Why sporean so crazy about condo?

Roh96

yew tee. public transport not convenient right? The MRT has no direct line to the city. If u drive.... although the distance is small, the time can be long (all city traffic). I don't know about yew tee but what matters most to people is how long u take to get to a place, not how far.

ha.. so u know [thumbsup] . beside yew tee mrt i still dun mind leh. but to take 20 mins bus to mrt after walking 5 mins in the hot sun is NOT my idea of convenience [rolleyes]

I started with 3 rm condo, then hdb 5-rm then 4 rm condo again. Asked my young children if they rather stay in landed (big room and big space), but their choice firmly points towards condo (swimming pool, PG, etc). Obvious choice for children lah.

Stay where you are happy why we worry abt what others think? There's a lot of people who likes to save and not tolerant to others willing to pay to have better life (not only on houses also we can see in conti-vs-non-conti car threads). Likewise there are aggressive investors who do so much better than the conservative people. Share your views but would be good not to impose one's own view and call others foolish.

Btw back on condo.... I just went look look see see at the Optima @ Tanah Merah. It is 100% sold liao.

suspecting many buy condos and MPVs are mainly for their children interest.

Are they becoming more complacent and more comfortable, losing their

survival instinct in the future? SG future will be doomed.

if MC is weak, the residents will walk all over them. If MC is strong, they tend to

take it for granted, many will abuse the authority for personal interest.

face it, nobody wants to be in MC, no pay, alot of work, and worst still, chase payments,

handle unreasonable complaints from noisy kiasus & kiasis.

Yap, it isn't an easy job. I was once a chairman of a MC for 2 consecutive years and ever received threatening message for wanting to increase the sinking fund. I also issued lawyer letters for residents that refuse to pay up maintenance fees. Anyway, I believe if the MC members are professionals with high integrity, there is no worry for abuse or to earn respects from the residents.

I would say it is a great learning experience. It makes me more aware of the maintenance issues surrounding a condo and help me in selecting a future condo.

Regards,

u obviously live in a good location.

the distance from my previous place to the bus stop (then wait anywhere from 5-12 mins for a miserable feeder bus) is the same as the distance from my current place to the MRT.

some places are just out of the way. good for people who have cars and like peace and quiet, but certainly not what i liked during my schooling days. additional 40 mins a day spent commuting is not something i couldn't live with, but unnecessary lah.

i know people who spend 3 hours a day commuting, so is our public transport that efficient? then again, i'd 'blame' them for choosing the wrong place to stay, if they had a choice, that is.

no lah, i stay quite far from MRT station. i have to take a feeder to a MRT station and a bus to central

where i work. all in all, commuting 1.5 hr to & fro.

this is life, we accept the way it is, regardless how troublesome or tedious.

We are much better off than Japan, when commuting takes more than 4-5 hrs to & fro, and

work hours are super long.

So, i shant complain when i see worse lifestyle.

Eff-Yee-Oh famous for [knife] .... and yet it never fail to amaze me how come there are still people willing to kena chop carrot.... And I hardly find anyone that actually made a killing buying their properties...

Anyway their pockets very deep one lah.... They can take forever to slowly launch, re-launch, re-re-launch and there have no urgency to get rid of all their units.

pockets deep?

that company nearly bankrupt last time.

For those who had stayed in HDB, condo & landed before, any comment?

If given a choice, I want to stay in a old terrace with around 2200 sqft land. I can renovate and should be pretty comfortable.

The thing about condo is that u have a neighbour upstairs. Sometimes, if you are unlucky, the upstairs neighbours have many kids and the parents are ahbeng ahlians who don't care, really cannot take it.

If cannot afford, I think I will get a EA which cost like 600k. Usually these HDB people are more "well kept" because the flats are more expensive. condo.... no point to me as I seldom use facilities.

Edited by Wind30

As a kid, i lived in a terrace house of that size....OMG it was a disaster, i hated all the years spent there (Upper Thomson area). A terrace house is usually blocked on 3 sides, so the house is very very hot and stuffy. Freaky manz....and when it rains, the rear yard floods and tiny frogs appear out of nowhere, jumping all over the house hahaha.

My cousin's place at Winsor Park even more power, got monkeys raiding the kitchen, once even a 3 metre long python LOL

Now my dad's semi-d at Seletar is much better, no such nonsense issues.

As a kid, i lived in a terrace house of that size....OMG it was a disaster, i hated all the years spent there (Upper Thomson area). A terrace house is usually blocked on 3 sides, so the house is very very hot and stuffy. Freaky manz....and when it rains, the rear yard floods and tiny frogs appear out of nowhere, jumping all over the house hahaha.

My cousin's place at Winsor Park even more power, got monkeys raiding the kitchen, once even a 3 metre long python LOL

Int. Terrace is very hot and stuffy during the hotter months [sweatdrop]. If you have unreasonable neighours to your left and right and behind, then good luck liao [shakehead].

I also heard about old neighbours moved out to nearby HDB as they can't tahan the heat and rent the house out [laugh]. If have more money should try to get a corner terrace instead.

Regards,

its condo or public housing? we all know!

I was staying in a 3rm flat for 30yrs, then I moved to a 4rm resale flat and then to a new 5rm flat.

Now I really enjoy & feels good staying in a condo. I would like to try staying in a landed property in

future if I can afford?

For those who had stayed in HDB, condo & landed before, any comment?

grew up in a 7rm landed.

now living in a 4rm HDB.

in landed, nobody would give a damn even if you are tearing down your house.

not like in hdb/condo, you got neighbors upstair/downstair/left/right always ready to complain you.

limited parking lots? we got our own garage behind the house. you want to park 1 car in 2 lots also can.

no need scare people stomp you also.

anyway, been living in the 4rm hdb for near 18 yrs.

initially, needs some getting used to the small space.

the only fun thing is the lift back then as i only come in contact with lifts in shopping centers. and also the sand playground under the flats.

yah, would love to move back landed when got the chance again.

7-room landed? Either it's a huge house, or it's one of those strange houses with very small rooms LOL

my dad's semi-D is 3600 sq ft with 3 rooms only...very funny wan, 2 of the rooms are actually the same size as the entire hall hahaha

Anyway what u guyz think of bukit timah rd free hold 2 yrs old condo call nexus? MRT gg to be build nearby, Ok for investment? Quoted 1 million 30k for a 2 bed room, mid flr, face bukit timah rd. Very ex now, 900 plus psf few mths ago only.

Edited by Curahee

ya, that is why I am looking for a place near my in-laws place where my wife grew up. It is better to buy a neighborhood you are intimately familiar with, ie lived there for a long time and know the neighbors.

u buy resale in a neighbourhood you are not familiar with, u end up with frogs, snakes, etc :)

haha.

i not a chicken leh.how to live that type of house.

theirs are even power. 1 house got more than 15rms i think.

even though my old house is quite big but abit run-down.

belongs to my ah gong's father last time...

Anyway what u guyz think of bukit timah rd free hold 2 yrs old condo call nexus? MRT gg to be build nearby, Ok for investment? Quoted 1 million 30k for a 2 bed room, mid flr, face bukit timah rd. Very ex now, 900 plus psf few mths ago only.

buy it for investment, if you can find another Jet Li to buy it later.

Python ??!!, i will buy one for my future parents in law.

I'm also on lookout for old landed to buy for investment.

Run down nevermind, I can develop, as long as environment is nice and location is convenient.

Anyone got kangtao let me know.

Edited by Throttle2