Why sporean so crazy about condo?

Roh96

i have a friend staying in a condo in toa payoh, being a long time close friend, he actually adviced me against staying in condo. cos he say pay the maintenance fee every month but never use the facilities one.

in this case, had you asked your friend why he is still staying in condo?

you remind me of a boss i met before saying driving in singapore is not worth at all, yet he still drive his S-Class here and there. so what it implies?

Some say this is a property bubble which will burst soon. Others who say it's just a "glorified" pigeon hole, and anyway it's only 99 years lease. Some others would say a 3 rm HDB flat provide the same roof over the head as a condo anyway, why blow money on such things? Anyway some condo units are even smaller than their 4NG HDB pigeon hole. It's like saying the rest of the people who stay in their HDB pigeon holes are smarter that idiots who queue up for days to book a condo, that they know somethings that people who buys condo don't.

It's not that there's no merit in what these people say. People have a lot of their own reasons to prefer and aspire to live in a condo, just as there are people who are so darned rich, yet prefer to stay in a "lowly" 3 room HDB pigeon hole.

My view is, if can afford to, why not? What's the point of making so much money and yet not living it up, getting slightly better things in life? What's the motive in commenting about people who buys condo as if these people are fools? Sounds a lot like sour grapes to me.

i went to check out the Metropolitan at redhill. Even on the 20+ floor, the noise from the MRT is significant

higher = louder. MRT is very noisy one, bcos when train arrive got announcement+breaking+warning+track, then b4 leave, got TuTuTu....+motor+track noise. and worst of all, trains came and go within short interval, start very early and end very late

i know bcos considered a unit near mrt b4, survey there and drop the idea

Sounds a lot like sour grapes to me.

i second that. when ppl talk about other's luxury expenditure, they will become financial guru and comment this comment that. every one started to say they know rich ppl that never take luxury thing and prefer normal thing (same as what they have) and said that how smart this kind of ppl are, blah blah blah.

in my mind, i always think that they all these financial smart guru are so smart, they should be very very rich liao (cause they know how to use $$ to make $$ rather than those rich ppl just throw $$ to buy those luxuries). too bad, i have yet to meet someone that are truly rich and dont buy luxury stuff.

may be Mr. Li is a dumb person that put $$20mils to buy a house in Singapore. giving the smart guru to use that $20mils, they should make how many mils liao..

Some say this is a property bubble which will burst soon. Others who say it's just a "glorified" pigeon hole, and anyway it's only 99 years lease. Some others would say a 3 rm HDB flat provide the same roof over the head as a condo anyway, why blow money on such things? Anyway some condo units are even smaller than their 4NG HDB pigeon hole. It's like saying the rest of the people who stay in their HDB pigeon holes are smarter that idiots who queue up for days to book a condo, that they know somethings that people who buys condo don't.

It's not that there's no merit in what these people say. People have a lot of their own reasons to prefer and aspire to live in a condo, just as there are people who are so darned rich, yet prefer to stay in a "lowly" 3 room HDB pigeon hole.

My view is, if can afford to, why not? What's the point of making so much money and yet not living it up, getting slightly better things in life? What's the motive in commenting about people who buys condo as if these people are fools? Sounds a lot like sour grapes to me.

good point... but how many of those buying really can afford it?

a lot is just speculating that the prices will go up, up and up....

higher = louder. MRT is very noisy one, bcos when train arrive got announcement+breaking+warning+track, then b4 leave, got TuTuTu....+motor+track noise. and worst of all, trains came and go within short interval, start very early and end very late

Generally higher means valuation also higher. And near MRT means higher valuation. For resale this can only be a good thing right?

i stayed just right infront of the train station..

every morning 4plus, you can hear some loud gas sound.. 5.30 sharp, do-long do-long do-long... and sometimes horn horn... then tu tu tu, then do-long do-long do-long every 5 mins..

gotta used to it already... can be quite noisy but like the convenient of havng a train station right at my door step.. =)

i have the same thought as in why people will want to spend $$ buying the 99 yrs condo for more than 1mil...

i won't call them silly but i really wanna know why a i am looking at condo now, comparing the prices..

just like my friend who bought a hse in toa payoh, a HDB. resale one, cost 500K plus.. they never go check out prices, never plan at all. last min rush here and there to submit docs for loan.. everything last min and dun think one..

and lastly, i am the one who started the silversea CONDON... not sure anyone remember.. haha

I used to ask this same question too...whats the big deal about 99 yrs condo? Why do people even bother to consider let alone buy one.

