Osiris 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 Do singaporeans really look at FC as a consideration? Isn't it the whole package? Car A good FC, but more expensive Car B so so FC, cheaper. savings easily offsets savings in FC difference. Is there a standard way to measure FC used by all the manufacturer? if not how helpful is the comparison? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 U'd be surprised.. the popularity of cars like Jazz are largely due to reputation of good FC, even though it commands a price premium which most owners will never recover through savings from the lower FC.. if Jazz have mediocre FC, u wouldn't see so many Jazz on the road.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 The numbers and figures are most likely extracted from the car manufacturer's brochure. This might differ greatly in Singapore as compared to overseas. I agree with many of you here that this serves little purpose. I am wondering whether PIs will be doing it too. Presently, I believe some PIs are already pasting huge stickers on their vehicles claiming ridiculous figures. I have the same concern with u with regards to tis...i'm suspecting they juz extract the figures direct from the brochures. Unless all the cars with labels are tested locally under the same condition & route, the figures will mean nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 U'd be surprised.. the popularity of cars like Jazz are largely due to reputation of good FC, even though it commands a price premium which most owners will never recover through savings from the lower FC.. if Jazz have mediocre FC, u wouldn't see so many Jazz on the road.. Look at the pple who drives and aspire to own a jazz/fit? Its the younger ones (<35). To drive a jazz/fit to this group means: - Fashionable - Its a HONDA - Great modding potential - A car that your friends, relatives, in-laws, neighbours, colleagues etc etc all agree that its a car. - Good FC Even if it has mediocre FC, the rest of the above factors will combine to make it the car of choice the young drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 i for one think this is a good start. the labeling of course gimmicky, car manufacturers and distributors sure use ideal conditions for their claims on fuel efficiency. fc and greenness of the ride doesn't affect my decision totally, but it is important to me still as i buy that green movement idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 If that the case Prius and civic hybrid should be very common. But I don't see a lot of Prius, civic hybrid. Like another bro said, other factors for the jazz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 another half farked scheme by LTA to 'be environmental friendly'??? if they're really serious about being environmental friendly, then: 1) Stop charging sky high road tax for privately registered diesel vehicles..Newer diesel engine is cleaner(and more efficient) than petrol 2) Give more tax breaks for hybrid/CNG cars 3) Improve public transport efficiency...so that more people will want to take bus/MRT.. I dun think they will not be it affects their pocket Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 If that the case Prius and civic hybrid should be very common. But I don't see a lot of Prius, civic hybrid. Like another bro said, other factors for the jazz yup. absolute cost of car too. these 2 kinda ex, and also the fear of maintenance and spare parts cost for hybrid. must go back to ad workshop. i don't know of any workshop that can service these hybrids. it costs to be a green. back to the topic of the govt doing more to be green - yes control car population, but help the greenies in the process so that car population can have better mix of green and non-green cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 Whats the point if the label states the FC in the brochure?? We dunno how to see brochure or sgcarmart meh? kaoz If they want to slap on these labels, it should be tested and certified figures Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 yup. absolute cost of car too. these 2 kinda ex, and also the fear of maintenance and spare parts cost for hybrid. must go back to ad workshop. i don't know of any workshop that can service these hybrids. it costs to be a green. back to the topic of the govt doing more to be green - yes control car population, but help the greenies in the process so that car population can have better mix of green and non-green cars. Yalor... last time always hear friends scaring me about how expensive a battery for the hybrid is once spoil after 3 years... dunno is for real or hearsay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 yup. absolute cost of car too. these 2 kinda ex, and also the fear of maintenance and spare parts cost for hybrid. must go back to ad workshop. i don't know of any workshop that can service these hybrids. it costs to be a green. back to the topic of the govt doing more to be green - yes control car population, but help the greenies in the process so that car population can have better mix of green and non-green cars. I am quite sure there are external workshops servicing hybrid cars, but don't ask me where. I am just assuming on the basis that the Prius is sold as a PI model, and these owners should know specifically where to service their cars besides AD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 another half farked scheme by LTA to 'be environmental friendly'??? if they're really serious about being environmental friendly, then: 1) Stop charging sky high road tax for privately registered diesel vehicles..Newer diesel engine is cleaner(and more efficient) than petrol 2) Give more tax breaks for hybrid/CNG cars 3) Improve public transport efficiency...so that more people will want to take bus/MRT.. this half fug scheme is under NEA... not LTA... see where the news come from.... dun jus any how shoot. this half fug scheme by NEA is even worst... for the Aircon/fridge, they use japan standard.... for this car one.. they only use european standard.... so much so for gahmen promoting Globalisation.... some ppl i guess are still living in the own hole. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 Whats the point if the label states the FC in the brochure?? We dunno how to see brochure or sgcarmart meh? kaoz If they want to slap on these labels, it should be tested and certified figures Agreed. Unless LTA tests all the cars under a controlled environment, these figures will help buyers make misinformed decision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 .... they use japan standard.... for this car one.. they only use european standard.... I guess for fridges and aircon, most of us use jap brands and the euro ones also have the same Jap standard data easily available. Whereas for cars, the euro standard is more widely used and Jap car manufacturers also have such data easily available for their export models. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 If out gov is serious about being green...change the tax system to one that tag to greenhouse gases emission eg. Co2, etc... Or they can also bring back the sub 1000cc COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 What? Now only they report in the news? My dept been giving it out since last year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kalmath 1st Gear April 1, 2009 Share April 1, 2009 News Release National Environment Agency's Labelling Schemes On Fuel Efficiency To Start In April 09 Mandatory Fuel Economy Labeling Scheme Also from 1 April 2009, buyers of new passenger cars and light goods vehicles will be able to know how fuel efficient their vehicles are when the Mandatory Fuel Economy Labelling Scheme (FELS) comes into effect. Under the scheme, new passenger cars and light goods vehicles must carry a label indicating the amount of fuel needed by the vehicle to run 100 kilometres. With this information, car buyers can compare the fuel consumption of vehicles of similar engine capacity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 2, 2009 Share April 2, 2009 Factory test without on the air-con, on 14" metal rim and on 15deg temp condition. so FC is sure very good. If all car models are done under no air-con switch on, 14" rims,..etc. Then I would still think its a good reference to compare car to car. As long as buyer dun have to pay extra for these tests then I think its good to have it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...