Ford Mondeo

Samshio

but bro, looking at the depreciation/yr , its not fantastic. :lll._.:

bro... most cars' depreciation makes wanna renew COE [bigcry]

Because the resale value of brands like Ford and etc is very very low. So they are priced low when compared to other models of the same class. The first owner of this make usually takes a very big hit in selling price

My mechanic once told me to avoid Ford citing expensive parts...

Disclaimer: not I say one... pls dun flame me

ya lor .... ridiculous prices nowadays. lucky my car expires in 2018. Ford parts expensive, maybe slightly lah. But then again, how often we change those big ticket items?

I have heard such saying quite a few times. I would say the phenomenon is culmination of several factors

1) taking Jap manufactured Toyota in the past as the proxy or standard of reliability for all Japanese cars and the reputation of unreliability for conti cars in the past to postulate about current reliability trends for conti cars

2) Toyota cars in general are more reliable than conti car is generally true

3) parts availability in singapore for Japanese cars being higher is generally true

4) climatic effect of Singapore being more suited for jap car is true

5) convenient ignoring of facts of there being less reliable Toyota made in Thailand or less reliable non-Toyota Japanese cars

6) complete disregard for the savvy-ness and attitude of car owner towards car maintenance (ie a little bit more effort and knowledge required doesn't bother some car owner)

7) complete disregard for the fact that higher performance or safety of conti car could compensate some owner for the lower reliability

8) forgetting the long term picture that the higher $ of maintenance doesn't add up to significantly more over the years of ownership of the conti car

9) forgetting the basis for comparison between Toyota cars and contis are many times weak. it is not as if the conti car owner would consider the Toyota cars as an alternative

Edited by Acemundo

Parts for Japanese cars are not necessary cheaper than continental cars. What most owners are facing is, discriminatory pricing by workshops.

Last Saturday Motoring shed some good news that there's one new w/s in the West charges same labour pricing regardless of make/model. Hope it's true...

Parts for Japanese cars are not necessary cheaper than continental cars. What most owners are facing is, discriminatory pricing by workshops.

Last Saturday Motoring shed some good news that there's one new w/s in the West charges same labour pricing regardless of make/model. Hope it's true...

some labour charges for conti cars have to be higher is true for those contis whose design make for harder access and labour to install or remove.

but having said that other charges for conti cars are indeed discriminatory. wheel alignment and car grooming to take for example.

some labour charges for conti cars have to be higher is true for those contis whose design make for harder access and labour to install or remove.

but having said that other charges for conti cars are indeed discriminatory. wheel alignment and car grooming to take for example.

That's true.

Even some tyre shops insisted to know what type of car I am driving before they quote me a price though I have given them my tyre specs. LOL...

Saw a new mondeo this morning on ECP. From the back, it looks like the previous mondeo, but it looked like it has gone through some botox when viewed from the rear, so i decided to overtake it excitedly. Recognized the Aston Martin-like front grill, and the beautiful DRL. And then the right DRL changed to a flashing orange LED... lighting up each LED in a water-fall fashion - very very nice! And once the signal light was cancelled, the DRL came back from dim to bright, very very nice!!! I was just mesmerized by the entire show, please forgive me. [laugh]

The somewhat disappointing part ... is that the rear signals don't do the sequential thing! But it's quite nice to watch. Just like Audi A7!

ya lor .... ridiculous prices nowadays. lucky my car expires in 2018. Ford parts expensive, maybe slightly lah. But then again, how often we change those big ticket items?

well.. depends on luck lor

I would say an 8 yr old car (regardless of origin) has a higher chance for big ticket replacement compared to a new or 2 yr old car

I have heard such saying quite a few times. I would say the phenomenon is culmination of several factors

1) taking Jap manufactured Toyota in the past as the proxy or standard of reliability for all Japanese cars and the reputation of unreliability for conti cars in the past to postulate about current reliability trends for conti cars

2) Toyota cars in general are more reliable than conti car is generally true

3) parts availability in singapore for Japanese cars being higher is generally true

4) climatic effect of Singapore being more suited for jap car is true

5) convenient ignoring of facts of there being less reliable Toyota made in Thailand or less reliable non-Toyota Japanese cars

6) complete disregard for the savvy-ness and attitude of car owner towards car maintenance (ie a little bit more effort and knowledge required doesn't bother some car owner)

7) complete disregard for the fact that higher performance or safety of conti car could compensate some owner for the lower reliability

8) forgetting the long term picture that the higher $ of maintenance doesn't add up to significantly more over the years of ownership of the conti car

9) forgetting the basis for comparison between Toyota cars and contis are many times weak. it is not as if the conti car owner would consider the Toyota cars as an alternative

pt 7 contradicts pt 2 if we indeed compare a toyota with a ford

this is very true... agree 100%

That's true.

Even some tyre shops insisted to know what type of car I am driving before they quote me a price though I have given them my tyre specs. LOL...

they wanna make sure can fit LOL

why contradict? both points still acknowledge that Toyota is less prone to break down but nonetheless lower performance.

pt 7 contradicts pt 2 if we indeed compare a toyota with a ford

Since you guys are talking about labour charges for Mondeo...

How's the service itself?

Good? Buay tahan? etc.?

Since you guys are talking about labour charges for Mondeo...

How's the service itself?

Good? Buay tahan? etc.?

That depends if u go back to AD or aftermkt shops?

For me, I use Quicklane. A little more pricey but no complaints so far.

That depends if u go back to AD or aftermkt shops?

For me, I use Quicklane. A little more pricey but no complaints so far.

I'm curious about the in-warranty service-quality from RM. QuickLane is part of Vantage also right?

Hallo,

I am keen to purchase an used yr2009 Mondeo 2.3A. Any feedback on the maintenance aspect that I shld be concerned with ?

I read somewhere that there is issue with the fuel pump. Is it true ?

May I know whats the dif between 2.3A and 2.3 trend.

Many thanks.

Edited by slslee