Robo 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 the front disc brakes looks upgraded already. tats good. a pity i didnt meet u earlier cuz i'm toying wif the idea of selling my car again. lolx rear also running on disc. gdgd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Thanks Kyojin!! Actually its funny cos I recall seeing you selling your white Starlet and it was something I was really lusting after.....really drooled over it hahaha But words of wisdom from you man! Totally true and noted. Before this purchase, I was driving an 09 Odyssesy (now can give wife liao ehhe), before that CRV, before that Murano....so you can see I am used to nice big tough cars with alot of protection so felt rather vulnerable at first in the small starlet...better not got into any accident in this one (TOUCH WOOD!) U know how it is when you get a new toy, you want to do so many things!! I have to try very hard to stop myself from going to Autobacs to buy stuff for my new toy ehheheh......guess my priority now is to get the mechanicals down first and then move on to cosmetics.... Some of my current wish list:- 1. Weber Carb (DCNF) 2. 3E engine 3. GT Quad lamps 4. Recaro seats (red) 5. Koni or Tein springs 6. Koni shocks 7. Tom's body kit (drool) 8. White dials Dash 9. Momo steering wheel (red accents) 10. TRD or Momo gear knob (with red preferably on it) Anyone got any of the above, I wld be grateful if you cld let me know your price etc. Off to see Saber today!! Get his expert opinion and advice on what I ought to do with this new baby....must remember Kyoshin's advice tho' heheh recaro seats starletgt selling mah.. check with him. 3E+weber? mai tu liao. 4E straight! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 30, 2009 Author Share September 30, 2009 (edited) some of the items on my car: gt kits quadlights front gt brakes rear disc brakes front & rear strut bars front & rear anti roll bars UR room bar hotbits semi-flow exhaust 4-2-1 extractor weber (wif air con vaccum modded) wif k&n air filter 2xRecaros (think is SR2 or something) rear gt seat original power windows (all 4) electric mirrors white dials short shifter by Saber TOMS steering +power steering i think got lighten flywheel also..cant remember. Edited September 30, 2009 by So_nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 30, 2009 Author Share September 30, 2009 recaro seats starletgt selling mah.. check with him. 3E+weber? mai tu liao. 4E straight! 4E must eh tahan hian bonnet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 4E must eh tahan hian bonnet. hehe.... as long as guai guai dont anyhow vroom vroom den i guess should be ok.. save petrol somemore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Thanks for the lead Robo! Yeah I am already in touch with David..gonna meet up with him soon on a full GT Quad deal (tho' it seems abit too much for all of it as don't really need bonnet etc). 4E?? Wahhh.......drooling again....can someone here tell me what is the penalty if one gets caught for such "upgrading" ah? I also recall for old cars, need to send to STA inspection every year right? Wld they be able to detect if u performed this mod? I heard from some people that usually they won't be able to see the diff, save that with the "mod" the engine just appears to be higher than the original. While I wld like to do it, if the penalty is very severe than better to stick with what I have lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Guys not sure if this the politically correct thing to do but someone advertised on the Garage site the following:- 1) Front Strut Bar - $50 2) Front Anti Roll Bar - $70 3) Rear Strut Bar - $50 * all three above - $120 4) Tom's Flywheel - $300 5) SU Carb - $180 6) Malerie Coil - $200 7) 4 Door Power Window - $250 I really dunno what a Flywheel is or a Mallory coil. Do u think I shd get these at these prices? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 (edited) Guys not sure if this the politically correct thing to do but someone advertised on the Garage site the following:- 1) Front Strut Bar - $50 2) Front Anti Roll Bar - $70 3) Rear Strut Bar - $50 * all three above - $120 4) Tom's Flywheel - $300 5) SU Carb - $180 6) Malerie Coil - $200 7) 4 Door Power Window - $250 I really dunno what a Flywheel is or a Mallory coil. Do u think I shd get these at these prices? Thanks. i think i know who the seller is. his prices are more or less unbeatable all conditions are good Edited September 30, 2009 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 for flywheel once u change u get faster quicker acceleration. malarie coil too. tom's fly is very rare nowadays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry2883614 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Hi bro ididbobe, Welcome to the club. I am also a newbie here. So far only met starletgt at Saber's workshop. Nice Starlet you have got there. I think 5.5K is a good deal with all the stuffs you have like GT bonnet, bumpers, rear light cluster, and not to mention with the upgraded brakes. After looking at yours, I felt like I got a damm lousy deal..... I bought mine 3 months ago at 6K. Is a 97% stock car except with a spoiler behind. Engines wise is stock too with the "frying pan" filter. Did my first service after I got the car and found out the there are some white smoke comng out from the exhaust, undercarrige have some "knocking" sound and a little bit of oil leaking also. Will check what's wrong during my next servicing. Suspension is due for change and my RPM is not accurate too. Sometimes, really feels like scraping the car..... but on the other hand, have develop some kind of love with it although I just had it for 3 months only. Starlet is really a good and fun car to drive if you take good care of it. Just like some of the Bros says, take good care of the car and the car will take good care of you. As for the Mallory coil, I think is a performance high tension coil. It give out more current to the spark plug cable hence increase the spark of the spark plugs. I think so lah. Used to have 1 in my Charade 12 years ago but I threw it away after I changed my car to a fuel injected model in 1998. I thought cannot use liao. Haiz...... I dunno much about cams. Sorry cannot help you out. Sorry for my long winded post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackaccent 3rd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Hi Bro Butcher_hoe, Welcome to the club. Wow! U r having such a rare Starlet. Most of them are scrapped in the reign of June 2000 if I am correct. Can't wait to see you post up your ride. I owned a 1981 Starlet in 1996 (my first car) and sold it after 9months. Until now, I still regretted it cos the car is quite powerful. Enjoy your ride..... Hehehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Butcher_hoe Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 This is my old but very very reliable and trusted EP70..not pretty on the outside but I'm loving her very very very much! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whyeme Clutched October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 looks very well maintained brudder! Show us your engine bay & interior pics too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Butcher_hoe Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Ok, will take photos later tonight and upload them.. Engine bay not much of things inside..pretty stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whyeme Clutched October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Ok, will take photos later tonight and upload them.. Engine bay not much of things inside..pretty stock stock is the bestest! then can do many not-stock evil things to make it more fun! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronleow Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Suddenly bursting to life! Meet-ups please!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Butcher_hoe Neutral Newbie October 2, 2009 Share October 2, 2009 anyways..I don't think I'll be doing much changes to the car itself considering that she only has 4.5 years to go before scrapping Btw..I didn't manage to take photos last night, will do so ASAP once I've taken the photos over the weekend ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...