What can you do? Help needed!!

Eggy

Not sure about legal stuff...but same thing applies for exchange of pass for entry mah...in this case is for payment...but one thing for sure not paying for his stuff 100% illegal...Now economic is bad, many ppl will pull out some stunts to 'eat' other ppl esp those small capital biz (eg, hawker, taxi driver,etc). This type of pattern not new liao...so if the fellow really walk away without payment and leaving IC behind...he is [hur][hur] because to issue another IC you need to pay 100 buck for first time...

hmmm... welll some ppl can live w/o their IC... driving license acts like IC too...i lost my IC once did not apply for a replacement one until a yr lata... can live w/o IC de... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] ... go ecp rent bicycle oso keep IC until return bike den return IC

Not too sure about the legal issue on holding on to another person's IC.

He can simply come back to demand for it and you'll have to return it. Unless you deny it flat-out that you have his I/C. Which he have to proof you do. In this case, you will be in trouble if the I/C is found in your possession.

He can also deny flatout that he owes u any $$. Then its up to the shop to proof that he does. If the shop can proof (quite difficult) that he owes u $18, then all he needs to do is pay the $18.

Imagine the scenario. Customer comes back with a police officer and says that his IC is held by the shop. Police officer asks the shop if they are holding his IC. The shop will say "Yes we are becos he owes us the $18". Customer says "No, I dun owe them $18 becos service was very poor, misrepresentation etc etc but I want my IC back now". The IC still have to be returned to customer if the police ask for it becos the IC is a property of the customer and no one can hold on to it without his consent. As for the payment, becos there is a dispute, there is nothing the police can do but advice both party to settle it nicely or legally.

Therefore, taking the IC is a lose lose situation for the shop in this case.

The only good thing is that you know who that customer is and with his particulars, make it easier to take legal action against him, if you choose to.

Edited by Bavarian

Another angle to this problem. These days, its the customers' world - who I want to buy from. So it calls for innovation in service. This could be a test to see your readiness to adapt.

Erm, Sorry.

I think i missed out a big point on my description earlier. (was trying to come out with a variation of the situation)

My parent's business is a kind where you get the service first then you pay. Think 'K-BOX'.

In such cases where the customer has already received his/her service, what can my parents do ?

1) take the money, ask him to WAIT. slowly go to atm and withdraw money and give him

2) take the money, ask him to WAIT. If office hour, slowly go to bank and exchange 990 $1 coins for him. if cannot get as many coins, just ask around, and get as many as you can. 200 coins he peng san liao.

then you your turn to tell him. change i already get liao. want to take or not up to you.

the $1000 bill already exchange liao cannot take back even you have $10 now.

most important is take the money first and ask him to WAIT. then slowly think of how to FIX him.

this type of poor customer no need to keep. just play with him

hmmm... welll some ppl can live w/o their IC... driving license acts like IC too...i lost my IC once did not apply for a replacement one until a yr lata... can live w/o IC de... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] ... go ecp rent bicycle oso keep IC until return bike den return IC

haha yah... my friend report for reservist with his passport. lol

wallet lost. IC never report. Driving license since he not driving he bo chap also.

Edited by Ngck

Tactful reject works if the item has yet to be consumed.. but say if it's at a makan place and food already consumed.. how leh??

still need ask ? ask consumer go change and pay back, of course. aiyo....

then wat free ah? why $1000 entitle u eat free meal?

aiyoh...next time, use this method.... trust me, this method works and it's legal, even call police also no use... my relative use this method back in KL when someone try to use this "big note" way to "con" for free service...

just take the 1K note, keep it, dont even tell him you do not have change... then pull out your checkbook and by now, he will start to get nervous.... if he didnt open his mouth asking u for option yet and show a yaya face still, write him a check for the balance and ask him fark off.. im sure by now, he is more [shocked] then u r.... dont forget, check is $$ and if he not happy, ask him go draw cash or borrow or rob as if u care... come back with the small note/check to exchange for 1K note .... if he threaten to call police, let him do the calling by passing him the phone and wait for police to come. period.

[:p]

[thumbsup][thumbsup] win liao... [;)]

Imagine a scenario where you own a shop and a customer wants to pay for his $18 item. Knowing that you do not have enough change, he shoved a $1000 bill right at you.

At this kind of situation, noting the fact that he wanted to pay but you do not have enough change for him, can he just walk away with this unpaid items?

What else can you do?

----

The above situation happened to my parents' small business and I hope that I can do something to help them to prevent this from happening.

Any bros can help?

Would really appreciate. Thanks!

Simple, don't sell to him. You have the right of refusal not to sell the items, just say it is not for sale.

Walking away with unpaid items is stealing or robbing, of course cannot walk away with unpaid items!

Imagine a scenario where you own a shop and a customer wants to pay for his $18 item. Knowing that you do not have enough change, he shoved a $1000 bill right at you.

At this kind of situation, noting the fact that he wanted to pay but you do not have enough change for him, can he just walk away with this unpaid items?

What else can you do?

----

The above situation happened to my parents' small business and I hope that I can do something to help them to prevent this from happening.

Any bros can help?

Would really appreciate. Thanks!

Just reply "Could you choose another $988 worth of goods?" .... [laugh][laugh]

aiyoh...next time, use this method.... trust me, this method works and it's legal, even call police also no use... my relative use this method back in KL when someone try to use this "big note" way to "con" for free service...

just take the 1K note, keep it, dont even tell him you do not have change... then pull out your checkbook and by now, he will start to get nervous.... if he didnt open his mouth asking u for option yet and show a yaya face still, write him a check for the balance and ask him fark off.. im sure by now, he is more [shocked] then u r.... dont forget, check is $$ and if he not happy, ask him go draw cash or borrow or rob as if u care... come back with the small note/check to exchange for 1K note .... if he threaten to call police, let him do the calling by passing him the phone and wait for police to come. period.[:p]

This is the best idea. [thumbsup] Can be easily and immediately implemented.

Tactful reject works if the item has yet to be consumed.. but say if it's at a makan place and food already consumed.. how leh??
not a problem, Just get tell the customer, U will go and get smaller change from the bank nearby while he wait, If he's in a hurry, accompany him to the nearest ATM so he can withdraw $20, to pay for wat he had eaten.

Take the $1k. Act like what china men do in china, mati mati no change say customer only gave the exact amount and act blur. Make more noise, get some thugs to surround the customer

if no other way out, just politely refuse to sell.

he cant sue you, since there is no offer and acceptance of that offer - offer plus acceptance of that offer = an agreement which is legal binding on both parties.

when a vendor put up things to sell, he is not "offering". instead, he is "inviting for offer" and it's up to the buyer to "offer" his money for the item, and for the seller to "accept".

just refuse to sell and there is nothing he can do about it.