OPC Owner Beware!! LTA is stepping up!

Powerkeong

technically speaking, yes, you should be safe while in "private property".

but trust me, it's really up to them. it's like:

* if you display a valid coupon : they can catch you for "not displaying at the top left hand corner"

* if you display at the top left hand corner: they say your tinting too dark cannot see properly

bottomline is whether they like you or not and if the officer had a good one last night in bed or, made a killing at turf club the past weekend, etc. if he's in good mood, he will just warn you (for small things like moving OPC from one lot in MSCP to another) and move on.

Ya, Agree with you. When I 1st got my car that time, all that I know is just the restricted hours timing n days. I only knew about this ruling when one of my friends kenna fined for moving his car to another different lot in a open air car-park during restricted hours.

are u serious?

he kana fined $8k just moving the car to a different lot?

Tell that to the judge "Are u serious". Maybe appeal get double 16k even. [sly]

Rules are rules. I mean those who bought OPC cars should had done their homework & checks before deciding on the purchase of a OPC. Why buy liao then kpkb about this rule and that rule? I mean its not that the rules even change in the 1st place rite? Come'on. [:/]

why so sarcastic?

what has shifting a car from a lot to another lot (due to some unforeseen circumstances) got to do with doing homework prior to buying OPC?

"the homework is simply. Yes I cannot drive during restricted hours.

however, maybe some bangala wanna do some paintwork and i have to shift it to another empty lot 5metre away"

and if u realize, there are many definitions of rules and even laws.

tats why lawyers are hired to argue their client's case.

if everything is so simple, like in ur world of rules are rules... then we'll never have a need for judges, referees, arbitrator etc.

Ya, Agree with you. When I 1st got my car that time, all that I know is just the restricted hours timing n days. I only knew about this ruling when one of my friends kenna fined for moving his car to another different lot in a open air car-park during restricted hours.

are u serious?

Rules are rules. I mean those who bought OPC cars should had done their homework & checks before deciding on the purchase of a OPC. Why buy liao then kpkb about this rule and that rule? I mean its not that the rules even change in the 1st place rite? Come'on. [:/]

maybe... just maybe one day, some young punk will reverse his car into ur car. claim against you immediately for rear-ending him.

well... don't kpkb here.

cos people will merely reply... "when u've bought ur car, u would have done ur homework to know that the law protects those who are rear-ended" [idea]

Ha!... and since he had already stopped you, step out of your car, walk up beside him and ask your friend to take a pic of you 2, shaking hands and holding up the VALID coupon like during a certificate presentation .... Ahh.... a mastercard moment. Priceless [laugh]

easy to type and easy to talk.....but do you have the balls to do that?

Hmm... let you know when the situation presents itself.... [laugh]

Shheeesshhh.... some people can't read a joke.. [laugh]

i also realized that "picanto" took it too seriously

hahaha while i dont agree with you cheating the system, i must say at least you have enough courage to own up laugh.gif

still, dont cheat the system. wanna play, play by the rules.

I am an OPC owner - loved to cheat the system - kena caught - now have wisen up scholar.gif

hope you will learn from my mistake flowerface.gif

In case u dun noe, church/mosque usually have gotten permission from TP that allows parking outside the compound specifically at certain timing and certain portion of the road......so it is not exactly illegal....

If they can accomodate car crowds, double parked along driveways during void deck weddings and "temporary" parking along double yellow lines during Friday prayers... washing OPC can be considered a serious offence meh? [hur]

I have to agree with you. Not only that, I even saw TP/cisco close two eyes when many cars illegally park at double yellow lines outside Churches on Sunday and even Void Deck Funeral till late night, Im sure travelling that few meters within the MSCP is ok. But then again, it could be still under their jurisdiction.

Anione got an update from LTA yet? [hur]

are u serious?

why so sarcastic? im not. its pretty clearcut isnt it. try telling a person who obviously had broken the law or committed a crime to "appeal" to the judge. Everyone knows that if the appeal fail, theres high chance of a stiffer sentence in store.

what has shifting a car from a lot to another lot (due to some unforeseen circumstances) got to do with doing homework prior to buying OPC? washing car not unforeseen circumstances leh..

