Who thinks the new Mazda3 pricing is a joke ?

Darkblue

Aiyo.... Mazda is oredi well known for high profit margin AD so only for the niche market sector or the few super rich or those who know nothing about high depreciation will sign on the dotted line. When it is time to sell or scrap, then cry father cry mother..... If you die die must have Mazda, then wait for a few years in the resale market, dirt cheap liao!!!!

Mazda car do not fetch good resale value. [sweatdrop]

$90k is way too crazy, which make Conti very worth to buy.

Anyway i am happy with what i pay for. [drivingcar]

IMHO, as long as one is comfortable & 'Song' to pay for it ... , Got kena 'Carrot' or whatsoever is secondary [flowerface]

If inorder to buy one's ideal car really must think so much i.e agent's markup ... etc then mai as well buy Kar Chia .... [drivingcar]

Not pin pointing to anyone here [flowerface]

My view point is as long as one can tahan the monthly installment or can afford to pay full for it, then just proceed on with it .... Think too much, brain cells mati liao still nothing is done [rolleyes]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

The 10 people here complaining about Mazda3 price are obviously not Mazda's Target market, bc the 100 people not in here bitching about Mazda's pricing are already booking (or booked) their 2010 Mazda 3.

Mazda made a tonne of money selling the outgoing Mazda3 ( yea, its price 5 years ago was also skyhigh compared to its other MIJ couterparts ) - so obviously Mazda SG knows there is a huge market willing to pay for a "Conti Feel car, but scared to buy Conti" group.

So most people who buy the Mazda3, buy on emotion (read: Drives like a Focus) and now the new model looks waaay better then Focus - so of course it makes sense!

The profit of MM for my facelift Mazda 5 which I bought last years is about $10k - $12k, is it a lot?

As Mzrmazda3 says.. so long you are happy with your choice and satisfied with the drive.. and have not trouble paying for it... why bother whether it's a lot or not...

So what if the German made Zafira is cheaper and have better FC than the Mazda 5... if you prefer the way M5 makes you feel.. and you are happy driving it... so be it.. no matter how much it's worth.. you are going to live with it for the next 5 years.... [drivingcar]

What's important.. you're happy wit it...

To me, Mazda is a Jap car with Conti feel.. so if you like Jap branding and Conti feel, this is the car... I just don't like the ad.. that's my opinion... the car's worth's much more than a headlight... and the rest here just find the price is overprice.. well.. that's business.. it attracts those that wanted to buy... and they did... they become rich.. me remain poor... [nosebleed]

It all depend on the consumer. If nobody is buying 1.8L civic at above 70k, do you think at the end of the day, will the AD drop their price to below 70k anot?

As Mzrmazda3 says.. so long you are happy with your choice and satisfied with the drive.. and have not trouble paying for it... why bother whether it's a lot or not...

So what if the German made Zafira is cheaper and have better FC than the Mazda 5... if you prefer the way M5 makes you feel.. and you are happy driving it... so be it.. no matter how much it's worth.. you are going to live with it for the next 5 years.... [drivingcar]

To me, Mazda is a Jap car with Conti feel.. so if you like Jap branding and Conti feel, this is the car... I just don't like the ad.. that's my opinion... the car's worth's much more than a headlight... and the rest here just find the price is overprice.. well.. that's business.. it attracts those that wanted to buy... and they did... they become rich.. me remain poor... [nosebleed]

Best statement in this thread so far. [thumbsup] If you feel you can afford, then by all means just go ahead whether other makes are cheaper or cost effective.

70+ my good ness.

just was asking for advice on the Optra that is supposedly now at 38,999....

really can buy 2. [crazy]

but again if the looks is good and it drive well it worth considering...

will also put this in my shopping basket. <_<

70+ my good ness.

just was asking for advice on the Optra that is supposedly now at 38,999....

really can buy 2. [crazy]

but again if the looks is good and it drive well it worth considering...

will also put this in my shopping basket. <_<

no matter how good it is, the MAZDA still does not command such a high premium. in spore, only honda has this power. MAZDA is shooting itself in the foot.

