19k repair bill on 19k OMV car with a 400% insurance hike

The driver KPKB for what? My cousin had his insurance rised from $1400 to $8500. Car just 2yr old also and selling is not a option (20k loss) after an accident 1yrs ago with claim for about 20k. Its about 600% increased and he LPPL have to pay premium and continue driving. $8.5k is the cheapest premium available after being a high risk candidate and most insurers rejected to quote.

why he never go tok to ST ....his case more jialiat.... [sweatdrop]

You dun need rocket science theory to know that workshops are the one jacking up prices.

i think the gov shuld personally handle the car repairs.

Get rid of all these so-call private car repair workshops, who always "happens" to be at the accident scenes..

Setup a Main car repair center example a "LTA Repair" which is run by a goverment personal.

It is run professionally and all cars comes to this center to repair.

The main idea is not to profit although not asking them to make a loss too.

Repair men, surveyors etc are all consider civil servants. There is no boss means no wan will "jack" up the price for profit.

Everything and every charges of repairs goes according to a set of Standard Procedures.

In this case, its a win-win-win situations.

The private workshops servicemen whose workshops were closed down can be employed by this centers and get a standard salary. (Its only their boss who will suffer but then who ask them to anyhow claim in the first place?)

Car accidents victims are assured that their cars are handle by a professional body and prices are not "jack" up.

Insurance companies no need to pay exhorbitant claimed to other partie's workshop and hence even if need to increase premiums, is reasonable increase.

And most importantly, it solve the questions of "Is it my fault or your fault" arguement between drivers, workshops and insurance companies.

Edited by Hokk7777

true hor.. perhaps the $19k includes repair to the guard rails..

hmm.. if someone suay suay bang wall and bring car to repair and claim insurance.. can don't report bang which wall so as to avoid claims from the wall owner?

shld be the cost also incl the cost to re lay the road...coz his car skid..and deposit a lot of rubber onto the road..that why need to re-lay the tar....

Any one can advice, if my car knock against another, but both also not major damages.

Lets say only front a bit dented, just need to do some knocking and spraying.

Do we need to call insurance like this?

Or can we just send to any workshop we know which will be much cheaper to repair.

If you can determine on the spot who is 100% at fault, I think the issue is easier. Just settle private, but make sure you get black and white that he cannot claim again thru insurance. If 20/80, 30/70 or other disputed ratios, then lan lan got to fight thru insurance. But sure got loading the next year.

That day, I also cork-eyed and reversed into a biker. Luckily he very steady, didn't demand this and that. Settle private with him. Gave him $50, and also my number if his repairs came to be more than $50. In the end, only $50 odd and he didn't even want the balance and told me to drive more carefully next time. If only all motorists are like him. [thumbsup]

FYI, a repair shop 'earn' a 5 story building from accident insurance claims alone. repair cars for walk-in customers cannot make money. the boss now owns a Farari.

Repair men, surveyors etc are all consider civil servants. There is no boss means no wan will "jack" up the price for profit.

Everything and every charges of repairs goes according to a set of Standard Procedures.

The private workshops servicemen whose workshops were closed down can be employed by this centers and get a standard salary. (Its only their boss who will suffer but then who ask them to anyhow claim in the first place?)

Car accidents victims are assured that their cars are handle by a professional body and prices are not "jack" up.

Insurance companies no need to pay exhorbitant claimed to other partie's workshop and hence even if need to increase premiums, is reasonable increase.

And most importantly, it solve the questions of "Is it my fault or your fault" arguement between drivers, workshops and insurance companies.

u siao huh? asking our garment to do no profit business? biggest joke of all time

The right side also look wierd to me.

Anyway with 40% NCB for his age already show he accident prone type. One sided story and how come another business man again?

u prob hit the nail...this was also my thought too...

anyw there are many pple out there self accident jus claim insurance.....speak like its free...but little do they know it wil jus come back to haunt them given how tight the industry is now....anyw in this sad place, i alr resigned that insurance is for tua zong cases, small claims jus suck thumb, go any of the panel-beaters pay and move on...

driving in singapore is seriously no joy now... [thumbsdown]

even if guardrail replace oso no need cost so much... [shakehead]

i already super condenmed AIG although i'm wif them but no more next year... actually tot of changing to NTUC, but now see tis.. looks like hav to go look for those china or india insurance liao... [thumbsdown]

You dun need rocket science theory to know that workshops are the one jacking up prices.

