If Power isn't your Game, get back to your Golf

Kelfinity

Ermm... Is Subaru aiming at VW?

Let's discuss on WRX vs Golf. Which is better in terms of power, comfort, safety, etc?

Ermm... Is Subaru aiming at VW?

Let's discuss on WRX vs Golf. Which is better in terms of power, comfort, safety, etc?

Subaru looses in everything except raw, unsmooth power.

There are a couple of ads from them also picking at the golf. Well, i think subaru is finishing soon... their entire range is uninspiring, including the new legacy, which is still as conservative as ever, and in fact, even uglier

Each has its strengths and short comings lah. What matters is the car buyer's preference. Ppl look at the overall package the car offers, power isn't everything.

There are a couple of ads from them also picking at the golf. Well, i think subaru is finishing soon... their entire range is uninspiring, including the new legacy, which is still as conservative as ever, and in fact, even uglier

ya man.... the new legacy looks grotesque..... every facelift and new model looks worse.... the best looking ones are still in the GC era.....

The Golf wins hands down... refined power vs orca killer whale ah beng power...

Halo, its Ah Seng. I got nothing to do with Killer Whale hor. I keep guppies only.

this thread is useless without info...

GOLF V50

Engine capacity 1,984 cc

Engine type 4-cylinder turbo FSI

Power 246 bhp

Torque 382 Nm

Acceleration 5.6s (0-100kmh)

Top Speed 261kmh

Fuel consumption 12.1 km\L

Transmission 6-speed automatic

Dimensions (L x W x H) (4216 x 1759 x 1501)mm

Wheelbase 2,578mm

Min turning radius 5,450mm

Fuel tank capacity 55L

Subaru Impreza WRX 5D 2.0 S-GT (A) Specifications

Engine capacity 1,994 cc

Engine type Horizontally-opposed, 4-cylinder, turbocharged DOHC, 16-valve

Compression ratio 9.4

Bore x Stroke (92.0 x 75.0) mm

Power 250 bhp

Torque 333 Nm

Performance

Transmission 4-speed automatic

Drive type AWD

Dimensions (L x W x H) (4415 x 1740 x 1475)mm

Wheelbase 2,620mm

Min turning radius 5,300mm

Kerb weight 1,390kg

Fuel tank capacity 60L

u golf owner? Or you subaru Haters? hehehe................

I actually find the new STI looks really nice with the widebody. Can't say that for a base WRX, bascially everything in the base WRX is very basic, at $80+k for a WRX is totally not worth it, when i bought my Legacy GT early this year, the WRX is only going for $67k! don't understand Mi minds............

Oh btw, i almost got the golf, was comparing Golf, LGT and STI. picked the LGT because of numerous leading edge over the Golf GTI.

1 of the best i like is the 12speakers Mcintosh sound system and not forgetting that a Golf cannot fit a golf bag, weird (You got to take out the driver).

Make fair comparison leh :) V50 should be going against STI lor, even the Base Golf GTI is more pricey than the STI [thumbsdown]

Subaru Impreza WRX 5D 2.0 S-GT (A) Specifications

Engine capacity 1,994 cc

Engine type Horizontally-opposed, 4-cylinder, turbocharged DOHC, 16-valve

Compression ratio 9.4

Bore x Stroke (92.0 x 75.0) mm

Power 250 bhp

Torque 333 Nm

Performance

Transmission 4-speed automatic

Drive type AWD

Dimensions (L x W x H) (4415 x 1740 x 1475)mm

Wheelbase 2,620mm

Min turning radius 5,300mm

Kerb weight 1,390kg

Fuel tank capacity 60L

u golf owner? Or you subaru Haters? hehehe................

I actually find the new STI looks really nice with the widebody. Can't say that for a base WRX, bascially everything in the base WRX is very basic, at $80+k for a WRX is totally not worth it, when i bought my Legacy GT early this year, the WRX is only going for $67k! don't understand Mi minds............

Oh btw, i almost got the golf, was comparing Golf, LGT and STI. picked the LGT because of numerous leading edge over the Golf GTI.

1 of the best i like is the 12speakers Mcintosh sound system and not forgetting that a Golf cannot fit a golf bag, weird (You got to take out the driver).

Hmm... Are you comparing a legacy with a golf? [sweatdrop]

Like the ad have said, unless you're looking for a pure power, the golf is the better car, right out of the horse mouth.

Hmm... Are you comparing a legacy with a golf? [sweatdrop]

Like the ad have said, unless you're looking for a pure power, the golf is the better car, right out of the horse mouth.

I mean when i bought my Legacy, not the ad. I can't be comparing WRX vs Golf becuz when i bought my car that time, the WRX is 67k compare to 105k Golf! I can squeeze a QQ in between hahaha............

I was comparing Golf vs Legacy GT vs STI since they are in almost similiar price range. The STI and Golf lack of boot space and the Golf GTI cost a whopping almost $20k more than Legacy GT at the same OMV. FYI, VW margin for Golf GTI is a whopping $30+k compared to about $15k for Legacy GT so in the end with ALL features that a Golf GTI have, a Legacy GT have it and MORE [thumbsup]

But i regret not getting the STI because it's such a lovely car! with the Alcantra Leather and body hugging seats, Century sprint of 4.9s with 300BHP. It's a no brainer [thumbsup] Oh it's cheaper too with higher OMV

jus my 2cents...i thk the w in sti kit is much better...the base model looks very uninspiring, machiem 1.5R...it is a tough fight...even as i type, im struggling to say which will be my choice.. [thumbsup]

You could have also got a Jetta, GLi over the legacy, 6spd DSG, 2L FI engine, with loads of kit, and a deep boot. But of course, with price considerations its no brainer which to choose.