Scoots 3rd Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 Yep, i know I wonder how many of the 42000 OPCs will do the conversion to normal plate once they know they cannot cheat daily I think the real gripe with normal plate car owners is that they are still living with traffic jams despite all the OPC and ERP schemes. Knowing of the rebates of the OPC scheme, and when they hear of OPC cheats' existence and they see an OPC (mind you, not necessarily a cheat!) on the road, they see a target group that they can pin their unhappiness and fustration on. So their anger and fustration manifests into this prejudice/bias towards the OPCs, and they seek to justify any measures (reasonable or otherwise) that will regulate and 'lock down' the OPCs further... without remembering what is actually the issue that bothers them. OPC's make up for 7.7% of the entire car population, if I remember a recent newspaper article correctly. Even if (and it's really a VERY BIG "IF") 100% of the entire OPC population were to tear a coupon and be on the roads on a particular day, it's still lesser than 10% of the remaining car population. Does anyone really think that having a maximum 77 more cars for every 1000 that you see on the road is the cause of the traffic woes? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 Tamper proof system is good, will force all those OPCs who cheat daily to pay up to convert to normal plate. Then once they r normal plate, they will drive even more often during the OPC restricted timing, causing more jams at more hours of the day. Then LTA will have reasons to extend ERP hours, increase ERP rates, etc to control traffic. But then it's ok, as long as no OPCs can cheat, I think they normal plate folks should be happy, and live with the extra jams and ERP increase. not necessary OPC owners will convert to normal plates as they still need a 5 figure sum of $$ to top up the OPC rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 I think the real gripe with normal plate car owners is that they are still living with traffic jams despite all the OPC and ERP schemes. Knowing of the rebates of the OPC scheme, and when they hear of OPC cheats' existence and they see an OPC (mind you, not necessarily a cheat!) on the road, they see a target group that they can pin their unhappiness and fustration on. So their anger and fustration manifests into this prejudice/bias towards the OPCs, and they seek to justify any measures (reasonable or otherwise) that will regulate and 'lock down' the OPCs further... without remembering what is actually the issue that bothers them. OPC's make up for 7.7% of the entire car population, if I remember a recent newspaper article correctly. Even if (and it's really a VERY BIG "IF") 100% of the entire OPC population were to tear a coupon and be on the roads on a particular day, it's still lesser than 10% of the remaining car population. Does anyone really think that having a maximum 77 more cars for every 1000 that you see on the road is the cause of the traffic woes? Well said!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 Yep, i know I wonder how many of the 42000 OPCs will do the conversion to normal plate once they know they cannot cheat daily The way you say macam, all OPC cheats.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 Depends...if its on the damn CTE..its a killer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda664422 Neutral Newbie February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 What is the meaning of driving a OPC if one has to tear a coupon everyday to use the car? Coming out with lame excuses when they are caught by LTA, not as if he/she only drives during off-peak hours. I can't imagine the mindset of a person who uses OPC drive to work only, park in the office building the whole day, thinking he/she got a good bargain buying a opc, not as if it is cheap to buy a OPC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 Depends...if its on the damn CTE..its a killer.... then normal plate owners have to start cursing other normal plate owners lor.like the bro said,only 7.7% of population is OPC.so why not KPKB abt the rest of 92.3%? relax lah bros..sg is such a small place.to condemn the minority is of no use,so we have to accept it as it is.like dat i also must KPKB abt FT drivers & bikers taking up the roadspaces too! FT drivers & bikers no time restriction mah..take a look at BKE,SLE during peak hours.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 forgot is not an excuse...how can u forgot to put OPC coupon when u noe the car u registered is obviously a red plate? why would i forgot to put down the car brake before driving out? would I forgot to turn on the headlights when the sky is dark? it does happen. maybe u are perfect, but i have forgotten to release handbrake, forgotten to turn on headlights. usually i remember almost immediately, when the car refuses to move, or when i realise i can't see my speedometer. but the fact is that lapses like this do happen. of course, tampering with or not tearing the coupon fully is another issue altogether Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Initialz Neutral Newbie February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 glad that govt is reviewing the OPC rules to remove the after 3pm on