How much Torque is needed?

Kelpie

Often read comments that a NA car lacks the torque. Also read that a TC-ed car can overtake effortlessly, faster response in changing lane. So how much torque do you think is required for a NA car to do the same?

Lets say how much torque do you think a stock 2L car should at least have? 20?

Regards,

what a questionconfused.gif

you want higher torque,nothing beats forced induction comparing the same capacity.

if you drive a NA 2 litre car,just give way to 2litre turbo cars,don't even think of overtaking them.sly.gif

what a question

you want higher torque,nothing beats forced induction comparing the same capacity.

if you drive a NA 2 litre car,just give way to 2litre turbo cars,don't even think of overtaking them.

So a NA car can't overtake a TCed car? what an answer.

Regards,

Can la. Must have equal or more torgue than a TC car lor. Maybe 350 or more. Happy?

No lah, we're not here to debate who can overtakes who mah. I wanted to know the magic number that is deemed sufficient for say a 2L NA car to overtake or change lane with sufficient zest.

Regards,

Go test drive both types and find out for yourself. Or look at some charts on the torque and powerband of TC-ed and NA engines and you will understand better.

There is no sense trying to find a consensus on what is "enough".

Edited by Zerstorer

Go test drive both types and find out for yourself. Or look at some charts on the torque and powerband of TC-ed and NA engines and you will understand better.

There is no sense trying to find a consensus on what is "enough".

Ok lets put it this way. Quite a while ago, I posted a topic on what is the reasonable bhp for a stock 2L cars. The average suggested here was something like 140bhp. Then, some commented beside bhp, must also talk about torque (these are people from the TCed wing).

So for reasonable performance, I was wondering what is a the ideal torque range for a 2L NA car.

Regards,

The magic number will probably be 25Nm more than what you have at present moment. There are so many variables involved in overtaking/lane-changing. Weight, speed, rpm, wheelbase, tyres, driver... So do you think there's a magic number?

for that 140bhp figure, the torque will be ard 180nm to 190nm or so.

this is the baseline figure for today's 2 liter engines i believe. so dun nitpick if urs is NA and higher [laugh]

but i think the torque figures for NA is largely standard. bhp varies cos some engines can rev higher.. or some engines may have higher peak torque but at higher RPM. may not be better to drive as compared to engines with poor paper specs but good low end [idea]

it's all about power-to-weight ratio. you can have a 200NM torque but if the car is heavy, it is slow in pick up and overtaking. ie: BMW 520 comes with 200NM torque and it is considered underpower for its body. vios/altis is damn good in pick up because its torque is optimum to move its body.

you are right.

its how fast the driver drives.

most of the time i also kena smoked by NA cars.

even Chery QQ are faster than me.

so how much torque is not really important.

what's important is the driver.sly.gif

It's more on torque to weight ratio. The higher it is at lower rpm, the better it is. Most high cc or turbo-diesel car has higher torque at lower rpm, that why over taking during highway speed is a breeze for them.

Edited by Trex101