OCS question

Picanto

My OCS batch was 2/89 IOCC.

Not true that the best get posted to unit. During my time, my platoon 2nd best got posted to P. Tekong as PC.

I was given a choice between joining Guards and OCS, I chose the latter.

There are good officers and bad officers, just like in civilian life that are good managers and bad managers. Ultimately, we have to carry out our duties to serve our country.

I think when asked off hand why the choice to try OCS,

My ans at first are,

1. All my best buddies are officers, so outta peer pressure, I want in too.

2. I yearn for the day when i can wear number 1, and have my parents don my epaulets. I want to do them proud.

3. Since the 2.5 years cannot siam, why not just get something good out of it.

After commissioning, i see a lot of unnecc red tapes and tai chi from the regulars, and even as Cpt, Maj or Col, there are good and bad ones. Their attitude towards work changes when things happen during their career. I see some 1WO who are ALWAYS missing before major exercise, and appear super wayang before the Wing Comd. In Singapore, war is not imminent, and most of the time it becomes a job to many that signed on. When you see visiting officers from Indonesia or Thailand, you can somewhat tell the difference.. they just have the hardness in their eyes.

If you ask me now, I can kaopeh a lot, but I know, when the need arise, I will fight for my homeland and protect my love ones. And funnily, I know many others will too, no matter how much they can say they hate the armed forces.

Edited by Chrispie

well...probably i never pray hard to tao bei gong or guan yim ma those days !!! ha ha ha...But my role still ok lar...except for some occasion when there is question with difficult answer from top that flows down...anyway then i just let it flow down further if i got no answers...the most tedious part is to account for all men...layout the rules...sort out the logistic and admins during th start and clearing everything during the end....after that it's pretty easy...just seat in the HQ tent with my OC and talk c--k smoke....he sleep I keep a lookout...I sleep he keep a lookout...done....

the common fact is that we are all human beings whether officer or what!! Whether u want to be a officer or not...I think it a personal choice and whether you are up to the task or not...I am not a officer neither a supporter of military life...but just somehow I am unlucky to be appointed as the CSM yrs back during my first ICT!!!...yes if someone here can tell me how usually a CSM or RSM appointment is selected...Please tell me...i am very keen to know why I get HIT...I didn't try hard to push it away because....well they give me a couple of hundred bucks free every year as additional responsibility allowance....Well this at least help me cope with the ever increasing insurance of my car....ha ha ha....

anyway...they give me some money...so usually I am the very last few to leave when all the men book out...So sometime I just give those young one bar or two bar kids a lift if it is on my way....Usually the stanadard answer when ask so why u want to be a officer will be as following "

1) NS pay higher....

2) Next time resume can write....

3) Siong a while...maybe after that more relax....at least is a officer...

4) The sword can sell some money....

5) Since die die cannot get away liao....just be officer lor...at least more steady....

Yes...no one tell me about protecting the country etc...maybe they scare I laugh at them or they very very shy....But then afterall....I think most of them still share my same belief....Since u are here already....why not make the best out of it....Yes....even u you hate it... [flowerface]

is being an appointment holder really that bad during ICT? i see some appoinment holders acting ya ya because they have power.

33/98 Sagara!

which platoon?! [smash][:p]

You same Wing?

Me from PL 1.

Wing Comd is COL Woo

PC is CPT David Ooi (last known rank is MAJ)

APC is LTA Daniel (aka Big Bird)

i am civilian...i go in do what I need to do and get out...no such things as "ya ya papaya"....I always tell all my men...I am ok with whatever you all do as long as no one complaint to me...But when someone make a valid complaint....Yes, must be a valid one...I am sorry but I need to act... [:)]

me from 36/99 Echo too... [wave]

cannot remember which platoon liao... maybe platoon 2... my PC is CPT Chua Boon Chuan.

Grx80, I am from 36/99 Echo P2 too! S1B3 or 4... can't remember already.

Great to know that theres someone familiar here. [laugh]

You are?

is being an appointment holder really that bad during ICT? i see some appoinment holders acting ya ya because they have power.

If you are in the log side during ICT, can be particularly bad. (ex; MTO, QM, DyS4 etc)

The drivers and storemans are always selected from the bottom of the heap people, unwanted or unqualified for any other jobs, thats how Mindef operates, you do find good people... but it really wont be because Mindef put them there by choice.

They will be the ones most likely to go AWOL, MIA.. drugs etc. Or people who "chow keng" their way there. Usually people that other units "throw" to you.

Ironically, miss a rifleman and things go on as usual... but miss a driver or storeman and the whole show can literally fall aprt.

But people who yaya are usually not good appt holders... or they get others to do the dirty work for them.

Actually LTC Kwek JL already retired as COL Kwek 1 or 2 years ago. He was my OC in OCS. I still saw him during my last few ICTs a few years back. We are in the same division.

