Altivo 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 (edited) THE EDITORIAL TEAM LIVE from Suntec, AWARE EGM on 2 May 2009 Posted by wayangparty on May 2, 2009 LIVE from Suntec, AWARE EGM 9.30pm: The EGM has ended proper. Freelancers and associate bloggers, please email us your reports, reports and audio recordings latest by 2pm, 3 May 2009. 9.20pm: Constance Singam thanked everybody present for their support. There is joy and ebullience in the air. 9.16pm: Constance Singam asked the audience to give the outgoing exco a round of applause which they gamely obliged. 9.15pm: New exco appeared. Josie Lau: Edited May 4, 2009 by Altivo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 (edited) Thio Su Mien machiam acting like a person from a high class society leh, a socialite...KNS....very typical rich auntie who only see things that is above the cloud and nothing below the cloud..... someone talked abt equality leh...then why dun they serve NS??? we heard stories that when NSmen go for their reservist, their femail management/colleagues KPKB, when NSF serving full-time, their gfs run off with someone...but did men complain them that once the women is pregnant, their workload is reduce drastically, their frequent MCs due to pregnancy, their maternity leave...all in all, 9mths of pregnancy and more than 3 mths of maternity leave which probably effectively out of action for almost a yr, did most men KPKB....these females want equality yet dun want to serve the country...a bunch of pampered princesses and old hags.... based on various reports, apparently lots of christians want their religion to become the world supremacy religion of all....i think this is very very disturbing and someone should do something abt it to stamp out such thought and ambition.... Edited May 4, 2009 by Help1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 based on various reports, apparently lots of christians want their religion to become the world supremacy religion of all....i think this is very very disturbing and someone should do something abt it to stamp out such thought and ambition.... Its a number game, even different churches r competing for members. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Religious sensitivity does not precludes religion from being discussed or debated on, especially when the very same religion is the basis of a series of homophobic and disturbing allegations and actions in the public sphere of a secularist society. Singapore isn't the Vatican City, you know? But more to the point, you are missing the fact that this wasn't really about Christianity, but the acts of a few extremist Christians from a church with an actively homophobic stance hijacking, or steeplejacking a NGO to further their own religious agenda UNDER THE GUISE of a NGO. All of which smacks of dishonesty, militancy and a lack of integrity, making these very same christians and the very same church which seems to have sanctioned and even in a way organized these actions fair game for RATIONAL and LOGICAL debate. If Christians rather not have their religion or religious organizations discussed or debated by the public (who might not take kindly to their views or faith at all), then don't attempt to impose their values and faith on a secular society, especially in such a sneaky and dishonest way. Fair enough? just to clarify. i was referring to a few postings by a few individuals whose debates or discussions were putting Christianity in a negative light, not the general discussion of this thread. Putting any religion in a negative light, whether through discussion or debate, is not in line with our nation's policy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 The problem is not with believing your religion is the only true religion. Anyone can believe what they want. The problem is when you try to impose your religion/ views over others. Personally, i thought that was what happened with the previous NG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 The problem is not with believing your religion is the only true religion. Anyone can believe what they want. The problem is when you try to impose your religion/ views over others. Personally, i thought that was what happened with the previous NG. Have you not heard of Evangelism? He said to them, "Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned. - Mark 16:15-16 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, - Matthew 28:19 How can you sleep at night, knowing you are not doing what you should do, going against the Word of God? The Church does not allow a "maybe" interpretation of the Bible. Its only a Yes, or a No. Do it, and Don't do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkSide Neutral Newbie May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 THE EDITORIAL TEAM LIVE from Suntec, AWARE EGM on 2 May 2009 Posted by wayangparty on May 2, 2009 LIVE from Suntec, AWARE EGM 9.30pm: The EGM has ended proper. Freelancers and associate bloggers, please email us your reports, reports and audio recordings latest by 2pm, 3 May 2009. 9.20pm: Constance Singam thanked everybody present for their support. There is joy and ebullience in the air. 9.16pm: Constance Singam asked the audience to give the outgoing exco a round of applause which they gamely obliged. 