Casiraghi Neutral Newbie December 28, 2008 Share December 28, 2008 Hey all, Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc. Does a 16" tyre affect the FC? What about during engine running in period? Hi, I'm also driving the Altis 08 - has been about 8 months already. My car is totally stock - was tempted to upgrade to 16" rims as well but then well - the original 15" rims aren't that bad looking. I had the same "shock" initially as well for the first month when my FC was about 10.5 - this despite being very gentle on the acceleration. But I had been "warned" that the initial FC would be bad. After the first 1k servicing - it improved slightly to about 11 and then at my current mileage of about 7.5k - I can get low 12+ even with a bit of acceleration here and there. So not to worry. In the meantime make good use of the "current mileage" display - it does indicate to you a whether you are overrevving and does encourage you to let go of the accelerator and only brake gradually. Use it to "alter" your driving habits. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Hey all, Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc. Does a 16" tyre affect the FC? What about during engine running in period? how does this compare with yr previous car? 16" tyre will CERTAINLY affect FC unless it is the same weight. 1" bigger rim can set you back by abt 0.5 to1km/l BUT biggest factor to FC is City/town/sub-urb traveling. Depending on the the of time spent in city and start stop condition, it can set you back by as much as 2-4km/l so if u have a previous car, u shld first consider what is the difference, given the similar driving patterns and route. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 the old vios FC easily 14-16km/litre the new vios fc slightly less. Altis? it has been repositioned such that it has comfort at the expense of FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 (edited) Hey all, Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc. Does a 16" tyre affect the FC? What about during engine running in period? don't worry, after running-in the FC may improve 0.5 to 1 km/l, due to 16" rim finally your FC will be ard 11km/l because 08 altis engine is same as old altis but body 100+kg weigher than old one, so in usual FC worse 0.5 to 1 km/l than old one 12km/l , Edited December 29, 2008 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 (edited) Hey all, Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc. Does a 16" tyre affect the FC? What about during engine running in period? The way toyota is positioning their cars. Super FC --------------------> Super Comfort Vios ...............Altis ............... Camry Edited December 29, 2008 by Friendstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 11km/litre for the new altis is okay la. not far from civic FD3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 This kind of topic discuss until damn sian liao. So many factors affecting FC eg, driving route, start stop traffic,tyre pressure,driving habit blah blah blah. If you drive short distances of course lousy FC lah. The Toyota brand also won't help. You are very right. So many factors how to compare Even for the same car, same driver but one day doing 90% city and another day doing 90% hw. THE FC also varies alot. To quote. Should get one car over another car for FC is also pointless unless more factors are stated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sir8 Neutral Newbie December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Does a slightly bigger engine, heavier chasis and thus higher FC bring about any benefits? But Axio is also 1.5L..smaller engine capacity + lighter chasis = lower FC, thus not a fair comparison. To me, I regard the Axio to be a different model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Hey all, Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc. Does a 16" tyre affect the FC? What about during engine running in period? Altis FC should be around there..16" tyres will only affect the most by 0.5 km/l comparing to 15" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 29, 2008 Share December 29, 2008 Altis FC should be around there..16" tyres will only affect the most by 0.5 km/l comparing to 15" it really depends if he 100% city... 16inch will affect 1km/litre easily Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plexus Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 Did you check if your tyres have been properly inflated? 10.4/L is extremely bad FC even during run in. Yeah, probably I should check the tyre pressure. BTW, I believe BM stock tyres for altis was originally 15"? If so, is the label for tyre pressure found at the side of the door accurate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plexus Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 Hi, I'm also driving the Altis 08 - has been about 8 months already. My car is totally stock - was tempted to upgrade to 16" rims as well but then well - the original 15" rims aren't that bad looking. I had the same "shock" initially as well for the first month when my FC was about 10.5 - this despite being very gentle on the acceleration. But I had been "warned" that the initial FC would be bad. After the first 1k servicing - it improved slightly to about 11 and then at my current mileage of about 7.5k - I can get low 12+ even with a bit of acceleration here and there. So not to worry. In the meantime make good use of the "current mileage" display - it does indicate to you a whether you are overrevving and does encourage you to let go of the accelerator and only brake gradually. Use it to "alter" your driving habits. Did BM changed the engine oil to full synthetic after the 1k servicing? I think the digital mileage display is slighter higher than what you actually get. I calculate using (km travelled after last tank up) / (litres pumped during next tank up). Anyway, thanks for sharing the experience. Hope it's indeed true and shall monitor after my 1K servicing :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plexus Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 how does this compare with yr previous car? 16" tyre will CERTAINLY affect FC unless it is the same weight. 1" bigger rim can set you back by abt 0.5 to1km/l BUT biggest factor to FC is City/town/sub-urb traveling. Depending on the the of time spent in city and start stop condition, it can set you back by as much as 2-4km/l so if u have a previous car, u shld first consider what is the difference, given the similar driving patterns and route. This is my first car :) Driving pattern is 30% expressway, 70% sub-urb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Internazionale Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi, i am driving the 08 altis 1.6 since april. mileage around 6k. still on mineral oil. On board com display 13.3km/l. Measured full tank till blink travels 650km. 90% highway 10% others. I pump my 4 tires to 220psi weekly thou. Fully stock and running on 15" rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi, i am driving the 08 altis 1.6 since april. mileage around 6k. still on mineral oil. On board com display 13.3km/l. Measured full tank till blink travels 650km. 90% highway 10% others. I pump my 4 tires to 220psi weekly thou. Fully stock and running on 15" rims. Bro,I also own a 08 Altis.How come you still on mineral oil?KNS,the sales engineeer told me mine 1k change to Synthetic oil,even stated on the service receipt.I don't know true or not,it state esso ultron or something.Btw,any bro knows the different between synthetic and fully synthetic?Which one will reduce FC?I know that Fully synthetic is more expensive and better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 don't worry, after running-in the FC may improve 0.5 to 1 km/l, due to 16" rim finally your FC will be ard 11km/l because 08 altis engine is same as old altis but body 100+kg weigher than old one, so in usual FC worse 0.5 to 1 km/l than old one 12km/l , The brochure says that new altis is 30kg heavier than the older version.how true? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Internazionale Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi, mine change b4 they changed all to synthetic in sept i think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaede44444 Neutral Newbie December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 10.4km/l is ok lah. Mine is also around 11 to 11.5km/l. About 50% highway. 3rd servicing le. Now 17k. FC is the same with or without run in. No difference at all. But I regret this decision. Wanted to buy the new honda city together with my wife but didn't because I wanted a more luxury feel while she prefer a more sporty looks so we buy different cars. Ended up with a crappy FC car. But the cabin sound is fantastic. Very quiet compared to my old car, Lancer GLX. Engine also very quiet. But then, my Lancer manual is doing 14km/l consistently and considering the newer engine, it is a disappointment. My wife new City is doing 15 to 18km/l. I drive is 15, she drive is 18. Whahaha. But Honda city is good. Very powerful for a 1.5l engine. Step all the way in and you know what I mean. So for those who want Altis, I guess it is only the quietness and a little more luxury feel inside. But not value for $ I think. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...