Ironstarz 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 Still earn is one thing, some people can lose their career because of this, esp for civil servant ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantohheng Neutral Newbie December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 thats stupid. why even want to do such things? such acts will only result in being blacklisted and problems everytime you pass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Punkeyboozter Neutral Newbie December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 well you can say what you want.. even though ive only been around for a while. This law is made only to inrich the singapore government. As mentioned earlier.. if the shop nextdoor is selling the same thing cheaper its all about being compeditive. Another redicilous law to steal your money is for you to pay for parking at your own house. I have been in a few countries and found this law very strange as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melissa 1st Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 (edited) Precisely! We always read News report that they caught XXX for meddling with Fuel Guage, but we never read complaints from drivers who complain that they are wrongly accused/check for meddling Fuel Guage.. Meaning ICA/LTA is 100% spot on! How can that be??!! Erm... the 100% spot check is not SOLELY to check whether u have tampered with ur fuel gauge & how does ICA "check ur fuel tank? Open n peek inside? The 100% spot check is SOLELY random or in some cases, maybe tipped off but now they know that there is a remote so all they have to do is find it. Pls do not have the misconception that all the vehicles pulled to the 100% inspection bay is so for checking of the fuel gauge.... I think you have mis-read my post.. but can you read with a clear mind again? im not talking about the 100% spot check.... EDITED: Anyway im not replying to you (but to Damienic), so maybe you dun get what i mean in the 1st place. Appreciate if you dun assume. Edited December 10, 2008 by Melissa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 as a car owner, i'm getting more and more dismayed how I cant use my car.. that's cos cars are getting too affordable (in the eyes of the consumer) and thus there's too many cars on the road.. it's not like i blatantly agree with the government, but any measure to make cars more expensive is actually quite welcome from my end.. altho I have to pay for my car... but honestly, I sympathise with those on buses and taxis, who are late or gotta pay more when stuck in a jam and I have little sympathy for those who want the price of car usage to keep going lower.. go lower for wat? for KL style jams? for bangkok style gridlock traffic? lower so that those on public transport can wait longer for cars they didnt ask to be on the road? my point is just that i think the stand should be clear... if cars are cheap to run, then the system should allow for us to use our cars effectively and efficiently... it seems quite stupid for the government to have made cars cheaper.. and now ppl are whacking the government for not making cars even more cheap.. yet dont offer a better alternative to our gridlocked traffic... like u, i have been overseas, and lived overseas and yes, not paid for parking where i live... but then again, if I dont pay for parking, then it's subsumed in the cost of my apartment like that of condos.. where everyone pays.. so go ask ur neighbour with no car if he'd like to indirectly pay for parking a car he doesnt own.. things dont grow on trees.. if ppl like us dont pay.. everyone pays.. gahmen wont pay for u.. wats more worrying is that where i live, i cant even leave my car park for 5 mins on end cos the main road my carpark leads to is getting more and more congested... so well.. there are some of us who would like status quo.. who have bought cars and would like to have the chance to use them.. and who altho dont earn taht much, are willing to make the sacrifice to own cars for whatever reason.. and would be happier if the government doesnt make it so affordable for all 4 million of us to drive.. in any case.. what i dont really get is that everyone can afford thousands for their cars.. plus tax.. plus COE.. plus bank interest.. yet kowpeh at a small cost like petrol.. if petrol is so expensive.. if its so unfair.. then dont buy a car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 Ya, cheap food, cheap shopping, cheap massage, cheap sex, and also comes with free STD/AIDS. shallow, who say paid sex in SG will not get STD/AIDS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 Singapore petrol also cleaner... What facts u've got ? more expensive means cleaner lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 malaysia no longer subsidize their petrol now, so do u think sg can lift the 3/4 rule now? i think wait long long ================ We r hoping & waiting & praying. Only hope for gharmen to remove any protection on our oil products/industry when there is no tax/duty on oil products anymore. er.. are u sure gahmen is protecting the oil industry.. or something else? