Ozzie75 Clutched January 18, 2010 Share January 18, 2010 I have squeaky sounds frm my D2 coils... any idea how to fix them? :( You should go bakc to A T Performance for a health check on your coils. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear January 20, 2010 Share January 20, 2010 I have squeaky sounds frm my D2 coils... any idea how to fix them? :( ya, a bit squeaky sound for D2 coils is normal. If BTH, better go AT performance and let them check and service your coils. Your squeaky sound is front of rear? Previously, i got squeaky sound on the front. End up they put grease and spray some WD-40 on the shaft then problem solve ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forgot2bme Clutched February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Thanks bro!! Mine are coming from the rear... If Grease and WD40 can solve the problem it'd be fantastic and cheap!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 wd40 is bad for the seals on your shocks. HALLO pls dun put wd40. grease enuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear February 1, 2010 Share February 1, 2010 Squeaking sounds might not be the shock issue. Another possibility is worn out rubber bushings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Broad Neutral Newbie August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 well, just to share a thing or two that I have learned from my dad and uncles. They say that the good way to test your shocks is to push the car down and release it, if it bounce back and steadied just after going up, then your shocks are still ok. But when it bounce back like a ball you are dribbling, it is the perfect time to change your car shock absorber. Hope this simple trick can help. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davekiat Clutched August 30, 2010 Share August 30, 2010 My 2007 vios is about 100,000. The ride is very bumpy. Time to change my shock absorbers as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 30, 2010 Share August 30, 2010 My poor car cross about 50 speed humps a day, excluding speed regulating strips. This type of usage, how long can the shock absorbers last? Can last 10 years? I tried bouncing the car, but the suspension is too firm, I can hardly move it. My wife ill treat the car by crossing the humps at up to 60 km/h. Some literature recommended to check/replace every 40,000km. However, it also depends on other factors like the weight od the vehicle during usage (longer service life with lighter vehicle weight), travelling speed during usage (especially over humps, potholes, cornering, braking) My one year plus car already have symptoms of previous 8-year old car with worn shock-absorbers, when road surface is rough/uneven If car rock alot, have a Mechanic check for worn shock-absorbers. Worn shock-absorbers typically caused one vehicle collision/somersaulting when braked hard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear August 30, 2010 Share August 30, 2010 40k is b-------t unless your car comes with super soft absorbers and carry full load all the time vios/altis/latio are such examples Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 30, 2010 Share August 30, 2010 My Sonata NF shock-absorber also due for change. Can feel the car bouncing like a rubber ball over humps. Got lots of ticking sound making U-turn as well. Milage almost 110k liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikail5858 Neutral Newbie September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 I just changed my shock absorbers for my nissan sunny now at 135,000km and paid S$130-00 for 2 pcs front Tokiko brand and S$30 for labour to change at a JB workshop, and another S$20-00 for 2 pcs dust cover + dampener. Total cost = S$180-00. Most places i went quoted almost 50% more at least for the same and I still cant believe how much cheaper i got it done. And my ride is now perfect, smooth and stable. Feels like a new car. If your shocks are faulty, get it changed immediately. I had a near miss on the AYE recently. Faulty shocks will compromise your braking performance. With faulty shocks you will take a longer time to brake and a few seconds can be vital to whether you or your family live or die or get hurt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rogersk8ter 1st Gear September 28, 2010 Share September 28, 2010 Hi Mika, u only changed the front 2 shocks? isnt it better to change all 4? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikail5858 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2010 Share October 3, 2010 yes only the 2 front shock absorbers - the back ones are still ok and just did computerised wheel allingment at JB for $45 ringgit and the ride is really great and feels stable wit good grip...i'm happy. I think the Tokiko shock absorbers are good and for $65-00 really value for money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear October 3, 2010 Share October 3, 2010 Hi Mika, u only changed the front 2 shocks? isnt it better to change all 4? The gauge is to change shock absorber in pairs that is left and right together not all 4. Anyway.. its mostly sold in pairs so you don't seem to get a choice. However if the test is done at AD, then they will tell you that they had run a check on the other side of the damper hence changing the faulty one is sufficient. Different talks for different pockets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikail5858 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2010 Share October 3, 2010 yes thats what the mechanic told me too - change in pairs. For example if you change the front right, change the front left as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 3, 2010 Share October 3, 2010 The gauge is to change shock absorber in pairs that is left and right together not all 4. Anyway.. its mostly sold in pairs so you don't seem to get a choice. However if the test is done at AD, then they will tell you that they had run a check on the other side of the damper hence changing the faulty one is sufficient. Different talks for different pockets. Not just ADs. Some workshops would also advise the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear October 3, 2010 Share October 3, 2010 (edited) Change already, the car feel new again. I did once long ago with my old civic...I mean I change all four after leaving the car in the open during winter and not drive for three months. The car was bouncing like a ball and I have to change all four Edited October 3, 2010 by GoodCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 3, 2010 Share October 3, 2010 Change already, the car feel new again. I did once long ago with my old civic...I mean I change all four after leaving the car in the open during winter and not drive for three months. The car was bouncing like a ball and I have to change all four I changed my suspension too some weeks back. Feels good. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...