Billcoke 2nd Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 (edited) Can't see the rational that older driver are penalized for such case, and I guess even if her car was banged from behind, the $2000 charges would have applied as well. ------------ Mon, Apr 20, 2009 AsiaOne AIG won't wave $2,000 charge because driver is old ONE evening last month, my husband and I were alerted by the police that my car was badly damaged by someone who had thrown something onto it. We checked our car in the HDB carpark and found the roof caved in and the rear windscreen smashed. We found a burst red balloon on the back seat of the car. Shattered glass and water were scattered inside and over the boot. The police photographed the damage and collected evidence. After we lodged a report, the police told us that the case, classified under "mischief", would be hard to investigate as there were common corridors above in the HDB block. Subsequently, I took my car to my insurer's AIG-approved workshop to file a claim and have the damage assessed and repaired. I was told to pay $550 in excess. But what shocked me was that I was told to pay $2,000 more because I was classified as an elderly driver. I appealed to the AIG officer on the phone to waive the $2,000 charge because I was not driving the car when the damage occurred. The car was vandalised while it was parked in an HDB car-park. READ MORE - When should senior citizens stop driving? AIG offered me the use of a car for 10 days but insisted that the excess fee of $2,000 could not be waived. I refused the offer and appealed again. My appeal was rejected. The AIG officer who dealt with my case told me that $2,000 charge could not be waived because I was old. Is this fair? Wong Wan Yue (Mdm) Edited April 20, 2009 by Billcoke ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Insurance is tied to the driver, but self claim always kena excess, so it just means which category you belong to. I think the town council should foot the billed excess. That way, they will step up security efforts and build more sheltered carparks, instead of splurging on useless investments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 1st time see such ting, but then better check the policy again whether got such clause. i tink after this letter, AIG would "waive" off the additional charge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 1st time see such ting, but then better check the policy again whether got such clause. i tink after this letter, AIG would "waive" off the additional charge. They still need to make enough for their next huge bonuses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 I've heard of young driver excess before. But 1st time hearing of elderly driver excess. Even my 1st yr in-house insurance tied to AIG, I don't recall seeing any elderly driver excess in the terms. If gotta pay $2000 excess, might as well self-repair outside. And didn't know that a water balloon can cause such damage to a car windscreen. *Sweat* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 elderly also got excess... but depends on how much the excess is according to age... but AIG excess is really too much, i juz been a carrot by renewing wif AIG again tis yr... nx yr onwards and all my future owned cars, i will not get AIG anymore ever... tink tis letter, more and more ppl will not be getting from AIG and i tink they really going to pack and disappear from tis world soon le... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 It's ridiculous. Dan what's the point of calling it "Excess"? Might as well state the excess to be $2k or more instead of just $550. Some more the car is parked. If 50/50 settlement still acceptable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Actually, Insurance coys have to find someone else to be responsible for the bill. Ie. In private carparks, if the gantry barrier comes down and damages your car, you self claim, and your insurance coy will claim from the carpark. Of course, you loose NCD etc if they don't get as much money back from the carpark management. Excess, however is there to prevent people from smashing their own windows or cars even to claim insurance. Too little, it has no effects, too much, it becomes our liability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 The AIG officer who dealt with my case told me that $2,000 charge could not be waived because I was old. Is this fair? Wong Wan Yue (Mdm) Huh??? Si mi law lai eh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 people are losing faith in these companies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 the 2k excess for young drivers and elderly driver is stated clearly in the AIG contract, i know cos i previously had AIG insurance, and they send me the renewal contract, it was stated, but this year i switched to a much cheaper choice MSIG even got $80 esso voucher... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 But the car wasnt even damaged while an 'elderly' was driving. Really absurd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Here is one FINE example why I consider myself without any INSURANCE when I drive around my car; there WILL ALWAYS be a catch somewhere when something goes horribly wrong. Here's what I do treating myself and car un-insured: >> I don't park under blcoks where there is corridors above, or kitchen windows with laundry poles, or flower pots visible. >> I don't park under OLD trees with overhanging branches >> I don't park in between cars or if the neighbor is commercial, I hunt for single lots, or corner lots, and park exposed to public or residential view expecially in MSCPs. >> I don't do Double Parking, or parallel park with cars in front and behind >> I don't park near roadside bins >> I don't park