the GTR for what it is really made. Also the GTR will naturally get more stares and challenges from the wrong crowd. And lastly, I'm not over the top with the GTR design. Thats all, nothing really against the GTR

Between the 987 and the GTR, who doesnt know which is the better performer?

Just trying to make a point that different people got different requirements, thats all.

Not doubting that individual has different requirements. nod.gif

I think deep down it's still the badge leh ... since GTR's performance is not one of the top priority, so naturally the badge stands out, must attract the "right" stares. tongue.gif

Edited by Falc

Hi guys,

I'm with a 2007 Lancer EX 1.5 now, but actually thinking of changing to a 2-3 yr old A3 1.8T or a Mini Cooper (an S would be of a different price). Both able to find one below 90k.

Not sure if it would be a wise decision or not.

Is the A3 also CVT? Coz i've been reading about the A4 (around the same price as well), but having doubts on it dies within a year or so.

I know I can't have the confidence of a almost trouble free Japanese 1.6 saloon, but definitely something that doesn't breakdown every other month...

Any advice??

My wife switch from a lancer to a conti cabrio. Yes, the feel is drastic but not without pain. Our 3mth old conti in <7k mileage has already send in twice for parts change. Also, despite bigger cc, it's pick up is much slower. Than again, the heaviness is somthing we grew to love it.

My advise is do some groundwork on checks on the model you eyeing. If warranty if over, the more you should find out from other user the possible repairs (search the forum). Sorry, mine's not VW, so cannot comment.

Jap car is generally hassle free. My jap after 3 yrs has not given me a single prob except normal wear/tear.

For french ride (my guess), it is more temperamental. In addition, due to retractable roof (my guess again), it adds another 100kg weight. Lastly, if my guess is correct, juz b extra careful wif roof mechanism.

For some, u mayb rite that deep down it is still all about d badge.

However, porky is special. Rear wheel is behind d engine. In addition, i don't think any other manufacturer produce boxer engine. It is so well developed that it no longer tail happy. 1 could happily drive it thru winding road.

GTR also got long history & it has always been outperformer in top speed. It is very hard to get d best of GTR unless live in Germany. It is still very dangerous to drive it all out on NSH.

Nope. It's a German.

My advise for buying a second hand conti car (esp for relatively rare model) is to find out its history and local support. For cabrio, dont take from PI.

oic ... i rented a 5 month old french cab for my wedding day, and it broke down big time on my way to my wife's place furious.gif, so you can safely say that I will never buy this particular make tongue.gif

In singapore where car prices are so high, I dun think I can afford to play lottery with disgruntled french employees !!!

I save every cent i have and also sometimes pick up 5 cents that people dont want in the foodcourt.....table cleaner job is not easy leh.....hard life.....some table cleaners from other foodcourt lagi steady, got GT3, Gallardo.

Newtown road one, norm is 335i, C4, GTR.

I super sub standard only 525i leh.

bro, can intro table cleaner job to me? like what my fren once said.. "i dun care wat title ppl give me.. if give me toilet cleaner but earn 10k per mth i oso dun care." lol.

Hi guys,

I'm with a 2007 Lancer EX 1.5 now, but actually thinking of changing to a 2-3 yr old A3 1.8T or a Mini Cooper (an S would be of a different price). Both able to find one below 90k.

Any advice??

hey dude,

i don't know about the A3 1.8T. but if you've test driven the Mini Cooper (07 model onwards), you will probably feel that you'll never find any other car that is close to it in terms of interior design. In terms of engine, don't try the Cooper S unless you wanna get poisoned BIG TIME! but i generally find the power of the 1.6L block from the standard Cooper to be more than sufficient. The gearbox is paired well to the engine and the car feels like it wants to be driven enthusiastically at all times. enough has been said about the legendary handling of the car so i won't even go there.

about the financial portion, i'll probably just sound silly compared to all the other financial gurus here, so i'd better [lipsrsealed]

but if u can afford it, why not? you only live once.... [;)]

You got it wrong, I earn only $2,500 per month nowhere near $10,000

Can buy 525i in cash becos, everyday eat handouts and drink tap water.

Save about $2,000 per month for the last 8 yrs

thats how I do it, please dont follow me

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop]