DBS Highnote 5

Hkboy

I did further. Went to the library, borrowed a book about collateralized debt obligations and derivatives. Read until my eyes popped out and it was even more complicated then quantum physics.

Then later decided this Minibonds or Pinnacle Notes is not for me.

You are right, this CDO and derviatives supposedly have some kind of valuation based on some kind of financial modelling but due to sub-prime, there's no basis of getting a valuation as nobody wants to buy them anymore, so if you participated in this notes. There are really no buyer out there, so how to liquidate? What value is attached to this??

Maybe some "Financial" experts can shed some light??

Yeah,

They need to be [rifle] .

Once, my Mum-in-law ask me whether to invest in a "dont know what notes" that pays high interest while she's queueing in Deep Blue Sea bank. Walau, they are trying to con old pp money! I told her straight that DONT even believe in these nonsense. Though interest is little, better than having your entire saving wipe out!

I'm very disappointed with the bank on this. It's suppose to be the People's bank not Con People's Bank!!! [thumbsdown]

Wow, after seeing this forum i cant sleep last nite.Cos i purchased some high notes in 2005.called the DBS hotline for assistance but they know nuts.

Went down early in the morning to cheak on my high notes.Heng its DBS High Notes 1.I am kind of relive.

But can some1 advise me on the DBS high note 1?The officer said that it takes a very major event to liquidated more than 26% than i will be affected(eg USA+Europe+Asia).To be frank i know nuts about investment (execpted for property).If I cash out now before it mautre (end of 2010) i will be able to recover back 85% of my principle amount only.Every end of the year i am geting back about 3.2% returns.

Apperciate some kind soul for your enlightenments/inputs.Thanks a million.

I don't much about High Note 1. Maybe you can provide more details on this. But from the limited knowledge I know...the High Note series are essentially securities that have derivatives component. It sound like it's a lousy time to have money in such instrument at the current situation.

In the words of the DBS officer...your investment will only in trouble if the market (USA+Europe+Asia) are affected badly. What we are seeing now is probably going to be a really bad crisis for the world..probably the worse we will see in our life-time. So I feel there is a real danger that your investment may be wiped out during this crisis.

So it's really your call to decide if it's worth taking the risk to hold (+ what are the returns like with the current situation?) or to pull out and lose now.

The bank do not con people. If the consumer is doubtful, he should asked before investing.

If you go to an electrical shop to buy a TV, do you ask if the TV is HD ready ? Do you ask if it comes with teletext ? Do you ask if you can get further discount ? Do you ask if there is GST ? Do you ask if they provide free delivery ?

What's the diff between buying an investment from a TV ?

That is thh problem with typical Singaporean, when you gain from your investment, you do not ask why or you don't even bother to say thank you to your banker. When you lose on your investment, you start KPKB. thumbsdown.gif

BTW, I am not a banker, I am from IT and a Singaporean. And I do invest, and I do lose in investment, but I do know what I have invested and I don't cry over a spill milk. If you can't afford to lose money, don't invest. If you invest, prepare to lose.

ya i agreed... inside the contract already mentioned... thus there is nothing u can do... DBS highnote is one of the few that failed... all over the world... similar structure system is failing or already failed...

honestly...i dun think the banks in Europe and Asia will not be affect by this..it just a matter of when.

The BIG ones in trouble..what do you think of those medium and small ones...? This is just the beginning...will probably see more of closure , m&a in the next couple of years...they need time to regularise, regroup and to regain consumer confidence...

The bank do not con...but some unethical staff will...whenver the counter staff ask me to go to their side table for investment..i alway smile and say [wave][hur] .

Those unethical staff just simply...pai pai pi ku..and go to their next better pay job..after showing they can sell million$$$ worth of product within certain time period..

Edited by Ah_dude

..........with the troubled waters that we are in right now, i wonder where is the best place to keep our $$..........

err.....CPF is your best bet!!! contribute to SRS will ensure ur retirement are well taken care off .......sure safe, safe until u cant even touch it........ [laugh]

if objective was capital preservation, then should have bought capital guaranteed funds.

anything else is just an objective, worthless like mission statements.

Yes you are right bro. It would be stated if the capital is guaranteed but such products have very low returns (slightly more than FD with lockin tenure), hence not "attractive". Not too long ago, it is very common to hear people saying taking more car loan and invest the rest for higher returns, dun put in FDs, can easily get in stocks, unit trust, funds 5-10%pa blah blah... When events like this happened, no doubt sad but it then made people wake up and realised the true meaning of high risk = high return.

Edited by Alfc