Is this a con man?

Bluepica

I remember seeing some posting ago in STOMP about a man in van was trying to sell some kind of high end hifi set set to ppl there encounter along the way.

Yesterday, I saw it at Marine Parade multi storey car park. I saw this guy from the van was holding some invoices talking to an executive guy. That man keep saying no while peepiung into the van but the "con man", who have a Chinese national accent, keep persuading him. Then I walked away. While walking back to the MSCP again, the van disappear. But then I heard the voices of that Chinese national again. This time the van is at 2level of the car park. I can see from below, that now this guy was persuading another older man with a kid. I was standing watching below for quite sometime. His victim sound persuaded by his sweet talk. Then I left. about 20min later, I went back to the MSCP to drive my car out, the van was still there and the "con man" were still talking to the same person....I purposely drove slowly pass and see what's going on. Saw somekind of boxes in the van...

is this a real con man?

This is the equivalent of the MNC of con job. They have branches all over the world, and their trade mark vehicle is a 'white' color van. You can google 'white van scam', coz there are sites dedicated to warning against them.

We have this in discussion in MCF years back.

Anyway, some brief background.

In most cases, the 'man' will state that he have some extra hifi system which he needs to dispose off before he return to his warehouse/office. And the reason why he have the additional sets is due to human error in either the invoicing or someone loaded extra.

Not sure about now, but previously, the warranty they have given is valid. And you really can bring any faulty sets for exchange.

So, what is the catch? The hifi system they mentioned ain't really branded and the components used are some cheap china-made stuff. But they are selling it to you as if it is a premium product. Get it?

I remember seeing some posting ago in STOMP about a man in van was trying to sell some kind of high end hifi set set to ppl there encounter along the way.

Yesterday, I saw it at Marine Parade multi storey car park. I saw this guy from the van was holding some invoices talking to an executive guy. That man keep saying no while peepiung into the van but the "con man", who have a Chinese national accent, keep persuading him. Then I walked away. While walking back to the MSCP again, the van disappear. But then I heard the voices of that Chinese national again. This time the van is at 2level of the car park. I can see from below, that now this guy was persuading another older man with a kid. I was standing watching below for quite sometime. His victim sound persuaded by his sweet talk. Then I left. about 20min later, I went back to the MSCP to drive my car out, the van was still there and the "con man" were still talking to the same person....I purposely drove slowly pass and see what's going on. Saw somekind of boxes in the van...

is this a real con man?

wow, now they outsource to FT liao ah?

[sly][sly]

i met one few years back... he was calling "brother brother" but i bo chup him [:p][:p]

cos i already read abt them in the forums

Call 999? Its a LPPL situation with our police nowadays.

I have personal experience in trying to get the police to catch some exhibitor who took my deposit but con me with a fake exhibition event that did not happen eventually.

1) The police will ask you whether you are the victim anot? If you never buy from the con-man then where is the CONMAN to catch? Sorry police cannot act if there is no crime yet!

2) The police will ask you whether you have bought from them? If you answer yes, then what is the problem since you went in with your eyes wide open. They offered a price, you accepted the offer, money exchanged, the speakers and hi-fi set are fully functional right? Where is the CONMAN to catch?

3) Since its a small amount, they will advice you to go small claims bureau to settle.

4) Its like buying a car in Singapore, the same car is cheaper in Japan or Germany. But do we go around calling the salesman a conman?

5) The same diamonds rings you bought last week, is now 70% discount at other shops. DO you go around calling the police to catch the salesman Conman too?

Its a catch-22 situation.....police are not very helpful in all the above cases.

We all know the police can only do that much, who doesn't know... but be creative ma... they can be creative to con you why can't you be creative to nail them? Don't proof to others sporns are indeed stupid.

About the car and what diamonds... not the same nature, out of the context... [dizzy]

everyone seems reporting the white van...in most forum.....

and i never find them been caught...what is the Wong K Seng..group been doing ?

How to be creative to nail them? They have being in operation for at least ten years by now....still they are here.....I think the van salesman are equally as creative in order to survive for so long in such a small place like Singapore!

I think not many people have the time to spend to nail them...unless one has being conned before.

u forgot to add, even if the "conman" punch u if u call them name like "conman", police also wont take up the case but ask u to file ur own civil case since there's no casualty... [laugh]

oh... no wonder those farkers at sim lim selling extra exp hps and psp will never be caught... or the notorious MLM thing is orchard is still there all these years

sad... consumers in singapore are not protected [:|][:|] so watch it guys, in singapore, u better protect urself... if kena con, too bad, u r not smart enough [:|][:|][shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

think wikipedia also got this White Van Scam..

yah, such conman xist since many yrs ago. The 1st time i heard was when i was studying in UK... that was like 15yrs ago!!!! Any I also came across such scam lately at Yishun area, Parkway parade Shopping Centre, Bugis area....

is this a real con man?

They have progressed from hifi speakers to "expensive Fullerton $355 per bottle" wine.

Check out this link:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthre...=1898252&page=3

That company is still in business cos they know in SGP, many fools are born each day. [laugh][laugh]

Buayas take note. Seems like the "salesgirl" is the sexy type with the MILF look..... [laugh][laugh] Ask if her buns and kuay are also for sale.........

Edited by Dipstick

Wah lau .... you make me hungry liao with all the kuays, btw your not talking about png kuay right? [sweatdrop]

Anyway, it's not all about con men but if you are a willing party to the trade then it is a case of conned men.

So just be careful, don't get sweet talked into buying something you will regret later