Proton Exora

Neokn

4552612[/url]']

Well said Sis Meganut!

Yeh, one of the consideration is also I usually have to make 2 trips to Malacca & KL annually cuz my wife is a malaysian... Figured that Proton car will be lesser of a target for car thieves... And makign a road trip with yound kids can be quite a nightmare... Now, the exora has got DVD to keep them entertained and the aircon on the second and third rows are definitely a plus point.

I almost got a Hyundai Elantra before I found out I got twins. cuz with the price and the features, really hard to resist. After I found out my wife was expecting twins, got quite a headache to decide which car to buy to fit my young family in... until one day, i was on the road and saw an exora... i remembered i was commenting "Who would buy such a car"... until i read up about it online and decided that this is just the car for me! From then on, no looking back... I went to showroom... my family like the car. The only gamble I took back then was to bet that COE will drop since it was mid of June... When it didn't and went up slightly, i decided not to wait and got my COE... Very excited now!

Planned many trips to make over the weekend with my new car! :)

You are right about proton car being lesser target. Every time I go back Melaka to visit my

in-law. I never fear when going out or park my exora for meals and shopping cos no body

even bothers or

look at my exora cos some many already on m'sian roads. That's the plus point. :D

4552612[/url]']

Well said Sis Meganut!

Yeh, one of the consideration is also I usually have to make 2 trips to Malacca & KL annually cuz my wife is a malaysian... Figured that Proton car will be lesser of a target for car thieves... And makign a road trip with yound kids can be quite a nightmare... Now, the exora has got DVD to keep them entertained and the aircon on the second and third rows are definitely a plus point.

I almost got a Hyundai Elantra before I found out I got twins. cuz with the price and the features, really hard to resist. After I found out my wife was expecting twins, got quite a headache to decide which car to buy to fit my young family in... until one day, i was on the road and saw an exora... i remembered i was commenting "Who would buy such a car"... until i read up about it online and decided that this is just the car for me! From then on, no looking back... I went to showroom... my family like the car. The only gamble I took back then was to bet that COE will drop since it was mid of June... When it didn't and went up slightly, i decided not to wait and got my COE... Very excited now!

Planned many trips to make over the weekend with my new car! :)

You are right about proton car being lesser target. Every time I go back Melaka to visit my

in-law. I never fear when going out or park my exora for meals and shopping cos no body

even bothers or look at my exora cos some many already on m'sian roads.

That's the plus point. :D

Edited by Panhard

Hi Panhard, What about the Bluetooth control on the steering.

Does it also work with this player to pickup the Phone?

I done the installation last time at Nilai and all the controls work except the Phone pickup in the steering control.

Now this time around I used a Pioneer Din DVD player and had to use additional module to connect to Steering wheel controls.

But then also cannot pickup the phone using the Steering control. So now using that button as Mute.

Now need to either press the receive button in Phone/HU or need to set the Auto Answer option.

Edited by Mandrew

Folks! Driving my EB CFE for second day now! Love every ride I took in it...

Not much grouses on the call. The polishing by TTS quite sucks... got lines and all... but anyway, these are cosmetic so I dun really care.

The petrol tank cover was a bit misaligned (not flushed with the body)... noted down on the form and was informed that they will align it during 1k servicing.

Been playing with the various aspects of the car... One thing that was really strange is the radio... Although I preset the channels, there was once that the whole unit got reset and all the programming was gone... and then there was twice when the radio just off by itself while driving... i suspect short circuit somewhere... will highlight it during first servicing...

Other than that, I absolutely love the car! Pick up was good, power good, ride smooth! I call it my "Ang Kong Kong" Princess... if number come out lagi good! hahahaha.... [laugh]

Hi Brother, I noticed that the rpm for my CFE always stays around 3000 (abt 3250) when I accelarate in Parking mode.

Is that the same case in yours also?

I thought it should increase as we accelarate...

No issues for the pulling power....

So not sure whether I should bring to SC for checking....

Pls check and let me know how it is in your car...

During my visit to Melaka decided to get the DVD & roof monitor.

Taking advantage of the good exchange rate.

Cost: DVD RM480 , Roof monitor RM260 , Rear camera RM180

Labour charge RM120.