Yes...no one tell me about protecting the country etc...maybe they scare I laugh at them or they very very shy....But then afterall....I think most of them still share my same belief....Since u are here already....why not make the best out of it....Yes....even u you hate it... [flowerface]

yeah dats exactly my attitude.

and looking all the replies... certainly not true ppl go ocs after that regret...

for me, i no wish to yaya papaya coz i OCS. go back ICT i actually tell my specs/men, you ppl call me 'sir' or call me by name, salute never salute all i dun care. all i care is we all work together, watever needs to be done we do properly, watever extra dun bother, finish doing go back sleep. if everybody attitude like this i dun care you wat rank i wat rank.

not all drivers and storemen are as bad as u make it out to be.

yeah, they may be lowly educated but some of them in which I met are quite good.

Some pple are revocated to be drivers / storemen, due to medical reasons.

In life, there are bound to be some good and some bad drivers...same case as in officers too...

good and bad.

I knew 1 guy, who failed BMT and recos BMT, got into OCS (this is due to he got 4 Distinctions in his A level), went on to become a AMPO...

Well, during his cadet term in OCS, he never washed his uniform for one week and kept wearing the same 2 pcs until his own bunk reek of his sweaty odour...

Not all drivers are bad but the bad ones are really spectacular.

There was this guy who took a rover for a spin at night and crashed into a training shed. The bugger bolted from the scene and next day all the drivers had to fall in and take off their shirts to see who has injuries.

There was another guy with very low education, direction blind and cannot read a street directory. It is almost taken for granted he will get lost without guidance. Got one time he was so lost he ended up in Orchard. At a red light, he got off the rover, walked over to another car and knocked at window to ask for directions.

The worst incident happened one night after a unit dinner. The road out of camp was long and narrow. This guy purposely drove his rover very slowly to annoy my P-plate friend following behind. When my friend tried to overtake, the driver sped up so my friend had to filter back again. The idiot then jammed braked causing my friend to drive into the rear of the rover. The car was wrecked but luckily none of the passengers was seriously hurt. The whole incident was hushed up after some dramatic confrontation.

Tats usual in ICT isnt it? Whether spec, PC, OC or ICT instructor, everyone call each other by names regardless of rank, needless to say.

yah lor. call rank so wierd.. my men all call me by my surname.. machiam BMT times... :D

not realli lor. my OC several years older than me and obviously the man in charge, i feel weird calling him by name, so i address him as sir. same reason all specs address csm as 'encik'. pc with specs and men all about same age so wont feel weird calling by name. but i still have specs feel weird call me by name. like i said i dun care much.

mebbe coz my unit was set up after we ORD, ie we werent all from some SIR combat unit. we from all over the land specially combined to form this special unit. i donno those progress straight from SIR combat unit mebbe already have the familiarity of calling by name.

in my unit, a lot of familiar faces so everybody calls each other by name. we are quite comfortable with it and the job get done. enjoy the 3 weeks together and make sure everybody is safe.

for new officers attached to us we just address them "sir".

well, I have seen even worse case than yours if not as worse as yours, as i deal with drivers for almost 1 year during my time

I have seen very very good drivers, very ya ya drivers and some very blur drivers...

Good drivers - no accident, drive smart.... (got posted in my unit after reservist)

Yaya drivers - got into accident but still get off the hook as someone covered up for them but in the end (as they are my MTO's fav drivers), got posted out when serving reservist

blur driver - same fate during reservist, unless they are accident free....

My unit is quite special in a way (can't divulge too much here)...if kena reservist in my unit, u will be thankful for it...

Basically, when in NS, most of us dont really have a choice what vocation we are in...

If you are in driver's vocation, just pray hard, drive carefully, clock 7000km during ur time and get a converted civilian licence...

Just do it and FO from there lah...

Dont get into trouble, get things done one shot, one kill...

its not the driver's fault if they are posted in that vocation... just to add on if they are still those blur type catergory, they also do not choose to be in that vocation....

Just that at times, there are so many enlistees and so many vocations but how many pple are there to do the correct postings?

I am supposed to be in Pes C from the start but due to my good records in my sec sch ECA, i got selected for Commando's interview, went thru normal BMT like PES A / B, then went for 1 month OCS before I got OOC, then went thru driver and MT Sgt cos before I went for Recos again in OCS, then got downgraded..

Guess what the MO told me when I went for downgrade...

''didnt they downgrade you just before you got enlisted as you got one fractured ankle (history) on your right ankle and 2 operations on your left ankle??? ''

I just shrugged the question and told them,

They did the medical checks as if you are in macdonald...queueing up for food, once you told them what you want, they will key in and asked u to move one side, and say next....!!

Edited by Byond

is it true that "average" or "poor" performance cadets officers will be posted to HQ S1,S2 once they graduated from OCS?

And those with good performance will be posted to units as platoon commanders?

How cum yr comments sound more and more like meecar/HHCar? So full of complaints and unhappiness. [lipsrsealed]