Home Air-con

Ehonda

But they've been like this for a long time. Wife is much better nowadays, but son esp., is quite bad. Wonder whether can anything be done to let him have a better quality of life...

Even when changed to new bed sheet, pillow case, etc. also not much difference.

My wife said see doc no use, as a colleague went for op, but after a while, revert to the old self again...

and so she said no choice, have to just live with it...

poor thing...

try aroma therapy. I used to easily get flu symptoms when i was in my 30s....my nose and my throat will become dry and hurt. Even eating oranges will give such symptoms. Someone introduced Bel-air aroma therapy to us.....rather expensive but it worked! But when initially used i suffered quite badly and then slowly the symptom faded away. There are many brands and oils out there....must get the correct one for the specific ailment. Not saying it works 100% for everybody but at least for me it does.

yah cold lately so no a/c, and often no fan too. But wife said stuffy, so i connect our small USB (8 in) fan to phone charger and on it in the night, just to circulate the air in the room...

Wife and kids all have sinus problem. Eep son, sneezes and got runny nose almost everyday... Anyone knows anyway to fix the problem?

i have asked doctor about my sinus problem before, he said that mine is chronic and the only way is to go for op but he recommends nose drops instead. 

anyway for me ever since enlisting in NS, my sinus problem improved a lot. i attribute it to exercise and keeping fit. 

try aroma therapy. I used to easily get flu symptoms when i was in my 30s....my nose and my throat will become dry and hurt. Even eating oranges will give such symptoms. Someone introduced Bel-air aroma therapy to us.....rather expensive but it worked! But when initially used i suffered quite badly and then slowly the symptom faded away. There are many brands and oils out there....must get the correct one for the specific ailment. Not saying it works 100% for everybody but at least for me it does.

OK. Someone gave me a bottle of eucalyptus oil and said that it helps too. Only tried one night... will try out more to see if really can help.

i have asked doctor about my sinus problem before, he said that mine is chronic and the only way is to go for op but he recommends nose drops instead. 

anyway for me ever since enlisting in NS, my sinus problem improved a lot. i attribute it to exercise and keeping fit. 

Thanks!

I have a feeling my son's one is also chronic lor... But wife said her colleague went for op and the effect didn't stay for long.

Hope it'll go away in my son's case too. My wife has not had it much recently - it used to be almost daily...

My previous hairdresser had said that got one TCM could cure this, but at that time my wife didn't believe so didn't go try. Now cannot find that contact anymore and the hairdresser has also moved... 

I have suffered chronic sinus problem all my life. Gets better after the room, mattress and pillows have been vacuumed with HEPA standard machine cleaner with vibrating head to shake loose all the ingrained dust and skin flakes. Aromatherapy with essential oils helps too. Today I woke up, blew my nose and have been OK since.

When I travel and stay in dusty hotels ......... oh oh. Can't do without antihistamines.  

I like your machine cleaner with vibrating head   :D  

OK. Someone gave me a bottle of eucalyptus oil and said that it helps too. Only tried one night... will try out more to see if really can help.

Thanks!

I have a feeling my son's one is also chronic lor... But wife said her colleague went for op and the effect didn't stay for long.

Hope it'll go away in my son's case too. My wife has not had it much recently - it used to be almost daily...

My previous hairdresser had said that got one TCM could cure this, but at that time my wife didn't believe so didn't go try. Now cannot find that contact anymore and the hairdresser has also moved...

i particularly liked the scent that mimic freshly cut grass...i forgot the name..

i also don't quite like the aircon, unless it's in the hottest months when night time temp could be around 31-32 C. Then will bo bian and on it for maybe an hour or so on timer when we sleep.

otherwise, we normally only use the a/c for maybe 1-1.5 hr after shower and before sleeping, to cool down.

Same for the kids - we on their aircon for maybe an hour or so when they sleep, then after that (and before we sleep) will go and open their door to ventilate a bit.

Oh, during the cold spell few weeks ago, closed doors/windows, no a/c, no fan, and used blankets...

You guys can sleep without A/C  :a-good:.   As for me, I can't sleep well without it  [smallcry]  I have been sleeping with the air conditioner on for over 50 years and even till now. During my teenage when studying in the US where the temperature at 3-5 deg I still open the windows but with the warmer turned on otherwise I feel warm in the room.  Then back to SG, I need air-con to sleep.

