Creative_tec 2nd Gear July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 My colleague just sold his HDB flat and bought a condo.....reason being living in condo don't have to worry about Ah Long splashing paint as there is security.... So those who live in condo can go ahead and borrow from Ah Long liao ???? Not sure if can siam ah long but if its for a sense of security, i agree. i am now waiting for the right time to buy a condo and the reason why i am buying one is due to security. Nowadays, more and more foreign imports and everytime when i open the papers, always see robbery and etc... not saying that staying in condo is safe from robbery but at least there is a guard and i dun have to worry about my wife or daughter coming back home late from taxi... my car kena paint droplets when HDB renovate my HDB flat... not just once but 3 times!!! town council not able to help, contractor siam my calls and sms... downstair always got a gang of rascals making noises and disturbing pple at night... !! i have enuff of all these s--t... paying so much for a HDB to get these! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 My colleague just sold his HDB flat and bought a condo.....reason being living in condo don't have to worry about Ah Long splashing paint as there is security.... So those who live in condo can go ahead and borrow from Ah Long liao ???? nowsaday,loan sharks also tech savvy and smart... they can also harass the borrower workplace loh! worst, boss will knows and the borrower will be given the boot! dun mess around with these 'land' sharks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 I think its becos they are expecting a certain percentage of units to be rented out. bcz recent share market is defying all odds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 This project made to the news headline as the most expensive 99 yrs condo in heartland area. Far East bought the land at 600+psf and with overheads and building cost it become 1000 psf. They can't sell it lower than that. I am going to see how Far East manage to get rid of all the units. In this period of condo fever, i think it is not difficult to find 300 suckers. living near MRT, AMK hub, nature parks.... 1) Will millionaire buyers take MRT and forego cars? If not, why bother to buy million-dollar small units next to MRT? 2) AMK hub is not as glamourous to shop, no Prada, Club 21, Bread & Butter... will millionaires shop there? Can they live with AMK heartlanders? 3) nature parks? where?? the parks are not natural (man-made). If for investment...can they rent out more than $4k per month of return, competing with rental from AMK HDB below $2k. funny buyers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 Not sure if can siam ah long but if its for a sense of security, i agree. i am now waiting for the right time to buy a condo and the reason why i am buying one is due to security. Nowadays, more and more foreign imports and everytime when i open the papers, always see robbery and etc... not saying that staying in condo is safe from robbery but at least there is a guard and i dun have to worry about my wife or daughter coming back home late from taxi... These are the reasons for me to wait for the opportunity to buy too , not because of a class higher than HDB or to enjoy the condo facilities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 my monthly is $260, with 3 carpark lots thrown in. so i save $180 /mth on carparks compared to hdb since i got 2 cars. i save on town council etc. in the end, i pay slightly more compared to hdb but i get all the condo facilities. of course it is different if i dun have any car... but most importantly, i feel it is much safer for my kids when we are living in condo compared to hdb. hmmm...saving car park cost, how much more did you pay for your EC? seems like you are staying in a large estate, paying just $260/mth. kids fatality happened in condo..swimming pool, get real Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 nowsaday,loan sharks also tech savvy and smart... they can also harass the borrower workplace loh! worst, boss will knows and the borrower will be given the boot! dun mess around with these 'land' sharks! loan sharks? aren't they called OCBC or DBS finance?? someone told me that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 living near MRT, AMK hub, nature parks.... 1) Will millionaire buyers take MRT and forego cars? If not, why bother to buy million-dollar small units next to MRT? 2) AMK hub is not as glamourous to shop, no Prada, Club 21, Bread & Butter... will millionaires shop there? Can they live with AMK heartlanders? 3) nature parks? where?? the parks are not natural (man-made). If for investment...can they rent out more than $4k per month of return, competing with rental from AMK HDB below $2k. funny buyers. Actually, the traffic around the AMK hub is quite terrible at times. I will only consider to buy this condo (put pricing aside) if I take public transport and don't drive at all. Don't want to get stucked in the traffic even when about to reach home! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creative_tec 2nd Gear July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 These are the reasons for me to wait for the opportunity to buy too , not because of a class higher than HDB or to enjoy the condo facilities. i think nowadays condo is just like another HDB estate but just that it comes with the extra security that a lot of us are looking for.. i work the night shift and i was told by at least 3 female colleagues of mine who kena from molest in the middle of night when they went home.. 1 stay at bukit batok, 1 serangoon and another one in some north area.. they all kena followed when they align the taxi just underneath their block... Sad to say, singapore is not getting safe anymore. there is always a risk of crime everywhere but if i can do a bit more as a prevention to my family, why not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 I tell you, once the property bubble burst, a lot of people will kena. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creative_tec 2nd Gear July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 Actually, the traffic around the AMK hub is quite terrible at times. I will only consider to buy this condo (put pricing aside) if I take public transport and don't drive at all. Don't want to get stucked in the traffic even when about to reach home! to me, AMK hub area is just too messy. ... it doesn't give you a relaxing feeling when you are there... at least to me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watergun Neutral Newbie July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 (edited) Your Punggol EA can fetch at least 450K. Time to upgrade. Urinate in lifts, dirty, playground vandalized, dog/cat poo, loansharks painting & disturbing your neighbors, dripping water when hanging laundry, monthly hdb car park + conservancy not cheap & no guarantee you get a good lot & exposed to thieves, safety issues... the list go on.. Edited July 31, 2009 by Watergun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versionv Neutral Newbie July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 Next downturn? What makes you so sure that we are recovering from the current downturn, although the media keep showing news that Asia is having a V recovery :) I'm no financial guru, but looking at the current global situation, there's a high possibility that the recovery would be W shaped, hence after some signs of recovery, the economy will move downwards again. Wah bro u r good lei...just watch the 10pm news they mention we are likely into a W shape recovery... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watergun Neutral Newbie July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 Many are still safe, as long as they don't commit those above $1,000 psf in HDB areas. Condos pricing are always supported by HDB pricing. Some owners might willing to take the gamble. For instance - 3-bedrm condo at 800K. Top another few years time (can start save more $). - 3 bedrom condo at 800K resale. - Whether you take NPS or IAS, it's the same. - 20% is like 160K exclude stamp duty. 5% cash & the rest can use CPF. Not a big problem to many. What if one party is out of job or die die must sell and they sell at 100K lost. They can take it as rental they paid for the years they stay. And they can downgrade to hdb. If they sell low, they will buy low for the HDB. Some got back ups from parents. Worst case, stay with in-laws, parents.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 Wah bro u r good lei...just watch the 10pm news they mention we are likely into a W shape recovery... V or W, SG just announced higher unemployment rate in Q2'09 vs Q2'08. SQ cuts 10% pay from non management staff.. more electronic factory to lay off staff by end of this year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 Actually, the traffic around the AMK hub is quite terrible at times. I will only consider to buy this condo (put pricing aside) if I take public transport and don't drive at all. Don't want to get stucked in the traffic even when about to reach home! Yes, human traffic as well. Centros is just next to a bus depot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 I tell you, once the property bubble burst, a lot of people will kena. http://groups.google.com.fj/group/soc.cult...cecf63edee608dc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched July 31, 2009 Share July 31, 2009 I used to ask this same question too...whats the big deal about 99 yrs condo? Why do people even bother to consider let alone buy one. Today I am staying in a 99 yrs condo...115 sq m(3+1)...and if someone were to ask me this crazy again...i guess my answer is simple. 1. My wife and I don't qualify for new HDB and looking at the price of resale HDB, its just not 'worth' it. The price differences between my place and a HDB EM is round +- 100k...so the gap is not that wide anymore. And I am buying to stay and not for investment. 2. The security that comes with staying in a condo (you may say its perceived security but even that is better than nothing). 3. The facilities...yeah some of you may think it's overrated but a condo with full facilities can make a lot of differences in one's daily life. A pool big enough that I can't swim across holding one breath...proper tennis courts...function rooms and BBQ area. It makes a difference actually. When I am really tired from work, i can just pop down for a swim. 4. I always get a parking lot. Enough said, I don't really care about the so-called 'pride' to stay in private property. Hehe heck..its a 99 yrs property...but the convenience it bring to me and my wife...and for my kid next time...it's something that can't be measured by $$$ alone. This is from someone that has stayed in HDB for over 30 yrs. Just my take on this. your case sounds familiar. let us see the real case study in Jan'08 http://www.salary.sg/page/11/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...