Show your starlet!

So_nice

but starlet no matter how u mod there is still an limit to it. had a sprint wif an integra today..went over 1xxkm/h he still poking behind. no choice let him pass. lol but i think he had to rev pretty hard in order to overtake. can see all the smoke from his exhaust. lol.

i can feel the need for a SiR! [nosebleed][nosebleed][nosebleed]

Hmmm, whats a SiR?

Anyways, for Starlets, I don't know, generally if compared to vehicles of its class, its definately one of the top performers in my opinion, though I'm not someone who races or someone who 'chiats' people on the road, but from what I've heard and seen, our starlets are definately great performers.

For my starlet, I have not done any modifications to the car since I took over it, I'm not exactally sure about the previous owner though, the exhaust does sound louder than usual...maybe you guys could take a look when we meet up [blush]

I've got a few questions I hope you guys could help me out here,

1) I still don't quite understand about the engines, you guys have mentioned 1E, 2E up to 5E, whats the difference?

2) I'm in need of new wiper blades, any particular brand you guys reconmend? I'll be going to Bukit Batok's Autobacs this Sunday...

3) Generally, which engine oil do you guy use? Is there a particular grade?

Will be taking photos of my engine bay tomorrow morning, will upload it and let you guys take a look.. [:)]

Considering the fact that his 2.0 iVtec to your engine, not bad already la.... what we pay is what we get. Want to smoke him? 4E lor. [laugh]

but starlet no matter how u mod there is still an limit to it. had a sprint wif an integra today..went over 1xxkm/h he still poking behind. no choice let him pass. lol but i think he had to rev pretty hard in order to overtake. can see all the smoke from his exhaust. lol.

i can feel the need for a SiR! [nosebleed][nosebleed][nosebleed]

yup no need SIR

4e should do the job esp if you lighten then car like crazy [sly]

oopsss....sorry [blush]

pls all drive carefully ya?

every human life is precious! [thumbsup]

hahaha very true. my lao pok non vvt/vvti/vtec can make him kui to go past me i felt is not bad already. anyway the car is still willing to go but seeing the numbers on my speedo tells me its not worth it.

but i'm not dreaming the impossible lah. i noe the moment he kui vtec i sure smell smoke.

Lighten an already light car is also not good. Had a sprint from NTU down Jalan Bahar to end of Lim Chu Kang, and several times, the car felt like flying off the top of the little hills ahead of Sungei Gedong Camp. And my car does come fitted with rear ARBs.

Car felt floaty at times at high speeds and didn't inspire that much of confidence as compared to a heavier car.

Even more power from a 4E-FTE? Heh Heh....

Yeah, Life is Precious guys =)

Lighten an already light car is also not good. Had a sprint from NTU down Jalan Bahar to end of Lim Chu Kang, and several times, the car felt like flying off the top of the little hills ahead of Sungei Gedong Camp. And my car does come fitted with rear ARBs.

Car felt floaty at times at high speeds and didn't inspire that much of confidence as compared to a heavier car.

Even more power from a 4E-FTE? Heh Heh....

Yeah, Life is Precious guys =)

yup can be terrifyingly floaty wif 4efte

or maybe my balls not that big in the first place [laugh]

Ok..took some photos of my EP70..here goes...

IMG_2764.jpg

IMG_2765.jpg

IMG_2767.jpg

IMG_2768.jpg

IMG_2772.jpg

IMG_2773.jpg

My right front rim cover is missing.....think it came off when I was driving..anyone has any lobang to find that particular cover back??

Sweet ! Butcher :) BTW, perhaps u cld check Ebay for the hub cover ...saw something similar while searching for Enkei rims -

Ebay site

BTW, would any of you know whats the difference with Rims that state "COMPETITON ONLY"? Issit so that the wheels can only be used for track and are unsuitable for street use? Was looking at some sweet rims see pics hehehe

post-53191-1254709663_thumb.jpg

Hey..hmm searching over eBay is like a very very tough process.....thanks anyways for the tip.

I'm just thinking, what are some legal modifications that I can add on to improve the performance alittle?