Edited by AltisOwner
  • Praise 14

I like your machine cleaner with vibrating head   :D  

It's a Kirby. Can use pneumatic high speed vibrating head mode, or direct belt driven mode which is even more effective as the vibration and vacuum stronger. After I use on my bed, pillows and carpets, my hand will be numb from the vibrations. But it is effective to remove dust and mites. The dust and mites get shaken loose.  

You guys can sleep without A/C  :a-good:.   As for me, I can't sleep well without it  [smallcry]  I have been sleeping with the air conditioner on for over 50 years and even till now. During my teenage when studying in the US where the temperature at 3-5 deg I still open the windows but with the warmer turned on otherwise I feel warm in the room.  Then back to SG, I need air-con to sleep.

You are not alone, many people cant sleep well or even cant fall asleep without aircon, even outside is raining i believe many people still default must switch on aircon every night. But i am the odd one, can sleep without aircon even during super hot weather. Lol.

Are you the human torch in fantastic 4?

Yeah....if set to 28 deg for long run the air-con may damage :)

If its an Inverter unit then won't spoil so easily la.. Its those non-inverter units where they need to cut in, cut out the compressor then will do more harm in the long run.

wah... bro, you very seasoned already.

I dun wan the kids to be too reliant on aircon leh. Esp the boy, later too conditioned to it, next time go NS sure mati lah... I keep telling him it's for his own good that he must get used to no a/c, and that if got a/c, it's a bonus n not a must...

If its an Inverter unit then won't spoil so easily la.. Its those non-inverter units where they need to cut in, cut out the compressor then will do more harm in the long run.

Actually those aircons in the temperate countries, can change mode to become a heater to blow out hot air during winter right? I think our cars' aircons also can.

I dun know how it works, but won't it spoil the aircon??

wah... bro, you very seasoned already.

I dun wan the kids to be too reliant on aircon leh. Esp the boy, later too conditioned to it, next time go NS sure mati lah... I keep telling him it's for his own good that he must get used to no a/c, and that if got a/c, it's a bonus n not a must...

Actually those aircons in the temperate countries, can change mode to become a heater to blow out hot air during winter right? I think our cars' aircons also can.

Yes, those aircon come with reverse cycle function.

In cooling mood, inside cold air n outside exhaust hot air.

In heating mood, inside hot air n outside exhaust cold air.

Car aircon work on the same concept which has either heating or cooling function. It works on the "reverse" flow of the refrigerant through a valve in heat mode. Actually the universal term is HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning). For local climate we only require one function which is air conditioning. Spoil? No. It's designed to either do heating or cooling.

..... 50++ years with AC on and going on  ........ Unker you power lah!!...... got get PG card  "oldready" ???   :a-fun:

Happy CNY [laugh]

..... 50++ years with AC on and going on  ........ Unker you power lah!!...... got get PG card  "oldready" ???   :a-fun:

Happy CNY [laugh]

No PG card, got SC card only  [bigcry]  :a-bang:  :a-m1524: 

Yes, those aircon come with reverse cycle function.

In cooling mood, inside cold air n outside exhaust hot air.

In heating mood, inside hot air n outside exhaust cold air.

This is informative.

Those additional feature/specs not found in the aircons we use here right? Last month during the 'cold spell', close windows and doors already still cold... if got heater function, i would have considered it  [laugh]

Car aircon work on the same concept which has either heating or cooling function. It works on the "reverse" flow of the refrigerant through a valve in heat mode. Actually the universal term is HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning). For local climate we only require one function which is air conditioning. Spoil? No. It's designed to either do heating or cooling.

Yup, last time my previous car when there was a sour smell every morning when i first switched on the a/c, got advice here that it might be mold growing in the a/c vents, and to try to use hot air to heat/dry them up. I actually tried that by switching temp to highest, and boy, was it warm...

but it was no use, as it was found to be cooling coil leaked and required replacement...

hi guys 

i bought my split system toshiba aircon from  gain city 5 years ago , now looking to find a reliable guy/company to do servicing , should i go back to Gain City for a servicing package  or find a aircon servicing company to service it  .. any good recommendation is very much appreciated