A Vios that can tail a WRX

Mustank

I have another very good friend / bro, also spent about 20K on his vios. It's not my idea of money well spent, but who am I to order his priorities? It's his passion man!

For me I rather buy a car that I'm very happy with at the first place, and even without much modding, it's a decent performer. But then again, different folks, different strokes lah.

There will be lots of these ppl blinded by this so called "passion". But 10~20 yrs down the road they will be slapping their heads, calling themselves "stupid" and "suckers", throwing 20k away instead of putting it into good use.

All passionate ppl will do anything for their passion whether it's motorbike or some hobby. It's a very "guy thing".

Speedster's death ruled a misadventure

DURING the morning peak hours of April 23, salesman Chan Chi Heng was speeding at 160kmh moments before his car smashed into a truck.

He died and yesterday the Coroner's Court ruled it an accident or a misadventure.

According to a witness who was driving to the city with her father, two cars raced past her as she was travelling along Changi Coast Road in the direction of Nicoll Drive at about 9.30am on April 24 this year.

She told the court that they were racing 'recklessly and carelessly'.

She then saw Mr Chan trying to overtake the other car on the left before swerving right to escape hitting a slower-moving vehicle in front.

He slammed head on into an oncoming DHL Global Mail truck.

The other racer sped off.

Civil Defence officers had to cut the wreck to free the truck driver and to get to Mr Chan's body. The other driver has recovered from arm and leg injuries.

(Straits Times 9 July

post-23424-1231078438_thumb.jpg

Yes, better believe it. Some of these Vios owners are so siao chng cars, they give many cars a run for their money. Then again, even a stock Vios already have pretty decent power to weight ratio, so with a bit of chn'ing, and the fact the the Toyota engine really got lots of potential, it's a pretty decently fast car.

My only issue with a Vios is the instrument panel which they place it at the center. If not the manual version of this car would had been one of my top choice.

Thats true, however, most of the modded vios on the road is only fast when compared to other stock 1.6-2L sedans.

No way it can blast away a proper sports car.

Speedster's death ruled a misadventure

DURING the morning peak hours of April 23, salesman Chan Chi Heng was speeding at 160kmh moments before his car smashed into a truck.

He died and yesterday the Coroner's Court ruled it an accident or a misadventure.

According to a witness who was driving to the city with her father, two cars raced past her as she was travelling along Changi Coast Road in the direction of Nicoll Drive at about 9.30am on April 24 this year.

She told the court that they were racing 'recklessly and carelessly'.

She then saw Mr Chan trying to overtake the other car on the left before swerving right to escape hitting a slower-moving vehicle in front.

He slammed head on into an oncoming DHL Global Mail truck.

The other racer sped off.

Civil Defence officers had to cut the wreck to free the truck driver and to get to Mr Chan's body. The other driver has recovered from arm and leg injuries.

(Straits Times 9 July

What's your purpose of digging up this accident?

hope that no one will follow in his foot steps , seems that they forget that racing on the street is still dangerous and will cause misery to others

Edited by Puffer_fish

hope that no one will follow in his foot steps

The guy that is featured did say he goes to track.

There are guys who have crashed bone stock Avante and Mitsubishi Lancer.

It isn't how modified your car is, its your mentality when you get behind the wheel.

I go to track to vent my need for speed.

I find that when I come back to Singapore and drive on the road, I tend to drive slower after a track session.

Actually the video in youtube was long ago, then his car was almost stock!!!!!! His 20k mods was just done recently.... His timing now was 2:04-2:06 with super old RE01R... I know him personally... The reporter misquoted the timing abit... He will post new video soon....

Edited by Datsunking

Good or bad publicity, it is still publicity for this guy who is featured in the newspapers. Now Singapore's #1 car forum is all abuzz about him. Without the article, people might not know that there are Vios modding specialists just like there is Monster Garage or GTR Technologies for rotary engined cars, ST Powered for Evos and so on. With the economy on the downturn, maybe the Vios will be the next EG Civic for budget boy racers. But that's not necessarily a good thing, of course.

Hm... Think I better give way to VIOS with GT Wing next time when I m on the road... My kar sure kana chiat till nothing left...

another sacarstic, non-constructive comment.

i spent more than 20k on my vios liao... several parts from speed-d... [thumbsup]

now i understand how come he can travel monthly to motor show liao.

Actually the video in youtube was long ago, then his car was almost stock!!!!!! His 20k mods was just done recently.... His timing now was 2:04-2:06 with super old RE01R... I know him personally... The reporter misquoted the timing abit... He will post new video soon....

The vid was posted bout 5 months ago, it didnt really matter how modded the car was...his lines were pretty off in thar video for someone tat claims he tracked regularly and with a pretty offline and getting abt 2.10 didnt showed that his ride is pretty stock...for a pretty stock vios to do 2.10, the driver must be pretty skillful. Anyway the tyres he tracked in the vid seems to hold pretty well, wat tyres was that?

WTF is Speed D????? Si mi lai a?

I think it means Speed Developing....but never say watt speed he wan to reach lah....

I think I siam all the Vios liao....damn scare now.

BTW...I have the answer to his tail a WRX liao....simple answer...it a TS that he was chasing....

The vid was posted bout 5 months ago, it didnt really matter how modded the car was...his lines were pretty off in thar video for someone tat claims he tracked regularly and with a pretty offline and getting abt 2.10 didnt showed that his ride is pretty stock...for a pretty stock vios to do 2.10, the driver must be pretty skillful. Anyway the tyres he tracked in the vid seems to hold pretty well, wat tyres was that?

the 2 vid kena taken down liao..

[lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

If I am the Traffic Police, I will pay special attention to Vios from now, esp those with GT wing. No wonder these days I notice quite a few with 'sporty' intake grill(no toyota logo), funny exos sound, etc.....