"the homework is simply. Yes I cannot drive during restricted hours.

however, maybe some bangala wanna do some paintwork and i have to shift it to another empty lot 5metre away"ok lor.u can go ahead "test" the system. Good luck.

and if u realize, there are many definitions of rules and even laws.

tats why lawyers are hired to argue their client's case. thats why not everyone can be a lawyer.[sly]

if everything is so simple, like in ur world of rules are rules... then we'll never have a need for judges, referees, arbitrator etc. ok lor. go ahead try go against the rules/laws in spore and "then start to appeal". Again, good luck.

LTA are usually reasonable. Marginal cases they dont bother. It is actually the motorist that is taking the advantage.

In most speeding cases, police also giving tolerance up to 20km/h. Anything below that, at best you get warning letter.

[nod] If they had stuck to having the coupon affixed to the windscreen rule, a lot of people would be in trouble.

I don't actually think this leeway they're giving is a good thing. I attribute a lot of bad road manners to this, for e.g. careless driving (i.e. filtering without looking), inconsiderate driving (i.e. speeding up so that someone cannot filter into the lane ahead), failing to signal, stopping in the yellow box, road hogging, etc all to it.

I think TP should forget the speeding for now (and leave it to CISCO), and target all these other bad habits properly. Once the culture is there, they can relax a lil on the rules. Another important rule i think they should enforce strictly is that motorcycles should not be allowed to squeeze between two moving vehicles.

In the meantime, LTA should focus on OPC cheats on the road as I think its gotten out of hand (start with enforcing the affixing of OPC coupons to the left side of the windscreen), and target those with overly loud exhausts, then those with those car curtains which even when open still impede some vision, and those with ill aligned headlights or clear sky night foglamp users.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yes agreed I guess there are many OPC cheats. In fact I have noticed many OPC cars selling with mileage similar to normal reg cars. So either they live their life in Malaysia or cheating with used coupons.

Otherwise it simply make no sense to buy a OPC and use as daily car.

i dun live in Malaysia and I don't cheat. I also dun throw away my used coupons so if you are keen, can come to my place to have a look.

I just happen to reach my office by 7am, walk to the nearby industrial canteen, eat my breakfast, read my papers, checked and reply important emails before my boss reaches the office.

I also make sure I try to finish my day's work so that by the time I leave the office at 7pm, I can spend the rest of my time with my family especially my daughter.

And if you are holding a director or above position and your boss is looking for a replacement at market rate, let me know. [laugh][laugh]

Honestly speaking, there's another trait we can see here:

Seeing someone else who seem to have had a good deal, made it "better", and the green eye monster come out... [laugh]

Edited by Scoots

Well, to think of it further, for a OPC car to equal the mileage of a normal car of 25,000km per annum is quite solid. Owners drives probably 7pm onwards till midnight and cant be running like a taxi for that 4 hours and also everyday. I assume he got to work in the day and not much energy left after office hours.

So say average 150km a day + night use(which is a lot on the average), he will have to use the car for 166 days in a year. Less out Sunday and Public Holidays, coupons will be needed for about 100 days. That is $2000 for coupons vs $800 savings on road tax.

No sense buying a OPC.

errr my friend stays in pasir ris. he's a saf combat officer (in charge of NSF).

he bought an OPC cause he has to reach his camp before 7am anyway. and his camp is in Jurong Camp.

and normally, he'll make sure that training has ceased before he leaves his camp, after 7pm (after cookhouse dinner + shower). he'll typically proceed to meet his gf/friends for drinks and sometimes send them home.

he enjoys going to malaysia for cheap getaways.

this is his lifestyle. and his OPC car mileage sure can beat any normal plate cars.

that's rite bro.that's the reason why i said OPC cars mileage can easily be the same/more than normal plate car.my dad's car,OPC,1yr9mths going to clock 60K already.my friend,less than 1yr,clocking 50K+.and in both cases,coupons are rarely used unless in emergencies/servicing.and they rarely use during peak hours.so are they 'cheats'? [crazy]

Piang .. you guys making me feel guilty for neglecting my OPC liow ... almost 3yrs and still less than 35K ... [laugh]

Aiyo. Those who dun like the OPC system will think:

1. If you have low mileage:

See, you buy a car sitting there most of the time, bad deal!

2. If you have high mileage:

i)Must be a cheater

ii)Must have used lots of coupon, another clown who cannot plan his finances!

No need to be bothered by this too much...

Edited by Scoots