Kelfinity 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Ermm... Is Subaru aiming at VW? Let's discuss on WRX vs Golf. Which is better in terms of power, comfort, safety, etc? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Ermm... Is Subaru aiming at VW? Let's discuss on WRX vs Golf. Which is better in terms of power, comfort, safety, etc? Subaru looses in everything except raw, unsmooth power. There are a couple of ads from them also picking at the golf. Well, i think subaru is finishing soon... their entire range is uninspiring, including the new legacy, which is still as conservative as ever, and in fact, even uglier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Each has its strengths and short comings lah. What matters is the car buyer's preference. Ppl look at the overall package the car offers, power isn't everything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Subaru looses in everything except raw, unsmooth power. There are a couple of ads from them also picking at the golf. Well, i think subaru is finishing soon... their entire range is uninspiring, including the new legacy, which is still as conservative as ever, and in fact, even uglier ya man.... the new legacy looks grotesque..... every facelift and new model looks worse.... the best looking ones are still in the GC era..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 The Golf wins hands down... refined power vs orca killer whale ah beng power... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 looks like an angry toad ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 The Golf wins hands down... refined power vs orca killer whale ah beng power... Halo, its Ah Seng. I got nothing to do with Killer Whale hor. I keep guppies only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Power in the hand of irresponsible driver, walking bomb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 this thread is useless without info... GOLF V50 Engine capacity 1,984 cc Engine type 4-cylinder turbo FSI Power 246 bhp Torque 382 Nm Acceleration 5.6s (0-100kmh) Top Speed 261kmh Fuel consumption 12.1 km\L Transmission 6-speed automatic Dimensions (L x W x H) (4216 x 1759 x 1501)mm Wheelbase 2,578mm Min turning radius 5,450mm Fuel tank capacity 55L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Subaru Impreza WRX 5D 2.0 S-GT (A) Specifications Engine capacity 1,994 cc Engine type Horizontally-opposed, 4-cylinder, turbocharged DOHC, 16-valve Compression ratio 9.4 Bore x Stroke (92.0 x 75.0) mm Power 250 bhp Torque 333 Nm Performance Transmission 4-speed automatic Drive type AWD Dimensions (L x W x H) (4415 x 1740 x 1475)mm Wheelbase 2,620mm Min turning radius 5,300mm Kerb weight 1,390kg Fuel tank capacity 60L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Subaru looses in everything except raw, unsmooth power. There are a couple of ads from them also picking at the golf. Well, i think subaru is finishing soon... their entire range is uninspiring, including the new legacy, which is still as conservative as ever, and in fact, even uglier u golf owner? Or you subaru Haters? hehehe................ I actually find the new STI looks really nice with the widebody. Can't say that for a base WRX, bascially everything in the base WRX is very basic, at $80+k for a WRX is totally not worth it, when i bought my Legacy GT early this year, the WRX is only going for $67k! don't understand Mi minds............ Oh btw, i almost got the golf, was comparing Golf, LGT and STI. picked the LGT because of numerous leading edge over the Golf GTI. 1 of the best i like is the 12speakers Mcintosh sound system and not forgetting that a Golf cannot fit a golf bag, weird (You got to take out the driver). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Make fair comparison leh :) V50 should be going against STI lor, even the Base Golf GTI is more pricey than the STI Subaru Impreza WRX 5D 2.0 S-GT (A) Specifications Engine capacity 1,994 cc Engine type Horizontally-opposed, 4-cylinder, turbocharged DOHC, 16-valve Compression ratio 9.4 Bore x Stroke (92.0 x 75.0) mm Power 250 bhp Torque 333 Nm Performance Transmission 4-speed automatic Drive type AWD Dimensions (L x W x H) (4415 x 1740 x 1475)mm Wheelbase 2,620mm Min turning radius 5,300mm Kerb weight 1,390kg Fuel tank capacity 60L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 its golf vs the sti.. not the wrx boy.. price difference is so much.. haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 u golf owner? Or you subaru Haters? hehehe................ I actually find the new STI looks really nice with the widebody. Can't say that for a base WRX, bascially everything in the base WRX is very basic, at $80+k for a WRX is totally not worth it, when i bought my Legacy GT early this year, the WRX is only going for $67k! don't understand Mi minds............ Oh btw, i almost got the golf, was comparing Golf, LGT and STI. picked the LGT because of numerous leading edge over the Golf GTI. 1 of the best i like is the 12speakers Mcintosh sound system and not forgetting that a Golf cannot fit a golf bag, weird (You got to take out the driver). Hmm... Are you comparing a legacy with a golf? Like the ad have said, unless you're looking for a pure power, the golf is the better car, right out of the horse mouth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Hmm... Are you comparing a legacy with a golf? Like the ad have said, unless you're looking for a pure power, the golf is the better car, right out of the horse mouth. I mean when i bought my Legacy, not the ad. I can't be comparing WRX vs Golf becuz when i bought my car that time, the WRX is 67k compare to 105k Golf! I can squeeze a QQ in between hahaha............ I was comparing Golf vs Legacy GT vs STI since they are in almost similiar price range. The STI and Golf lack of boot space and the Golf GTI cost a whopping almost $20k more than Legacy GT at the same OMV. FYI, VW margin for Golf GTI is a whopping $30+k compared to about $15k for Legacy GT so in the end with ALL features that a Golf GTI have, a Legacy GT have it and MORE But i regret not getting the STI because it's such a lovely car! with the Alcantra Leather and body hugging seats, Century sprint of 4.9s with 300BHP. It's a no brainer Oh it's cheaper too with higher OMV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 jus my 2cents...i thk the w in sti kit is much better...the base model looks very uninspiring, machiem 1.5R...it is a tough fight...even as i type, im struggling to say which will be my choice.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 New Legacy...really looks like crap... Old one was better...Subaru design seems to be regressing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 You could have also got a Jetta, GLi over the legacy, 6spd DSG, 2L FI engine, with loads of kit, and a deep boot. But of course, with price considerations its no brainer which to choose. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...