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesedick 1st Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 very valid points. especially agree with the last bit. while saving money is all and good, i dont see a reason why is there a need to complain when at the onset, all the costs of owning a car are laid out for pple to consider and evaluate. while it is true that petrol prices, erp etc have gone and may continue to go up, did anyone ever guarantee that it would never go up? no one is forcing u to buy a car. if its too expensive, dont buy. i understand if pple bitch about it to let off steam. heck everyone does it. but i take zero pleasure, and see zero logic, when ppl complain abt laws that "supposedly make the government rich"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 Got tekron,everytime got small ppl clean the valves Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 KNN dun say liao lar.... u see the small man every time clean the same part only..... some black black place also never clean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 Black black place? Where huh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Punkeyboozter Neutral Newbie December 10, 2008 Share December 10, 2008 Well, I for one dont believe car prices and the use of them should go up.. I understand that you probably have a good job that pays enough for you to live comfortably. unfortunatly we all have to make sacrifices to drive in SG. There are loads of ways to improve the use of our roads. For one, Singaporians are bad drivers. Very selvish and the real idiots. They think they pay a fortune for their cars and that give them a right to do whatever. Well they are all a bunch of d # ck heads that need to get out of singapore to see how it works in countries outside of asia. This in itself will inprove a lot of this countries problems. You see narrowminded-ness and shelvishness never helped anyone. Next the road layout of singapore leaves little to be desired ..at least they are well maintained. Maybe this will reduce some of that kiasu-ness for example race to be in front of you ...not let you into the lane when you indicate ..the list go;s on. why not spend more on propper law invorcement and driving school improvements. Raise the standardin these training centres. fix the peoples mentality, the road layout and things will be alot better. you want to raise the price of cars more.... I can buy a brand new evo in london for 27 000 pounds. times 2.2 as the exchange rate stands = that equels someone stealing a lot of money from you somewhere along the line. Not to mention to ship to london from japan cost more. So if you want prices to be raized; then perhaps you like to get robbed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear December 11, 2008 Share December 11, 2008 (edited) you have made very salient points and I very much agree that a part of the woes we have as drivers comes from drivers.. however I disagree that it makes sense to compare prices of cars in london with those in singapore. yes, we can have prices which are similar to that of london. but then car volume will go up in proportions which we cant handle for sure. till now I've yet to see a viable solution or suggestion on how we can go about solving that problem. while im not the most willing person to part with money (and get robbed as you say), I have yet to come up with a better solution such that prices can be low and we will still be allowed to drive our cars... FYI, I do know frens in london who dont buy cars despite being able to afford it (by our terms) not becos they cant, but cos the cost to run the car is expensive, starting from parking, to road usage and then to the congestion. Which is why i sometimes agree that they're a little smarter than the lot here who just keep dissing the government eventhough the problem is NOT caused by the government. If everyone can use common sense, perhaps the prices of cars can be low in SG as well! Edited December 11, 2008 by Ahhuat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear December 11, 2008 Share December 11, 2008 it irks me when ppl blame the government for problems which are not the government's problems. if prices of cars are just cost price and petrol is cheap, we will own cars and not drive, and then grumble that the government makes cars too cheap to run! the same singaporean who complains that the government meddles in everything wants the government to solve everything.. which is no different from meddling.. sometimes I just yearn for a valid suggestion rather than constant pointless ranting... somewhat our education system has failed if singaporeans are still complaining this way.. no wonder they're still here and havent left... cos honestly, they'd not survive anywhere else for long without a nanny government looking after their every need.. including providing them with cheap cars and petrol yet magically preventing congestion! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Punkeyboozter Neutral Newbie December 11, 2008 Share December 11, 2008 ok thanks for ur input Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahsiong Neutral Newbie December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 is it true that our singapore custom has x-ray machine to see how much fuel we have actually in our fuel tank?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 it's true.... one in woodlands and one in tuas... friendstar seen it liao, ask him for peekture ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...