Today I am staying in a 99 yrs condo...115 sq m(3+1)...and if someone were to ask me this crazy again...i guess my answer is simple.

4. I always get a parking lot.

Just my take on this.

Btw fren, these days buying a condo doesn't necessary means you will have a parking lot... especially so for the newer developments. [hur]

i hope suburban condo prices go up some more & faster!

can't wait for them to hit 1500psf

wait for farrer & gillman to launch... [sly]

What you say reminds me of the thread comparing Kia Forte with other makes recently...seems like the initial craze is fading already....

Anyway I believe buyers (either cars or houses) do have their reason for their decision. We should not judge them based on our perspective.

What you say reminds me of the thread comparing Kia Forte with other makes recently...seems like the initial craze is fading already....

Anyway I believe buyers (either cars or houses) do have their reason for their decision. We should not judge them based on our perspective.

Hard not to judge when people are willingly paying BMW prices for a Kia Forte..... [:p]

Btw fren, these days buying a condo doesn't necessary means you will have a parking lot... especially so for the newer developments. [hur]

what you said is really true!! its either nicely 1 slot for 1 family or its 90% of the number of units..

And on weekends where your visitors come, you got to put tissue paper to chop parking lots. Either that or they expect your visitors to take MRT mah... since you paid so much $$$ to buy a condo near the MRT anyways. [grin]

Guest Julio369

staying in condo is for kotar ppl.... [rolleyes]

i have a friend staying in a condo in toa payoh, being a long time close friend, he actually adviced me against staying in condo. cos he say pay the maintenance fee every month but never use the facilities one.

my monthly is $260, with 3 carpark lots thrown in. so i save $180 /mth on carparks compared to hdb since i got 2 cars. i save on town council etc. in the end, i pay slightly more compared to hdb but i get all the condo facilities. of course it is different if i dun have any car...

but most importantly, i feel it is much safer for my kids when we are living in condo compared to hdb.

I used to ask this same question too...whats the big deal about 99 yrs condo? Why do people even bother to consider let alone buy one.

Today I am staying in a 99 yrs condo...115 sq m(3+1)...and if someone were to ask me this crazy again...i guess my answer is simple.

1. My wife and I don't qualify for new HDB and looking at the price of resale HDB, its just not 'worth' it. The price differences between my place and a HDB EM is round +- 100k...so the gap is not that wide anymore. And I am buying to stay and not for investment.

2. The security that comes with staying in a condo (you may say its perceived security but even that is better than nothing).

3. The facilities...yeah some of you may think it's overrated but a condo with full facilities can make a lot of differences in one's daily life. A pool big enough that I can't swim across holding one breath...proper tennis courts...function rooms and BBQ area. It makes a difference actually. When I am really tired from work, i can just pop down for a swim.

4. I always get a parking lot.

Enough said, I don't really care about the so-called 'pride' to stay in private property. Hehe heck..its a 99 yrs property...but the convenience it bring to me and my wife...and for my kid next time...it's something that can't be measured by $$$ alone. This is from someone that has stayed in HDB for over 30 yrs.

Just my take on this.

fully agree with u except on #4 !

i always get 3 parking lots! but i dun have 3 cars

I was at AMK central yesterday and decided to drop by this Centrio Residences showroom to look see look see while waiting for my gal to finish her class. I was shocked when i was told 80+ out of the 104 units on the phase 1 launch was snapped out just over the past 5 days. The price is over 1100+ psf, 2 bedroom unit cost about 1 mil while a 3 bedroom unit cost 1.3 mil onwards. So far most buyers are local and majority are HDB upgraders. There is only a few units of 2 bedroom units left and the floor area is pathetic 80 sq meter which is about the size of 3 room HDB. Unbelievable to see ppl paying 1 mil for such a small unit and is only 99 yrs lease term. I can only say many Sporeans are rich.

My colleague just sold his HDB flat and bought a condo.....reason being living in condo don't have to worry about Ah Long splashing paint as there is security.... [confused][confused][confused]

So those who live in condo can go ahead and borrow from Ah Long liao ???? [:/][:/]