After trade-in old set paid RM950. S$(below 400) :D

The shop at Melaka that was having the hari raya promotion.Very good workmanship.

Hi Panhard

Noticed you have a device clipped onto your driver side sunshade. I suppose it is to draw out hot air when you park under the sun? Is it effective and can it be used if I have window visors? Where did you buy and how much was it?

Bro, I do not notice such an issue... think it's best you send it to SC for servicing.

Btw, does your audio head unit auto reset? (i.e. all the programming lost and have to set up all the stations again..)

even bothers or

look at my exora cos some many already on m'sian roads. That's the plus point. :D

But one thing does differentiate between your Exora and others... the SG number plate! Do still take precaution whenever you are in Malaysia. Do not be complacent.

Labour charge RM120.

The shop at Melaka that was having the hari raya promotion.Very good workmanship.

congrat bro!! your kids will love you more! heheh [laugh]

But one thing does differentiate between your Exora and others... the SG number plate! Do still take precaution whenever you are in Malaysia. Do not be complacent.

there are two type of car thieves.. one aim for the branded ones.. and one will aim for the 'cheap' and easy to sell type like

the proton. in Msia, they steal msia made car, change plate to Msia plate and drive at thier Kampung area as mode of transport.. no one will notice...

so as said by bro TVT. Do not be complacent. always good to put a wheel log or the under accelaration pedal log.

i fix that.. there are to type where the different is one can still start your engine and the other one you unable to start the engine when the lock is pulled. i got that.. but can't remember how much i got it with installation. if i'm not wrong its RM350, but i beleve can get cheaper now.

Edited by GoofRider

yup dun be complacent but just take necessary caution and shld be safe... car theft happens everywhere and anywhere including Singapore... car theives are most active in KL and Penang so when you go to this two places be extra careful...

about our sg plate and msia plate protons and peroduas... there is no difference in it when the car thief strikes, if they want to steal they will... but there is a 10%, higher chance of them whacking a msia plate first then sg plate cos less obvious when they take off in the car as there are more msian plates car to spot than sg plate so by stealing a sg plate chances of being spotted is slightly higher when police want to catch.. also u can check the safety features of exported exora and local exora the msia exora has lesser safety features than exported set cos exported exora comes by default more safety features, walk to any proton shlwflat and they will tell you exora got basic model all the way to high end model... (i own a proton saga and a myvi in nsia btw) however sg plate, there is a 10% higher chance of robbers robbing you cos sg = rich... they probably rob you more than stealing your car... but some of the robbers may not want to rob you cos they will think you are poorer than a person driving a jap cars... thats the impression the msians get to be honest... alot of msia mechanic knows that a Vios cost RM90k while a Vios in sg cost sgd almost 60k in 2008... and they thought proton saga and perodua kelisa cost 10-20k... when i tell then its cost 38k @and 46k they are shocked... so even msian thinks that sg proton n perodua are cheap, in fact i feel very happy when they think so cos chances of being a target is reduce... but does that mean we go ard flaunting our wealth? no pls dun... dun wear jewellery and watches if u can and wear ugly clothes with slippers be humble at all times....

there have been findings that when a person gets robbed its normally the person's attitude and behaviour first over the type of car they drive... why so many cars on the road but some people are more suay than others? its the lousy attitude that people have... some people are just more cocky than others, usually they offended someone unknowningly and the someone send some thuds to go after the person... except jb ok, cos jb alot of times people get robbed cos of druggies they rob their own msians too...

oh i found out from a msian mechanic that steering wheel lock is a waste of money, it does not deter a thief from stealing.. it only slow the bugger down by 10-20secs depending how experience it is... it takes less than 10 secs for some thief to break the lock... unfortunately, steering wheel lock were first largely manufactured in msia in the late 90s... plus msian thief are world class.. atm machine also can steal hahaha

Edited by Meganut

Hi Panhard, What about the Bluetooth control on the steering.

Does it also work with this player to pickup the Phone?

I done the installation last time at Nilai and all the controls work except the Phone pickup in the steering control.

Now this time around I used a Pioneer Din DVD player and had to use additional module to connect to Steering wheel controls.

But then also cannot pickup the phone using the Steering control. So now using that button as Mute.

