OPC Owner Beware!! LTA is stepping up!

Powerkeong

Yo gents (or ladies)

Chill lah. If you guys take a bit of time to cool off and go back and read each others' post from the beginning, you will find that what the other party said does make some sense too... just that it doesn't totally agree with your view.

I believe no 'pro' OPCers here advacate breaking the law, just as I hope that 'nay' OPCers here can see how following the 'rules' to the T(as interpreted by oneself) is just as extreme....

Chill lah... at least agree to disagree lor.

Yalor, I also kena "dragged" in for nothing? Don't understand [shakehead].

Regards,

Positive reply. But earlier you gave the impression that you agree with some others that with your committments in job and family, you are still able to drive OPC to those mileage like a normal car, That is why I ask how could you managed 25,000km per annum?

Simply. I travel 60km per day just to go to work and come back. Weekends, I clock about 150km.

It seems that you're the hostile one, what is wrong with you? Did I offend you in the 1st place? Sly At 1st I thought of reconciling between you two, I think I can now save my effort.

In the 1st place,u r nobody to me in the 1st place to in fact offend me.

Ok. Take it dat i misunderstood u. My apologies then.

"the homework is simply. Yes I cannot drive during restricted hours.

however, maybe some bangala wanna do some paintwork and i have to shift it to another empty lot 5metre away"

This is the best part.

I rest my case.

if there is justification, i don't think they will persecute you for it

In Singapore, there is no such thing as "innocent until proven guilty". Basically you have to choice to fight against it but you have to consider the odds and see if it is worth it.

I would say ...it is more like guilty until proven innocent in singapore.

Given you an illustration...

if you are displaying valid parking coupon and yet you are given a summon saying you did not display any coupon. You probably get away the first time with an appeal.However how are you going to explain yourself if it happens again.

Either you LPPL suck thumb and pay the fine or you engage lawyer and pay few Ks to fight with HDB..

it's really your choice

if there is justification, i don't think they will persecute you for it

Of course for genuine cases, its totally justifiable im sure. [:)]

Sigh... wat a degeneration... i thot i said somewhere earlier tat tis thread was a more peaceful 1 compared to another thread on opc.

i guess i spoke too soon!

anyway i skipped most of the centre of this thread... in fact e entire thread is getting OOP (out of point).

itz quite a surprise to c a fellow red plate having a same driving pattern... everyday i travel a total of 60km to & fro work. weekends not so hiong (ironic for a 'weekend car'), about 50km.

i have spent about $500 worth of amulets liao. i have 1 whole stack in the office. who wanna c? LOL

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Reply To

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Positive reply. But earlier you gave the impression that you agree with some others that with your committments in job and family, you are still able to drive OPC to those mileage like a normal car, That is why I ask how could you managed 25,000km per annum?

Simply. I travel 60km per day just to go to work and come back. Weekends, I clock about 150km.

I last heard this sentence during my army days. For some reasons, I've a heated dispute with another LTA during an OPS meeting, the Major sided me and scolded him with that sentence Laugh.

Regards,

Let me know if u too wana get involved in this.

you starting forest fire ... [rolleyes]

Edited by Cheebyekia

Hi bro,

Just like to share my bit of sighting recently about LTA enforcement on OPC car..

From 22 Nov till as of today, I have been stop by LTA bike 3 times during restricted hours to check on my coupon!!

22 Nov - Yio Chu Kang Rd X Lentor Ave at 7.30am

15 Dec - Changi Village Road at 4pm++

16 Dec - Anchorvale Rd Blk 310++ MSCP at around 12noon. Another OPC Avante uncle owner was washing his car at the car park washing bay without a valid coupon and was spotted by a LTA 17 bike. I personally saw the officer riding into the estate, into the carpark and the washing bay to the OPC Avante.. I see the uncle saluting to the officer n was like keep on saying sorry sorry, 1st time..

Hope the Uncle is ok.. Wash car in car park also kanna. dunno who tip off or what de..

Morale of the Story: LTA super on the ball now.. DUN PLAY PUNK!!!

Tear coupon go out 1 time kanna 1 time... [knife][knife]

Rules are Rules. No doubt some sounds crappy but i have not the single sympathy at all for opc cheats. Anyway,

When OPC is being driven outside the permitted hours in public places, public roads

(including all service roads) and within public car parks (including HDB

Car Parks, URA Car Parks, etc.), a $20 Day Licence needs to be displayed". [sly]

Do u have proof on these statements of urs? where do u get these statements, pls? thx

Rules are Rules. No doubt some sounds crappy but i have not the single sympathy at all for opc cheats. Anyway,

When OPC is being driven outside the permitted hours in public places, public roads

(including all service roads) and within public car parks (including HDB

Car Parks, URA Car Parks, etc.), a $20 Day Licence needs to be displayed". Sly

Do u have proof on these statements of urs? where do u get these statements, pls? thx

This is from what i checked with LTA. But that was like more than a year ago. Unless their rules "dramatically changed", else it should be accurate. Dont blame me, Im just sharing. Cheers bro.

It seems that you're the hostile one, what is wrong with you? Did I offend you in the 1st place? Sly At 1st I thought of reconciling between you two, I think I can now save my effort.

In the 1st place,u r nobody to me in the 1st place to in fact offend me.

Ok. Take it dat i misunderstood u. My apologies then.

Ok, apology accepted. IMHO, the words that you used are rather hostile. Good Luck [wave].

Regards,

Well, to think of it further, for a OPC car to equal the mileage of a normal car of 25,000km per annum is quite solid. Owners drives probably 7pm onwards till midnight and cant be running like a taxi for that 4 hours and also everyday. I assume he got to work in the day and not much energy left after office hours.

So say average 150km a day + night use(which is a lot on the average), he will have to use the car for 166 days in a year. Less out Sunday and Public Holidays, coupons will be needed for about 100 days. That is $2000 for coupons vs $800 savings on road tax.

No sense buying a OPC.

Bro i 2.5 months can hit 10k mileage. I stay in west but work in changi. roughy 1 day clock around 100plus km. btw i drive a OPC. working hours 7am to 7pm cheers...

60 km a day...hrmm....I think I go more than that.

Just by normal routine from HG -> Town -> BB -> HG.

Being an ahmad already clock 70km.

Its exluding my personal drive. Almost daily affair.

Each mth clock 3k - 7k.

This is part of the reason I buy OPC compare to taking a cab.

Coz I am night time ahmad.

Day time working, no point for me waste addtional $$ to rot under the sun.

For me, drive to work if wakeup on time. If not, take bus or tear coupon or taxi.

Ha!... and since he had already stopped you, step out of your car, walk up beside him and ask your friend to take a pic of you 2, shaking hands and holding up the VALID coupon like during a certificate presentation .... Ahh.... a mastercard moment. Priceless [laugh]

easy to type and easy to talk.....but do you have the balls to do that?

Hmm... let you know when the situation presents itself.... [laugh]

Shheeesshhh.... some people can't read a joke.. [laugh]

aiyah, not insulting your balls or anything like that............ [nod]