Throttle2 Supersonic August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 the accumulated surplus of the management fund and sinking fund as at 30 sep 08 was $658,176 & $2,018,558 respectively. Is that a decent sum? the condo is 5 years old. Enough or not depends. In five years can accumulate that amount means you are staying in a condo with many many households. (aka fenced up public housing) I rather stay in HDB and save my money. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 Kovan Melody? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 the accumulated surplus of the management fund and sinking fund as at 30 sep 08 was $658,176 & $2,018,558 respectively. Is that a decent sum? the condo is 5 years old. Decent or not depends on the number of units and number of blocks. Each unit should contribute about $1k pa to sinking fund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 Sat ST got section mentioning about condo living. I had one ang moh tenant, not SP, parking his bike in the middle of a parking lot instead of motor bike lot. He refused to budge even when the management approached him. Some vandalised his bike and he vandalised the lift camera! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 (edited) my condo maint fees is only $150/mth ! I have a car & a bike. If I were to stay in a HDB, I would have paid: $60(conservency) $90(carpark) $17(bike parking) =$167(total) Besides parking, I also enjoy the free facilities like: security guard,swimming pool,gym,tennis court,hot bath,free shutter bus, ect... does it make more sense staying in a condo? you pay a few hundred thousands more for those small fringe benefits? you must be a genius in maths. now i get to see why MBT loves people like you. Edited August 1, 2009 by Veryfree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 In the long run, you will need to pay substantial lump for major repairs and maintenance as 150 is hardly enough to build a decent sinking fund. he must be staying in 2 room unit (<900sq ft) type and the condo must be as crowded as Phuket during holiday seasons to have such low maintenance fee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 I rather stay in an EA flat of 145 sq m that cost 450k instead of 900k + for the same size condo. Besides got gahman handouts now and then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 I rather stay in an EA flat of 145 sq m that cost 450k instead of 900k + for the same size condo. Besides got gahman handouts now and then. many SG ppl stays in condo are for face value. after reading today's ST special report, there are many ugly sides of condo dwellers who cannot bend below their high dignity, many simply do not have the virtue of sharing...they think they own the whole condo. Face value vs $$, i choice the latter, i don't want to make those banks rich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 (edited) $150 is inclucive of sinking fund. My property tax this year is $282. gov taxes on private property is in accordance with size per sq ft. $282 ? don't tell me your unit is no larger than my store room. get real, only you know. it's fine with us though Edited August 1, 2009 by Veryfree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 gov taxes on private property is in accordance with size per sq ft. $282 ? don't tell me your unit is no larger than my store room. get real, only you know. it's fine with us though Property tax of my EA flat is $348 before gahman rebate. Property tax is 4% based on annual value which roughly equate rental value. So you are rite that the unit must be small if property tax is cheaper than my HDB flat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched August 1, 2009 Share August 1, 2009 Property tax of my EA flat is $348 before gahman rebate. Property tax is 4% based on annual value which roughly equate rental value. So you are rite that the unit must be small if property tax is cheaper than my HDB flat. my old folks is paying almost $2000 for their condo, that's why surprise to see Fit44 paid only $282. If my old folks's unit is 1,300sq ft, that means his unit is smaller than 500sq ft. For that, to pay $150/mth of maintenance/sinking fund is really exhorbitant. better stick to idea of buying a HDB unit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fit44 Clutched August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 Enough or not depends. In five years can accumulate that amount means you are staying in a condo with many many households. (aka fenced up public housing) I rather stay in HDB and save my money. u r right! 11 blocks with 716 units. 738 carpark lots. free shutter bus to mrt station from 6.30am-7.30pm daily(every 10 mins during peak hr/ 30 mins offpeak) I paid $460per sq ft. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fit44 Clutched August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 gov taxes on private property is in accordance with size per sq ft. $282 ? don't tell me your unit is no larger than my store room. get real, only you know. it's fine with us though $282 is after gov tax rebate. my unit is 1055sq ft(2+1study) bigger than new HDB 4rm flat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 $282 is after gov tax rebate. my unit is 1055sq ft(2+1study) bigger than new HDB 4rm flat. Monthly or Annual? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fit44 Clutched August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 my old folks is paying almost $2000 for their condo, that's why surprise to see Fit44 paid only $282. If my old folks's unit is 1,300sq ft, that means his unit is smaller than 500sq ft. For that, to pay $150/mth of maintenance/sinking fund is really exhorbitant. better stick to idea of buying a HDB unit. my neighbour just sold his 3 bedrooms unit for less than $700k, 2+1 unit selling under $600k. I dun think its that expensive compare to those HDB flats at central area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fit44 Clutched August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 Monthly or Annual? Annual ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 Annual ... Wah, like that give the Govt more reasons to patch this "hole" liao. Condo doesn't enjoy any rebates for utilities and usually lower or no govt funded "bonuses". Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched August 2, 2009 Share August 2, 2009 $150 is inclucive of sinking fund. My property tax this year is $282. The condo you are living in must be < 5yrs old. Maintenance + sinking fund is not usually so low, as what you had stated. Sometime back, when I was living in a condo, the maintenance fee started at about $200+/month. This grew with time, to about $250/month. But after 5 years, due to the need to build up a sinking fund for repairs and repainting, the maintenance fee (inclusive of sinking fund) grew to $500+/month. Paid >$1.5K a quarter, but then, my wife and I don't return from work until after 7+pm, after fetch kids / dinner and all and the kids then were < primary school age. So for us, it was really money down the drain, sponsoring the other proprietors in the condo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...