TS, how can you put up this kinda question? Like that those who book the car is a ....what?...joker? [laugh]

No matter how niche the brand is there will still have ppl buying their cars, just like Mitsuoka (what happen to the showroom btw? Looks like close down...). [laugh] Maybe give wrong example. Even Subaru who is a niche car maker, also got their fans in sg.

There will be ppl who won't care about losing that money on depreciation and buy the car they like.

nowadays the koreans also doing up their cars with 'conti feel', though they are still a distance away, the gap is closing for sure. And there are many other MIJ cars besides Mazda with the much vaunted 'conti feel' and at cheaper pricing too..

no matter how good it is, the MAZDA still does not command such a high premium. in spore, only honda has this power. MAZDA is shooting itself in the foot.

Sorry to be blunt on who are you to condem that Mazda is inferior to civic.

In other countries, ppls does not view that. This only happened to singaporean where some even think that as long as it is H or T badge, even though it is made in Tom Yam, it is still more premium.

Take a look at the below link on how other country rated Mazda 3 vs Civic.

http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/sedans...on/results.html

Edited by Axela72

Haha,

I ask because one of the main complaint of this thread is that Mazda is overprice and AD profit a lot. But to me, their profit of $10k (for my ride) is considered normal in SGP.

As for Zafira, I am not sure is it cheaper than Mazda 5 at that time. Anyway, I want to buy Mazda 5 FL since it launched but the price is at $82k when launch. So when I can get it at about $70K+, I go ahead liao.

I am targeting at least 7 years for my current ride [flowerface] .

Sorry to say, never drove any Conti before, not sure what is Conti feel [sweatdrop]

Heard the first batch sold out... [shakehead]

Maybe someone can start MCF car poll... to see what's the most car driven in MCF.. i got the feeling @ltis will not hit #1 spot...

simply.. most of them who bought these cars don't come into forum such as this... they have different criteria and thought process in making their choice.. perhaps there's some but not all.

You cannot even find those that own the Skoda Roomster out there.. coz' the one that owns it is in this forum.. [wave]

My point is... while it's crazily price.. they hit the target [rifle] and makes the money.. that's business.. nothing to do with the way the car is driven/looks/specs/resale value/after sales/etc..

As for the rest of us here.. well we know where we stand and what we want... and stuck with the same traffic jams ..

I mean come on... 76K ?

I can buy almost 2

Hyundai Advante

Kia Forte

or I also can settle for one MIJ car... Civic, LancerEX

1.6L at 105hp and 144Nm, thats Ah-Gong technology... newer 1.6L are running at least 120+hp

76K is a lot

I concurr with that those who love the looks and are willing to pay should just go for it.

But i do not like their adverts i hear on radio. Make us SGrens seem very self absorb ego-istic creatures that only want attention.

Neither do I like WRX adverts. Seems like they have nothing good to say about their cars and have to resort to putting down others. I know they are probably trying to mimick the US adverts where the car companies congratulated one another on being best engine of the year, best car of the year etc....but those are done in a more classy way than what Subaru is doing.

A little graciousness goes a long way.

I concurr with that those who love the looks and are willing to pay should just go for it.

But i do not like their adverts i hear on radio. Make us SGrens seem very self absorb ego-istic creatures that only want attention.

Neither do I like WRX adverts. Seems like they have nothing good to say about their cars and have to resort to putting down others. I know they are probably trying to mimick the US adverts where the car companies congratulated one another on being best engine of the year, best car of the year etc....but those are done in a more classy way than what Subaru is doing.

A little graciousness goes a long way.

I feel there's nothing wrong with taking a friendly swipe at your competitors.

But like you say, the local versions of these ads lack wit and creativity.

Mitsuoka agent exiting exiting Singapore. brand will have no representation here, thereafter.

Building taken over by Audi, will be building a new building. Expect to be up around 2011.

How much an AD wants to price their cars is really up to them.

Think Mazda motors will have done their sums and come up with the current pricing.

Whether its value for money or blatant ripped off, its up to us the consumers to decide.

I'm sure there are enough ppl willing to buy the car at the above pricing,

though might have to concede that better numbers can be achieved if the price can be lower.