Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 new Megane will have 1.4T 140bhp engine right?? that will be quite a huge seller if Renault prices the car right though... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buttercookie Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 Hi, Is there any feedback for the megane sports tourer? Understand shwrm dun haf the new model yet. Thnx! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 i thought they don't sell the current Tourer already? only left the sedan... now waiting for the new hatch to arrive in 2010... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buttercookie Neutral Newbie December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 yah, they dun sell the current tourer anymre dats why wanna find out mre abt it. Like how's the ride n lastprice at showroom etc... Not a big renault fan but looking for SW so lookclookc.... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 (edited) I just test drove the Kia Cerato Forte...damn...looks very good inside out....and despite all rave reviews, it feels hollow and no where near the Megane in terms of ride comfort, quietness and stability. This I hav to agree. The current qashqai & mz2 (both of which i have plenty of driving experience) cannot be compared to our almost 5 yr old megane (reaching 100K mileage) Edited December 17, 2009 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 any megane owners here to provide the negative side of this car? Have a almost 5 yr old megane... other than the power windows failing, the steering coloum recently needed to be replaced. Quoted 2+K for a re-cond unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear December 17, 2009 Share December 17, 2009 you must understand that French has good artistic talents, but to build reliable cars, that would be the job of a German... the French and Italians are hopeless at reliability, French cars are more comfort biased...so good handling is a definite no-go... Italians are good for great handling cars, but reliability is no-go, as well as practicality... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 22, 2010 Share January 22, 2010 Any owner's review/feedback from those who have bought the FL Megane 2 (year 2008/9)? Still having windows, iggy coil and other electrical faults? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 Most conti rides seem to have very good ride comfort and stability, even the entry level models and those lighter weight models. Test driven a very basic Fiat GP 1.4L and feels that it handles far better than a 2.0/2.4L Camry. This is despite the fact the GP weighs only 1,040 kgs. Downside for contis is, most seem to suffer from electrical and electronics niggles, and these are far more difficult to troubleshoot than mechanical faults. And be very careful of the extra security features like deadlock - it can really lock you dead inside the car. You are spot on! I drove my in-law's Camry in JB, the car feels scary in higher speed than 120kmh. Steering light and slippery feel, car floaty. Does encourage u to drive higher speed. That said, it is good in city. Feels light and easy to drive in start stop traffic. My in law on e next trip sat in my Fiat GP and he was like wa.... Yr car sport car is it?? So fast and stable at high speed! I replied, what sport car? This car has only half the horse power of yr Camry! But its the way the Italian made the car, the way it drives, easy and like to rev and the way the selespeed jerk to give u the little pull back sensation when u full rev for 1-4 gear ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 The Jap has yet to master the black art of making cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kengohth Neutral Newbie January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 my friend used to drive japanese cars for many years. he bot a renault megane about 3 years ago. sat in his car a couple of times and based on his feedback as follows: 1) battery life can be really bad esp if you do travel short and frequent rides cos the car needs a XX amt of distance b4 the battery can charge cos the car eats a lot of eletricty. his average batt life span is about less than 1 year. 2) the pickup can be quite slow. but having said that, in crusing mode, really decent speeds, and not noisy. cos of the insulation. 3) brakes are good, can stop the car quite fast even when running at 80km/hr. BUT, tends to acculate dust a bit. so can noisy sometimes. in summary, quite value for money car though. quite good for those smallish families. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxxtotal 1st Gear January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 (edited) you must understand that French has good artistic talents, but to build reliable cars, that would be the job of a German... the French and Italians are hopeless at reliability, French cars are more comfort biased...so good handling is a definite no-go... Italians are good for great handling cars, but reliability is no-go, as well as practicality... Not entirely true, some French makes are hopeless in aesthetics and Italians are sexy as well. Case in point: The Renaults are known for it's quirky looking designs, most Cars will never win any beauty awards. the current Megane is one of the few eye pleasing ones. I can't say that for the new model tho. The other French, the Peugeots has much more artistict flair and expressions. The Italians, Fiat especially used to produce literally bored to death cars- to the extend put the company to suicide path in poor sales. It took design house guigario to revive the product line with the Grande Punto. Subsequent cars, Barvo, 500 are eye candy. The Alfa Romeos, as Italian was famous also for it's leading edge sporty design. The 156 revolutionize car makers design their hooded speedo dials that reference were always made to the Alfa-like sporty hooded dials design. As to the Italians made good handling cars, super cars aside, most Italian rides never made it to the top class handling cars. On the contary, the top category honors often goes to the Germans- Golf,BMWs. The French-those Renault cup series, the International contis- mini, Ford Focus etc...it's not that Fiat and AF ain't good but juz among the best. But what Italian and French cars have are passion, both different kinds. The Italian made the cars feels hot, adrenaline pumping to drive even for a humble 1.4l who most likely cannot outrun a Camry on straight drag but yet feels a lot more exciting to drive. The French either design very classy like Peugeots or quirky like the Renaults. They generally like their cars comfortable and soft. I had Fiat GP and Renault Megane, so I know both v well. The Megane don't like to be rushed around and makes the best highway cruiser. It can overtake at highway speed with ease and take high speed corners more steadily than my GP. It feels comfortable even in 18" and lowered springs. Fiat GP on contary, enjoys revving like no tomorrow. So u can feel the rush and enjoy the aural excitment and gear shift action w/o constrain cos it is not really fast - but feels fast. So u can shift 1-3 gears at 5k rpm and prob still within legal speed limit. The best of all, yr FC still win go below 11km/l for all the revs. Contary to popular beliefs that hatch back is naturally better handling cars, the Fiat GP can't outrun a Megane at corner. On reliabilty? Haha both have their set of quirks. But the French feels more sensitive and fragile, but they are backed by the best warranty service in town. The GP are more hard wearing. Even their dashboard looks set to last a long time, unlike the Megane's soft touch materials which may melt if under hot sun for a couple of years or if u use the wrong solution to clean or wax it! Edited January 24, 2010 by Maxxtotal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear January 24, 2010 Share January 24, 2010 they just launched a facelift of the Fiat GP... japanese always have sex in car so gotta have soft suspension mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 2, 2010 Share February 2, 2010 New Megane come liao??? SE told me mid of this year leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subcrew Neutral Newbie March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 yahh coming mid of this year.overall quite nice looking :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extramint Clutched March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 i think because many buyers of the megane have window related problems.. wearnes automotive started the "improvement program" to change one of the parts inside, for both passenger and driver. even my cabriolet have this improvement program.. even though no problems with windows (have other problems lol). free though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arnoldg1810 Neutral Newbie May 9, 2010 Share May 9, 2010 Please advice. I am happy with my Renault Megane. My fuel consumption is 8 Km/Litre (12.5L/100 on display) but I just found out that my brothers posted 12 Km/Litre. I talked to service consultant and he told me 8 Km/Litre is fine. Any ideas??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 9, 2010 Share May 9, 2010 U driving a shift stick or slugh box? Travelling patterns? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...