Sat restriction to drive, hope can drive from Friday after 7pm onwards till before Monday 7am, then thinking of getting a OPC.. and also hope that the $17000 rebate should remain the same so as to encourage more people to get a OPC car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 If I have been driving "normal" car, then suddenly changed to OPC, "forget" is possible initially since I used to drive anytime I like. But if my first car is already OPC, then "forget" is hard to be accepted as a reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phang79 Neutral Newbie February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 Nevermind, if u really NEVER forget ANYTHING before in your life, then I can forgive you for thinking that others are like you and don't forget things. But if you do forget something before, even once in your life, then pls stop asking for others to remember every single time, because u know that there is no explaination for such things, it just happens. U need to bring something out when u leave the house, but u forgot to bring. Never happen to you before? U should have remembered to do the X number of checks b4 u leave your house right, so how come u still forget to bring those things? Pls explain, here, right now, this thread. Explain to everyone how u could forget something, share with everyone here. If u still want to insist that u never ever forget, NEVER, may u go to hell for lying, because no one here in this forum will believe you. U mention the 3 checks, erm, when u already late and rushing off, u think your priority is to check this check that before start engine? U think u even in the mood to remember checks? Sgnick, I don't think you are mature enough to handle this. How old are you? This discussion is about forgetting to put coupons, not discussion about the memory of others. In fact, I do forget to do things sometimes. But all these are daily happenings and is not routine. Mostly importantly, there are no checks in place! If you are late and "drive off without coupons", whose problem izzit? Izzit forget to put or no time to put? Be a man and pay the fine if you are caught. End of the day, nobody owes you a living. End of discussion, you can say and think what you like. I'm not visiting this thread anymore. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 glad that govt is reviewing the OPC rules to remove the after 3pm on Sat restriction to drive, hope can drive from Friday after 7pm onwards till before Monday 7am, then thinking of getting a OPC.. and also hope that the $17000 rebate should remain the same so as to encourage more people to get a OPC car.. well, there has to be a tradeoff somewhere. hoping to use the car for the whole of sat without deducting tax reabate is not very possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 "Cheats" and "respect" in the same heading. Very contrasting and contradicting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg February 23, 2009 Share February 23, 2009 agreed, respecting cheats makes close to no sense to the morally-correct :P haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 Sgnick, I don't think you are mature enough to handle this. How old are you? This discussion is about forgetting to put coupons, not discussion about the memory of others. In fact, I do forget to do things sometimes. But all these are daily happenings and is not routine. Mostly importantly, there are no checks in place! If you are late and "drive off without coupons", whose problem izzit? Izzit forget to put or no time to put? Be a man and pay the fine if you are caught. End of the day, nobody owes you a living. End of discussion, you can say and think what you like. I'm not visiting this thread anymore. Cheers I don't know how old YOU are, maybe i am younger than you, maybe not, but at least I am mature enought to admit right from the begining that people forget things, anything, PERIOD. You, Phang79, on the other hand, have been preaching that coupons is something that cannot be forgotten, how mature is THAT? And only now u admit that people can forget non-routine things. Why admit only now? Dont want to go to hell? So u think putting coupon is routine? U know OPC owners put coupon how often? Once in a very very long time dude! Putting coupon is not a routine task that is done everytime we need to use the OPC. So if u can forget non-routine task and see that as normal, OPC owners cannot forget even once? U can take your double standards and shove it up your ass man! Btw, read the entire thread, and u will know where I stand on this matter, whether I am for or against paying of fines. "Be a man", like you say. And yes, end of discussion. PUI ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 The way you say macam, all OPC cheats.... Where got? Don't anyhow say hor... Those who cheat often, they know who they are. Those who don't cheat also know who they are. When the tamperproof system is in place, we will know how many people are affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 (edited) The way you say macam, all OPC cheats.... Double post Edited February 24, 2009 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Urns Neutral Newbie February 24, 2009 Share February 24, 2009 Yes I do! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...