9.15pm: New exco appeared. Josie Lau: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 (edited) Have you not heard of Evangelism? He said to them, "Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned. - Mark 16:15-16 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, - Matthew 28:19 How can you sleep at night, knowing you are not doing what you should do, going against the Word of God? The Church does not allow a "maybe" interpretation of the Bible. Its only a Yes, or a No. Do it, and Don't do it. Well... if you put it that way.... then DON'T do it. If you want to believe that I will be condemned... then so be it Your belief is yours, wholly, entirely and only yours alone ....leave me to mine Edited May 4, 2009 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 The problem is not with believing your religion is the only true religion. Anyone can believe what they want. The problem is when you try to impose your religion/ views over others. Personally, i thought that was what happened with the previous NG. Agree. I feel it is important in believing 100% of one's chosen religion, anything less...better not believe in it. But like you said, it is not right to force one's faith onto another against their will. Having said that, I don't find the previous NG has done any of that sort. They didn't even have a chance to do anything...other than fencing off allegations, etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 This whole AWARE saga reminds me of a history...that is Japan (the former new guards) sneaked a stealth attack on US Pearl Harbour with a short victory. At that time the sleepy and complacent US (just like the old guards) believe everything is in order...then came the attack which has woken the bear and the rest is history..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Sort of similar...except that Japan's attack on Pearl Habour was 'illegal' and the AWARE takeover was legal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laserjet Neutral Newbie May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Note that all forumers should respect other religions in your discussion threads. Comments that are slanderous or defamatory against all religions will be deleted, and the poster will be warned. Some threads in this topic have already been deleted due to violation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Note that all forumers should respect other religions in your discussion threads. Comments that are slanderous or defamatory against all religions will be deleted, and the poster will be warned. Some threads in this topic have already been deleted due to violation. Upz for you Mod.... that was qucik and timely... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 4, 2009 Author Share May 4, 2009 (edited) Nice and timely effort by Mod. Edited May 4, 2009 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Have you not heard of Evangelism? He said to them, "Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned. - Mark 16:15-16 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, - Matthew 28:19 How can you sleep at night, knowing you are not doing what you should do, going against the Word of God? The Church does not allow a "maybe" interpretation of the Bible. Its only a Yes, or a No. Do it, and Don't do it. i don't see where in those verses says we should impose our views on others. Preaching and imposing are two different things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 I think it is most likely that Sturtles was being satirical in his response, people. Don't take everything so literally - unless of course if he meant it word for word, then he's not exactly the sharpest knife in the drawer, eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Agree. I feel it is important in believing 100% of one's chosen religion, anything less...better not believe in it. But like you said, it is not right to force one's faith onto another against their will. Having said that, I don't find the previous NG has done any of that sort. They didn't even have a chance to do anything...other than fencing off allegations, etc... you can say the previous NG imposed the anti gay view on the organisation by wrestling power from a 'neutral on gay' party. tats about the only thing they did but its bad enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 We are more than animals in more than one way. We think, we laugh at ourselves, we sacrifice for higher causes, we worship and we create. This is no arrogance; this is reality; this is humanity and some may say this is forward evolution too. So why advocate a step back? Why do you keep insisting on the right to the animalistic part of man, to what end will that be? That still doesn't detracts from the fact that we are still animals in essence. Like I said, we might be more evolved, advanced and intelligent - but that doesn't turns us into some sort of living beings created for a special purpose or design in mind. Just like how dogs, cats, horses, pigs, birds, dinosaurs, what-else-have-you exists on Earth just because they do, having survived the test of evolution - just like us. Being smarter and more advanced doesn't means we aren't animals. it simply means we're a more advanced form of animals. Nobody is advocating a step back, it's all in your mind telling you that humans are special and distinct from all other living organism - because? And where was I "insisting on the right to the animalistic part of man" in the first place, kindly point that out to me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...