near incense/jost paper burning bins >> I don't park near ball parks; basketball, tennis, playgrounds, etc >> I don't stop right at the White Line at traffic junctions, I stop half a car's length from it >> I don't trust Red Lights or Green Lights; always expect the worse >> I don't assume vehicles will stop for me, or that their signals are for sure >> I NEVER go out on weekend nights Basically CRAP happens in life, and if one is complacent, CRAP can really happen. I think Paranoia is a whole lot better than, hassling and haggling with Insurance Agencies. Having a car is convenient, but there is a price and a lifelong commitment for this convenience. Strategy in Ownership & Motoring, is key to peace of mind. I leave all other probabilities to my In-vehicle CCTV DVR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 I'm very baffled why there are people who still buy from AIG. Please vote with your feet and check out other quotes. Just take the cheapest quote and tell the other insureres to go to h3ll! If you are a safe driver, you still pay exhorbitant premiums, if you are unfortunately enough to get into any incidents, you pay even more, and even have to squeeze out some blood for them. All this nonsense because the law requires all vehicles to be insured. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiek Neutral Newbie April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 I was on AIG for the first 2 yrs of driving. For my third year, they quoted me a ridiculous $2.7k with 20% NCD. Of course didn't renew with them. In the end renewed with AXA for less than $900. 1/3 of AIG's quote. Go figure... AIG is probably wanna exit the motor insurance business liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Here is one FINE example why I consider myself without any INSURANCE when I drive around my car; there WILL ALWAYS be a catch somewhere when something goes horribly wrong. Here's what I do treating myself and car un-insured: >> I don't park under blcoks where there is corridors above, or kitchen windows with laundry poles, or flower pots visible. >> I don't park under OLD trees with overhanging branches >> I don't park in between cars or if the neighbor is commercial, I hunt for single lots, or corner lots, and park exposed to public or residential view expecially in MSCPs. >> I don't do Double Parking, or parallel park with cars in front and behind >> I don't park near roadside bins >> I don't park near incense/jost paper burning bins >> I don't park near ball parks; basketball, tennis, playgrounds, etc >> I don't stop right at the White Line at traffic junctions, I stop half a car's length from it >> I don't trust Red Lights or Green Lights; always expect the worse >> I don't assume vehicles will stop for me, or that their signals are for sure >> I NEVER go out on weekend nights Basically CRAP happens in life, and if one is complacent, CRAP can really happen. I think Paranoia is a whole lot better than, hassling and haggling with Insurance Agencies. Having a car is convenient, but there is a price and a lifelong commitment for this convenience. Strategy in Ownership & Motoring, is key to peace of mind. I leave all other probabilities to my In-vehicle CCTV DVR. Do you have a life? Have you ever heard of the saying "Sh** can happen"? The issue here is the ambiguity surrounding the usual procedural norms with regards to insurance claims not about what you can do to prevent. You can do a million things and things can still happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Here is one FINE example why I consider myself without any INSURANCE when I drive around my car; there WILL ALWAYS be a catch somewhere when something goes horribly wrong. Here's what I do treating myself and car un-insured: >> I don't park under blcoks where there is corridors above, or kitchen windows with laundry poles, or flower pots visible. >> I don't park under OLD trees with overhanging branches >> I don't park in between cars or if the neighbor is commercial, I hunt for single lots, or corner lots, and park exposed to public or residential view expecially in MSCPs. >> I don't do Double Parking, or parallel park with cars in front and behind >> I don't park near roadside bins >> I don't park near incense/jost paper burning bins >> I don't park near ball parks; basketball, tennis, playgrounds, etc >> I don't stop right at the White Line at traffic junctions, I stop half a car's length from it >> I don't trust Red Lights or Green Lights; always expect the worse >> I don't assume vehicles will stop for me, or that their signals are for sure >> I NEVER go out on weekend nights Basically CRAP happens in life, and if one is complacent, CRAP can really happen. I think Paranoia is a whole lot better than, hassling and haggling with Insurance Agencies. Having a car is convenient, but there is a price and a lifelong commitment for this convenience. Strategy in Ownership & Motoring, is key to peace of mind. I leave all other probabilities to my In-vehicle CCTV DVR. After doing all that, you might as well say: >> I don't own a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Do you have a life? Have you ever heard of the saying "Sh** can happen"? The issue here is the ambiguity surrounding the usual procedural norms with regards to insurance claims not about what you can do to prevent. You can do a million things and things can still happen. Even if you have a private garage, the garage can still collapse and crush your precious car. That's what insurance is for. However, motor insurance here works by punishing us for utilising what we pay for. If you don't utilise what you have paid for, they just punish you lighter, but it's punishment nontheless. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...