Now need to either press the receive button in Phone/HU or need to set the Auto Answer option.

only thru touch screen on HU/phone.

shop say most other aftermarket sets also the same.

Edited by Panhard

Hi Panhard

Noticed you have a device clipped onto your driver side sunshade. I suppose it is to draw out hot air when you park under the sun? Is it effective and can it be used if I have window visors? Where did you buy and how much was it?

its actually the casing for the freshener & not what you mentioned.....

No offense. With this price there are a lot other car to choose from n what motivate u for going with Exora.

Me too also got a hard time to decide between Camry or 3er n eventually go with bimmer looking at the high COE. Frankly speaking I still like my previous Camry but too bad the car is reaching it 5th year soon so need to change.

Bro...I think you might have lost touch with the current new car prices.

For the price of the Exora, there are not much cars ( not to mention MPVs) to chose from...

The Exora is the only car that offers huge space and decent enough power and specs at that price.

Edited by Boleh

Folks! Driving my EB CFE for second day now! Love every ride I took in it...

Not much grouses on the call. The polishing by TTS quite sucks... got lines and all... but anyway, these are cosmetic so I dun really care.

The petrol tank cover was a bit misaligned (not flushed with the body)... noted down on the form and was informed that they will align it during 1k servicing.

Been playing with the various aspects of the car... One thing that was really strange is the radio... Although I preset the channels, there was once that the whole unit got reset and all the programming was gone... and then there was twice when the radio just off by itself while driving... i suspect short circuit somewhere... will highlight it during first servicing...

Other than that, I absolutely love the car! Pick up was good, power good, ride smooth! I call it my "Ang Kong Kong" Princess... if number come out lagi good! hahahaha.... [laugh]

Congrats on getting your car!!

You and your family will love the huge space!

Over the National Day, I just did a short trip to Kota Tinggi with wife and daughter. Stayed one night, did the firefly cruise, went to see the ostrich and crocodile farm at Desaru before coming back.

Drive was comfortable, mostly cruising at about 90 - 120km/h. At one point brought it to 150km/h, but could smell some burning smell (think engine is still new), so quickly slowed down to 110km/h.

Wife and daughter enjoyed the trip, watched some Barney dvd, wife said "Wow! We have a store room at the back !"

On the way back, stopped at JB to shop for groceries and bought a DIY bookshelf measuring 1.8m. No problem, just fold down 2nd & 3rd row left seats and the car just swallowed it up!!

At Kota Tinggi, installed the window visors for RM100.

With this new car, wife and me are planning more trips up north. I might do a trip to Thailand next year...hee hee!

Bro, I do not notice such an issue... think it's best you send it to SC for servicing.

Btw, does your audio head unit auto reset? (i.e. all the programming lost and have to set up all the stations again..)

Oophs, the first modification I've done after receiving my Car is to replace the HU with the 2 Din Player.

So didn't play around much in the Orginal Clarion Head Unit.

I'll bring my car to Larkin SC to check as here this problem maybe new to them.... and it may take longer to troubleshoot...

so as said by bro TVT. Do not be complacent. always good to put a wheel log or the under accelaration pedal log.

i fix that.. there are to type where the different is one can still start your engine and the other one you unable to start the engine when the lock is pulled. i got that.. but can't remember how much i got it with installation. if i'm not wrong its RM350, but i beleve can get cheaper now.

Wow! What kind of anti-thef car lock can cost RM350? Do you install it DIY or need a WS to do it?

oh i found out from a msian mechanic that steering wheel lock is a waste of money, it does not deter a thief from stealing.. it only slow the bugger down by 10-20secs depending how experience it is... it takes less than 10 secs for some thief to break the lock... unfortunately, steering wheel lock were first largely manufactured in msia in the late 90s... plus msian thief are world class.. atm machine also can steal hahaha

Don't scare me leh, Sis! I am using a steering wheel lock for my humble Savvy lor.

Actually I believe if a professional car thief wants to steal a car, no anti-thef device can stop him. But for those not so professional ones, the anti-thef device will (at least) deter him to make his move and to think twice, becos it require more effort for him to steal the entire car away.

Labour charge RM120.

Actually is it good for the eyes if we watch a show (eg movie) while on the move?