Worst Jam in this year because of lazy NPark!

Urns

Typical SG mentality, only know how to complain. Get out from your car and help to clear the branches yourself, before you start complaining. [shakehead]

wow! model citizen here! clap clap!

i'd like to see you move the freaking tree that was across two lanes of the PIE today.

on a more constructive note, it's high time NParks chop down ALL trees by the roadside. they serve no purpose whatsoever besides to make SG seem like a 'garden city'

i hate the shadows in the day (i don't mind shade, but i mind having the light intensity change every few milliseconds) and the trees only cause more trouble than they are worth.

plant them everywhere else, but not by the roads. bushes and shrubs are fine

READ somewhere that the trees are actually feng shui. it is a must for singapore to prosper. Singapore from space looks like a crab, trees makes it green which means it is still alive.

I remembered 3 or 4 years ago there was a similar case of fallen tree at Oxley Road (near you know whose residence..), the tree was chopped up and removed within 30 mins flat.........

Lornie road to farrer road jam during morning is quite common, whether got tree fall or not.

common?? usually i took 1hr to travel from yishun to Bkt merah using this route... yesterday took alnost 2 hrs!

I think we should also bear in mind that most of the contractors are foreign workers.

If staying in SG, maybe easier to recall...

If staying in MY, response wil be slower...

Edited by Dualie

It's a no-win situation for NParks.. [sweatdrop]

- Trim trees on weekdays pple complain

- Trim trees on weekends pple complain

- Trim trees during daytime pple complain

- Trim trees during nighttime pple complain

- Dun trim trees also pple complain

Don't plant any huge trees at major roads, so less headaches.

Anyway, whether there's trees or not, still so hot and humid. Today highest temperature forecasted to be 34 deg [cool]

Trees can also be a visual obstruction when these are not trimmed properly, fallen branches can also be hazards. And trees are also a good place for birds to make their homes, from which they crap on hapless cars below.

Chill guys [sweatdrop] No one like to be caught in a jam. The necessary authorities might be not quick enough but there are fallen trees everywhere so how to expect them to clear everything between the few hours before peak hour traffic.

u so not stylo milo, why didn't u, such a exemplary character, i take it that your office toilet bowl overflows you'd be the first one to take a plunger and clear it? u walk by a dustbin with rubbish on the floor, u'd picked them up and throw into the dustbin? dun tell me not included in your jobscope hor, the policemen in your opinion are lazy, but not you.........

dude, don't 鸡蛋里挑骨头

in your example, traffic was still moving, and not blocked. , see the

these peeps are law enforcers, not your slaves. there is already an appropriate agency which handles this, which is NParks which is highlighted by the forumers here.

im not stylo milo, but neither am i a civil servant so why should i move it? if the appropriate agency fails to do it promptly, shouldn't another public agency, eg TP or SCDF clear it? instead of civilians like me who have no proper equipment. fair or not you say?

i truely agree with what you say!

Npark or whatever authority where got 24hr stand by cut tree one. Yesterday strong winds was unexpected and happened near midnight. And broken tree branches also happened at many locations. Cut them some slack! if not, you move it lor

Cut some slack? Cut some slack on my road tax/ERP can or not? I move ah? You pay me is it? Talk c--k sing song play mahjong!

I started this thread not to complain and get sympathy from some of you ignorant, obnoxious and selfish monkeys out there, it is actually to try and find out which agency besides Npark is responsible for this unfortunate incident so that I can include them in my letter to Npark as well as ST forum, trying my best to ensure that no repeat of it will occur for the smoothness of daily traffic to work. hence those with unconstructive comments pls just keep them to yourselves or in short shut up. and very much appreciated!

Edited by Urns

READ somewhere that the trees are actually feng shui. it is a must for singapore to prosper. Singapore from space looks like a crab, trees makes it green which means it is still alive.

what crock [lipsrsealed]

tell that to the person who will eventually get speared by a branch falling thru the windscreen. i remember TNP got some lady driver had a branch spear her front passenger seat. damn lucky cos her sons were with her, but they always sit behind [sweatdrop]

Chill guys [sweatdrop] No one like to be caught in a jam. The necessary authorities might be not quick enough but there are fallen trees everywhere so how to expect them to clear everything between the few hours before peak hour traffic.

stop making excuses for them. then again, maybe they shd hire u for their PR.

tree falling across expressway in the wee hours, surely they can clear it in at most two hours, just clear to the shoulder to avoid jamming the morning rush hour further.

everywhere else have smaller branches and twigs, but at least still can pass through. expressway blockage really unacceptable. not the first time i've seen it happened and i haven't exactly been driving for decades

Don't plant any huge trees at major roads, so less headaches.

another person with brain [thumbsup]

i did think about the trees lining the expressways. totally no purpose other than to 'look nice'. i'm not saying this for fun or to slam the authorities, i think they need to do a rethink and remove the trees.

plant more in parks, between HDB blocks (where the trees may actually help, and must consider danger from branches also). these are good places

whether God told them or not i don't farking care. neither am I complaining to God. i only expect the roads to be free from all these obstacles when i travel on the roads given the amount of tax i pay. so up your bloody ass. knnbccb.

you are a sad sad man/woman.

Dunno who is the real talk c--k sing song ppl here. Just because people disagree with you, you have to curse father curse mother. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. We agree to disagree, that's all I'm saying. I just cant fathom people who start to curse the authorities, after a unforseen mini-disaster. Even if you know NParks should be the one clearing, but so many trees and branches fell that day, and how much manpower do they have to clear all within such a short notice? Just cut them the slack. And like I say, if you cant wait, just get down your car and start to help. If not, just lan lan wait till reinforcement arrives. I will definitely wait. [rolleyes]

This is a lame thread. Look at the title, does TS have any links or pics or anything on that claim? Yet he/she have the audacity to wanna write to ST forums? Reports of fallen trees were island wide bcos of the freak storm. If only that particular road that is blocked by a fallen tree, maybe TS can suggest they are slow to react but how to be lazy when it happens island wide across sg?

Can mods close this thread? It's going nowhere.