DBS cutting staff...

Metalslug

Why dun Temesak Holding also retrench some of the staffs? Maybe start from Mrs. Ho, who failed to stop 400m loss invesement in a single company

wonder if any one actually totals up the 'ventures' and losses incurred over those years... maybe can buy up some islands in the carribean leow

buay sai retrench her lah.. she so famous already.. one of the most powderful/influencial woman in the world right?

kenna pok, papa's face put where? lipsrsealed.gif

yes.. cutting expenses first is the more 'humane' way.. cutting heads should be the last resort.

but nowadays, u see many ceo are hard-pressed for results.. u think they'll put their heads on the chopping board meh?

actually in the short term, DBS still have to incur huge retrenchment compensation ... in the end didnt save much too ... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

cut salary is a quicker and more humane approach ... sweatdrop.gif but of course, shd be avoided unless neccessary rolleyes.gif

wonder how well the new CEO will perform in his new role .... heard he is from citibank ... just a china country CEO ?

Edited by Cheekg98

this shd be the priority ....

DBS overhauls sales tactics By Ignatius Low, Money Editor home-dbs-cc.jpgc.gifc.gif DBS Bank plans to ask more detailed questions about a customer's background and how he got the money he is investing. And it will turn away those who are not suited for a product, even if they insist on buying. -- ST PHOTO: CAROLINE CHIA

since when will ceo put head on chopping board? everybody one big happy alumni family...

i look after u, u look after me or my son or my daughter...my son look after your granddaughter[gossip]

Old habits die hard lah...turn away customers...even if they insist on buying?

The proof is in the pudding. Check out DBS RM's renumeration policy 6 months later and you will see if leopard spots can be removed....somemore now got ang moh ceo who thinks this is GE part deux .

hopefully not another, "shortermism" kind of ceo. blah blah blah for 2-3 yrs and leave it for the next highly paid janitor to clear all the toilet bowl mis-aims.

from john "posb" olds to phillipe "dao heng" paillart to jackson "subprime" tai and now richard "GPMG" stanley. all the look west policy, best practices (my ass)...

uob's chairman wee must be laughing hiss ass off at the string of useless CEOs...want to teach uncle to suck eggs...uncle was buying banks before u even got your first atm card.

since 2000 when the mergers were forced upon the banks, he probably never expected to outdo dbs in 8 short years.

Greed is not the only reason for the mess, there's no such teaching as SHAME in the west and we are learning from the very best? [thumbsdown]

Edited by Sabian

understand the citiback is notdoing any better...

like my previous company, first cut site daily allowance, following next year pay freeze, the next year pay cut(10-20%)..after that still can not substain, the retrence...in the way...all the staff also expected and not really blame the company...

that time, in a way, bring the staff together. Imagine, when we tender of a project, we really put our heart to bid. when the project did not get..all the staff were sad. the company no choice but to retench...

yes.. cutting expenses first is the more 'humane' way.. cutting heads should be the last resort.

but nowadays, u see many ceo are hard-pressed for results.. u think they'll put their heads on the chopping board meh?

i fully agree.... nowadays ceo do not give a darm about their staff but 100% taking care of their own back side and their "allies".....they are there to "suck" dry the cash and leave when the cash depleted..

just my current company is a very good example and seeing it, i have totally lost my faith in these so call "ceo"..... of cause there r good one out there but am i lucky enough to work under one??. how many good ceo out there????.. ok, here the classic story.. try to cut short....

previously, my current company was own by 2 bosses who build the company up from scratch......very technical, know the business well... take very good care of their staff.... never had R and pay cut before during their 20+yrs ....not even during asia financial crisis, sars or any global recession time... just some cost cutting measures like OT control, incentive adjustment, force shut-down to tide over the tough period...

well, few years ago, whole company sold to a big company.... then come a so call ceo... yah... during his four years here so far, the company is going downhill year after year and now, we are into the R exercise...... when HR manager suggested management team lead by pay cut first before going into R, got F upsidedown.... and the best part.. R only those from ground zero but cannot touch "his elite team"......

and no prize for guessing it right, with his leadership, there are many VP, directors, managers roles created and recruited by him personally, most are from his own "network" or buddy (imagine the ceo can even hire a director, all pay package stuff settled but HR manager not involved.....HR manager only get to know when he say, someone coming to work next monday, go prepare an appt letter.....imagine HR manager has to ask around for the actual name of that director.... .) [hur]

the company used to be top light but bottom heavy but now, we are top heavy bottom light and still R those bottom to cut cost... [hur]

Fully agreed. A local fund management company i know of used to be a leader in the market but since a CEO change about 1 year ago, the CEO brings in all related friends into the top management and run the business like their own company. Top heavy and bottom light.

Now the company unit trust are amongst the worst in the industry. Almost all the fund for the 1 year period in the last or last few. A so called Asian specialist but the asian funds are bottom of the market since the CEO took over.

noticed ex-company angmo also did that before ... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

today saw straits times ... DBS chairman desperately came out to explain the rationale behind the cut, and the recent mis-selling saga. I guess damage has been done to DBS brand ... no explanation can salvage the situation shakehead.gifshakehead.gifshakehead.gif

Edited by Cheekg98