Get rid of all these so-call private car repair workshops, who always "happens" to be at the accident scenes..

Setup a Main car repair center example a "LTA Repair" which is run by a goverment personal.

even so, u tink garment wun jack up the price even higher cos u r at their mercy as tat is the workshop from LTA... [sleeping]

If you can determine on the spot who is 100% at fault, I think the issue is easier. Just settle private, but make sure you get black and white that he cannot claim again thru insurance. If 20/80, 30/70 or other disputed ratios, then lan lan got to fight thru insurance. But sure got loading the next year.

That day, I also cork-eyed and reversed into a biker. Luckily he very steady, didn't demand this and that. Settle private with him. Gave him $50, and also my number if his repairs came to be more than $50. In the end, only $50 odd and he didn't even want the balance and told me to drive more carefully next time. If only all motorists are like him. [thumbsup]

wah nowadays 50 dollar can repair what on a bike? Old bike ah? This old biker steady~

It is not those new bikes, but those traditional kind of 2-wheelers. Basically, his mudguard and number plate a bit chui. Initially wanted to give him $100, but I asked him to estimate the costs, which he said 50 bucks. Then worried that $50 not enough to cover his repairs, gave him my number in case the repair bill exceeds that amount. But the biker is honest. If I had reversed into a car with light damage, dun think I would be so lucky. People would claim here, claim there, and maybe whiplash also. [lipsrsealed]

lets look this as a case-by-case basis

owner shud have discussed with workshop for minimal repairs & shared the $19K . . . may be illegal.

nevertheless, owner can always sell the car and get a fresh quote for a fresh new car with new insurance . . . hmmm

else, owner can further bang others for more claim on his insurance since its oledi 400% w/o NCD

a 14k car with 14k repair cost - say premuim at 1.5K, 400% is about 6K

thus it takes at least 2 yrs + to get back the amount

the insurance is actually at risk too......

cheers

not only that, the premium will not drop much for the subsequent years....

so it maybe 6k,5.5k,5k,4.5k....etc

good luck to him [sweatdrop]

actually, from the picture I think the back side of the car also kana...that's why need to change the reverse sensor...but anyway, reverse sensor very cheap only....$100 plus can get a set liao...

Nationalizing a company or svc sector is not the best solution. I dun think i can adequately explain why, but juz look at examples eg. USA Govt only wants to hold on short term those rotten banks (Citigrp) & motoring companies (GM) and off load them back into privatisation asap.

Rethink the logic - if Govt's intervention can solve hike to car repair cost issue on long term, then it applies to every other businesses too. Any product/svcs can potentially get exploited on prices. Govt-run banks, medical centres, food stores, laundries, housing, utilities, petrol kiosks, etc, etc, etc... The list will run endless until u end up with a communist state...

But, r u ready to accept a communist state? Not the form of politics that is preferred worldwide...

Today's Straits Times print edition (sorry no web version yet)

2 year old Suzuki Vitara has a single vehicle accident, skidded and hit guardrail, seems no other car involved. 46 year old owner sends it for repair at NTUC authorized workshop and the insurer pays out 19k plus for repairing the car. But repair bill includes replacing undamaged parts, eg. reverse sensor when the damage was in the front. Owner contests the bill amount, NTUC tells him to take it up with the workshop himself. Seems NTUC is happy to pay the 19k, the driver loses NCB not enough, but still have to contend with a 400% rise in premiums.

See newspapers for photos of the car after the crash...

[shakehead]

This is the right way to go....

Directly telling shxt driver never to drive on the roads ever again!

=============================================================

You can't blame insurance compamies for raising premiums...afterall, they directly telling the shxt driver never ever drive again unless they're so crazy to pay the new increased premium!

I believe the insurance has a tender system where the "cheapest workshop" will be awarded. Therefore, don't judge by the ST report alone. I noted that the photos are after repairs. Therefore, you will not know the extend of the damages unless the "before" photos are shown. Besides, there could also be "internal damages" which may cost more.