Hahah good question Joe and at times trick question -_- . As far as I hv been given to understand, it wld appear that Singapore is really strict to the point of being absurd....and any hard modification apart from the "light" stuff like adding a fuel catalyst like broquet etc wld be considered illegal. I have been told that even changing to HID lights is illegal?? Weird!

I am sure the Bro's here will know the exact parameters of what is technically allowed and what is not. Pls elaborate guys! :)

I just went for STA inspection last Fri and was told by the nice inspector that my 4-2-1 extractor was illegal?? He said that I need to affix a catalytic converter?? Not sure what that was about but they passed me regardless.

BTW noticed that you got no rear seats? I dunno if you are looking for any or for that matter whether Gaz is willing to sell you his (he is gonna scrap his car) but perhaps you could ask him if he wants to sell as well?

[laugh] My rear seats are in Malaysia for cover fitting, the owner said that he would fix up the springs in my seats and that he'll need more time with it. Because I was in a rush for time, I didn't think much of it and felt that its fine to leave it there so that my next trip in, he can finish up my front seats within 4-5 hours..

Share something with you guys, at first I didn't think much about leaving my seats in Malaysia, but after I came back, I started worrying whether he'll have any hanky panky business to do with my seats (E.g: Drugs and whatever restricted items). I dont wanna come home and end up with smashed windows and torn seats the next day.

Though recommended by a close friend and generally the shop and owner looks pretty decent..I still worry...

As for customs, I've decided to declare for a peace of mind when I exit this Saturday, will let them know that I've changed new seat covers and get them to do a check (which also means I have to pay tax for the new seats [bigcry]

I will be entering this Saturday to collect my seats and to finish up the front seats...I'll update you guys on the new interior photos this weekend when I'm back...can't wait for the new look~ whoo hooo~ :D

Oh btw, what model is Gaz driving? If he's scrapping his car real soon, I would be interested in the carboot arms...

My carboot arms have no 'strength' in them liao...cannot hold steady position for more than 3 seconds..the moment you let go, count to 3, the boot will auto shut liao....

Oh btw, what model is Gaz driving? If he's scrapping his car real soon, I would be interested in the carboot arms...

My carboot arms have no 'strength' in them liao...cannot hold steady position for more than 3 seconds..the moment you let go, count to 3, the boot will auto shut liao....

his is a ep80..

Hahah good question Joe and at times trick question -_- . As far as I hv been given to understand, it wld appear that Singapore is really strict to the point of being absurd....and any hard modification apart from the "light" stuff like adding a fuel catalyst like broquet etc wld be considered illegal. I have been told that even changing to HID lights is illegal?? Weird!

I am sure the Bro's here will know the exact parameters of what is technically allowed and what is not. Pls elaborate guys! :)

I just went for STA inspection last Fri and was told by the nice inspector that my 4-2-1 extractor was illegal?? He said that I need to affix a catalytic converter?? Not sure what that was about but they passed me regardless.

BTW noticed that you got no rear seats? I dunno if you are looking for any or for that matter whether Gaz is willing to sell you his (he is gonna scrap his car) but perhaps you could ask him if he wants to sell as well?

HID modifications is ILLEGAL everywhere. simply because it's a road hazard more than anything else. it needs to have auto-leveling to prevent blinding other road users at night. this is why EU has a legislation for this and why only high-end cars adopted HID earlier on because of the cost involved in the mechanisms. even now, HID comes with a premium over Xenon headlights. don't be mistaken that bright means good.

4-2-1 is aftermarket and hence illegal. the originals would have a heat shield on them. i don't believe the Starlets came with a catalytic converter... even if they did, it'd be totally worn out by now!

for the trusty starlet, some of the legal mods you can get are a Weber carb, intake filter, body kit, GT/EP82 brake kit, suspension components (a lot can be done). this is sufficient enough to get a very fun ride - not fast or quick - just fun to drive. smaller wheels/tires make for faster acceleration, but you give up a bit on steering response/feel. i would stay at 14" or 15". you can get better throttle response by lightening the flywheel (at the expense of driveablility) and get a new clutch.

you'd be surprised how much more lively your car will be with good maintenance - spark plugs, spark plug cables, filter cleaning, oil change, gear oil change, etc. "de-carboning" the engine also seemed to help some, but may not be advisable if you haven't rebuilt your engine.