Melissa 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 wow this is such a grey area. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 ya thats what I thought....the act of installing it is not a crime. But when you use it to con ppl..... Nowadays ppl get suspicious when you turn up with a full tank. There was once I had to go JB on a saturday and then on sunday again. And the fuel tank is still full! I really wonder if the custom take me for 1 of those who modified the tank. Hahaa.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 seriously, it just got me thinking. On the basis of preventing Singaporeans from driving up their petrol prices, yah it is sort to protect bolehland. But garmen got so guuud meh? Commercially, doesn't this count as a protectionist measure? If say i am a JB petrol station owner, i already lost what could have been countless droves of customers. Politicking i conclude. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ironstarz 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 Singapore petrol also cleaner... What facts u've got ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 9, 2008 Author Share December 9, 2008 This 3/4 tank rule got nothing to do with preventing singaporeans driving up MY petrol price. It is to ensure that SG govt do not lose that much on their petrol tax. Why is it that only petrol driven vehicle got this rule but not diesel driven vehicle? Diesel vehicle can drive in with empty tank. Simply bcoz there's no tax on diesel so they dun give a damn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ironstarz 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 If i go in with tampered gauge & custom ask me 1 time & i confess.. means will get lighter punishment or no punishment. U will be charged for tampering only = $500 fine But if u deny, u will be charged with 1) Tampering with fuel device = $500 Fine 2) Lying to an officer = 2 week buffet of curry rice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 no sympathy. while there is nothing wrong in searching for cheaper source, it is stupid to leave ur edvidance "hanging" around. one has to factor in all the cost before buying a car. if cant even afford the most basic thing to keep the car running, take bus lah. tio bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 (edited) 1 day when im free... im going to hang whole bunch of remote somewere obvious... wonder the office will try the remote 1 by 1... anyone wanna contribute some spoiled remote? Edited December 9, 2008 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 Hey u all wake up .. this is just SCARE tactic they like to use .. the scholars know they cannot catch everyone of us, so the next best thing is use a dummy scapegoat make a BIG news BANG BANG scare u all pussies.. tis is just a tip of the iceberg freinds.. for every 1 caught there is at least 100 they did not manage .. do u all know how many vehicles pass through customs daily .. they never reveal statisics right a clue 76 lane on new sultan iskandar CIQ how long it take 1 custom lane to process 1 car, how many hours in a day .. Please... Have u ever gone fishing? have u ever caught ALLL the Fish? If the cops can catch all the baddies, MSK wouldn't be running ard now.. of cos there are tons of ppl who modded their fuel gauges n are still running ard scot free, its just a matter of time or heng suay. If u are one of them i congratulate u, just be prepared to pay the consequences when u are caught . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 Precisely! We always read News report that they caught XXX for meddling with Fuel Guage, but we never read complaints from drivers who complain that they are wrongly accused/check for meddling Fuel Guage.. Meaning ICA/LTA is 100% spot on! How can that be??!! Erm... the 100% spot check is not SOLELY to check whether u have tampered with ur fuel gauge & how does ICA "check ur fuel tank? Open n peek inside? The 100% spot check is SOLELY random or in some cases, maybe tipped off but now they know that there is a remote so all they have to do is find it. Pls do not have the misconception that all the vehicles pulled to the 100% inspection bay is so for checking of the fuel gauge.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 Ya, this is a good one, hang at least 10 RC on the dashboard. The ICA officer check until siao. Nothing wrong with hanging RC on dashboard what Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 Y do u wanna do that? U must be VERY free cos u will probably be invited for kopi upstairs n spend half the day explaing to them y u have a bunch of useless remotes in ur car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 after hearing his explanation, they'll probably proceed to do a 100% body cavity search for hidden remotes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 on paper dah... you think if garmen openly say we dont want to lose too much on petrol tax therefore we implement 3/4 tank rule bolehland garmen wont kpkb? on paper on paper. "officially" it is to prevent singaporeans from misusing bolehland's fuel subsidy. To protect bolehland. Ah... liddat bolehland hear liao feel more shiok diam diam... Why only petrol vehicles kena? you see how many petrol vehicles go in vs no. of diesel vehicles (sg registered) go in. And thats already counting the prohibitive effect of the 3/4 ruling. If there isn't any such ruling, i suppose the ratio will be even more lopsided. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 NB... full tank of Petro how much... not to say 3/4 tank.... siao one.... save about S$50 to gamble S$500 and 2 weeks jail... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 idiot or not that is one of the most BS Laws I have seen in all times. Its like telling the shop next door to raise its prices cos you are pulling all the customers. Absolutely absurd. And then forcing the people to do it. Laws like this doensnt help *either country donkey yrs since this law has been implemented i'm amazed our tok big singaporean monkeys still donno the rationale for it.. Petrol up north is cheap cos it's subsidised.. thus it's got nothing to do with a free market.. here it's taxed, there tax money is used to subsidise it.. the 3/4 rule is there to help the malaysians so that us singaporeans dont exploit their tax payers.. long time ago discussed and repeated billions of times in the papers, corroborated by the msians who later wanted to further control us pumping up north.. for goodness sake, take ur heads out of the well and bl00dy read the papers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 (edited) So actually quite worth it, my friend recently kena caught fine 2k but he use malaysian petrol for years, still got earn despite the fine. Edited December 9, 2008 by Curahee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear December 9, 2008 Share December 9, 2008 the shiok factors of not getting caught is priceless ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...