Hishercar Clutched November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 What if this is extended to buses and even express highway - eg outer lane charge more for faster speed Business Times - 04 Nov 2008 COMMENTARY SIA's preferred seat policy a slippery slope By LEE U-WEN WHENEVER I board a plane, I always look longingly at those lucky enough to be seated along the exit rows of the cabin. Once in a blue moon, the airline I'm flying on grants my request to have one of these 'privileged' seats, usually when the flight is not full. Among other things, the seat is coveted as it provides more legroom, and there's no worry about the passenger in front reclining his seat all the way and eating into one's already-cramped personal space in economy class - all at no additional charge, too. This has been a cheap thrill of sorts for travellers who saw air travel become increasingly expensive due to the increase in jet fuel costs this year. But, as they say, all good things have to come to an end some day. Yesterday, Singapore Airlines announced that passengers who want such 'preferred seats' on their planes will have to fork out US$100, about S$147, more for a return flight, and an extra US$50 per sector if their journey includes a transit stop. This new policy applies to all its flights except those within South-east Asia. Journeys served by the Boeing B777-200ER jets are excluded as they do not have exit row seats. What's different about this new option is that it will guarantee you an exit row seat on a first-come-first-serve basis, rather than on a request basis previously. I do not entirely agree with this move by the world's top airline. Here's my beef: Why should a passenger have to pay the extra $147 to SIA when his extra leg room comes with far greater responsibility? This is clear from the fact that money alone will not guarantee you that seemingly more luxurious seat. SIA has drawn up a list of seven terms and conditions that one must meet before being even entitled to reserve an exit row seat. These include being at least 21 years old, be 'fully able-bodied', not pregnant, able to understand safety instructions in English, travelling without infants, and not requiring an extension seat belt 'because of large body size'. These are safety considerations because, in an emergency, the passenger occupying these seats is obliged to help the crew. I'm sure I'm not alone in feeling that paying for the preferred seat sounds more like a burden rather than a luxury, what with all these expectations and responsibilities placed on the shoulders of these passengers. And surely, someone who agrees to shoulder this responsibility should not be charged more, however remote the possibility of an emergency. And why is there a need to charge per sector, rather than per flight? Given the choice, it's safe to say that most passengers would prefer to fly direct, rather than have to transit midway. It's not difficult to see that SIA is thinking out of the box for new ways to boost sideline revenue in the wake of the airline industry being hit by the global financial crisis, but this latest move makes one wonder if other airlines will follow suit now that SIA has taken the lead. On the flip side, what about less desirable seats, such as the middle seat between a window and aisle seat, or those right at the back next to the toilets and with hardly any space to recline at all? Shouldn't there now be a 'discount' for passengers who are assigned these less popular seats? Levying different charges for seats within the same 'class' is a slippery slope. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 i offer another view. put it this way. what are the chances of you needing to help the crew in an emergency? if crashing, its bye bye world, no help needed. if emergency landing on an air field, chances are u won't be needed as it is not that critical. if suay suay landed on air field, plane catches fire, u help open door and the emergency slide. u can be the 1st to run away from the danger. so a premium is still for me acceptable. especially on a long flight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 SIA is getting from bad to worse with all the new policies. Removing permanent PPS status... paying for exit rows... mediocre on board food... Have never taken SIA since many years back and will continue not to take SIA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 (edited) tis kind of move very cheapo...already sound like budget airlines. why dont SIA charge cheaper seats for near toilet seat coz of the stench? Why dont SIA charge more for window seat coz of the sea view haha why pay for a premium when that seat is essentially free if no one requested for it and in a full load, that seat is ultimately need to be filled. Edited November 4, 2008 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 complain so much for what. Just dont fly them. I switched airlines long ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 i always buy the affordable value for money tickets...so far i flew w cathay the most even to osaka...even got transit still cheap!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 With this arrangement, what is the impact on those with inmobility? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 Why dont SIA charge more for window seat coz of the sea view haha ******************************************************************************** *** maybe it is already in their plan, just that they are taking 1 step at a time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 maybe it does not apply to them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 my impression is that these good seats are normally given to pregant women, kids, the elderly...... i think this $147 is targetted at those who are at least 21 years old, be 'fully able-bodied', not pregnant, able to understand safety instructions in English, travelling without infants, and not requiring an extension seat belt 'because of large body size' so kudos to SIA for telling able bodied young people, who are eyeing for these green seats, to budge off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 In an event of an emergency, I would like to see which Singaporean is able to overcome its survival instinct by assisting crew members in the orderly evacuation of the passengers. Singaporean Mentality - F*** it, my life is more important than yours. Adios amigos ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 well those seats are ideal to assist in opening the emer doors when need,hence the need for able-bodied people. i just dont agree paying a premium for such seats. and yes,if u are in the know for the aviation industry,u would know that there ARE emergencies that do take place around the world that are not major enuff to disintegrate the aircraft,hence the abilities n morals of the able-bodied man/woman to help out,instead of being the first one to jump out of the plane during crash landing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 tis kind of move very cheapo...already sound like budget airlines. why dont SIA charge cheaper seats for near toilet seat coz of the stench? Why dont SIA charge more for window seat coz of the sea view haha why pay for a premium when that seat is essentially free if no one requested for it and in a full load, that seat is ultimately need to be filled. i remember myself discovering that i had to pay for budget airlines when i flew for the first time and i was telling myself.. thank god SIA is not so cheapo.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 SIA preferred seat: Although I didnt agree with SIA latest policy, you should look at it from Demand and Supply side. IE if you have travel using some airlines like Qatar Airways (just imagine travelling 10-12 hours with minimun legroom), or Kazakhstan plane (I took from South Korea to Kazakhstan last year) u will understand the rational. I always ask for seat at the exit, because it have better leg room (me tall, so when i travel more than 6 hours I request for these seat) Fyi, I am not the only one asking for these seats. A lot of other passenger are doing the same things. U just imagine all those Angmoh, very tall, some big size, kena squeeze at the seats at some "premium" airlines.... just imagine their discomfort or torture.... That the reason why I fly SQ / Silkair if possible.... because they have one of the most luxurious legroom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 PS: SIA - you can slammed SIA/ Silkair as much as you want, but when you have to travel a lot, especially in Economy class, you will appreciate SIA. Pity, my company in order to cut cost are using other airlines/ transfer to fly their staff to their destination..... I remember when I have to travel to Libya recently, they fly me first to Dubai, then to Tripoli.....total journey nearly 22 hours, including transfer... backside pain like hell.... took the plane at 2 am....reach there the next day..... phew... cannot sleep..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 tis kind of move very cheapo...already sound like budget airlines. why dont SIA charge cheaper seats for near toilet seat coz of the stench? Why dont SIA charge more for window seat coz of the sea view haha why pay for a premium when that seat is essentially free if no one requested for it and in a full load, that seat is ultimately need to be filled. They are considering charging for other seats also hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 my impression is that these good seats are normally given to pregant women, kids, the elderly...... i think this $147 is targetted at those who are at least 21 years old, be 'fully able-bodied', not pregnant, able to understand safety instructions in English, travelling without infants, and not requiring an extension seat belt 'because of large body size' so kudos to SIA for telling able bodied young people, who are eyeing for these green seats, to budge off You could be right but how would the staff resolved the issue when the seat is sold and on-the-spot when you have someone who dearly need the extra space, like for eg pregnant lady, elderly or even someabled bodied but with a plastered leg? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 4, 2008 Share November 4, 2008 i donno i guess whoever needs the seat carrys the onus of informing the airline early ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...