OCS question

Picanto

he won a silver bayonet.....thats the only thing if i am not wrong. The rest are the normal competency training awards. My son is even skinnier then me during my ns.......hahaha.....but one thing he has more determination!

tada!.. mystery solved!... silver bayonet = top 4 sispec BSLC grads... will join OCS course from 4th month...

iirc... [blush]

tada!.. mystery solved!... silver bayonet = top 4 sispec BSLC grads... will join OCS course from 4th month...

iirc... [blush]

errr...he told me top ten in company lei! Not saying i not proud lar.....but i oredy told him served those contract yrs dutifuly and bugger off. Actually he signed on without my permission.....he approached one of his auntie to be his guarantor. I told wifey what jcc is all about even showing youtube videos on the course....now wifey very anxious!

well... if thats genuinely the case.. (cross-over)... two of you can relax la... coz in 6mths time.. he would say sispec is much more physically demanding than ocs... ocs have alot of theoretical and symbolic stuff.. afterall its training for command position.

but.. if his cross over is from ASLC.. then i think he got 9mths to go...

and.. jcc is not that bad la.. nowadays got so much emphasis of safety.. [thumbsup]

again... iirc [blush]

well... if thats genuinely the case.. (cross-over)... two of you can relax la... coz in 6mths time.. he would say sispec is much more physically demanding than ocs... ocs have alot of theoretical and symbolic stuff.. afterall its training for command position.

and.. jcc is not that bad la.. nowadays got so much emphasis of safety.. [thumbsup]

again... iirc [blush]

thanks for the headup.....really paisey....he oni an SCS cadet.....maybe i still havent get over the fact that my son is oredy an adult. Sometime.....I still worry for him! Last i scold him was when i got to know he sign on last April. Gave him 5 hrs of lecture about his decision and army farked up life......last i told him since he had signed on....do his best...do things once and serve proudly.

but his bunk is in pasir laba lei.....i went there once oni......funny thing is during his bmt i didnt even go to tekong during parent visiting day......i oni see him during POP.

I am a bit worried for him lar......father stayed in kampung played in the jungle but still hates Brunei training and finds it very challenging....he is a city boy.....no need to say much more......hahaha!

you should be proud of your son ma..!! [sunny]

civil servant ok ma..

my dad did want me to sign on.. but i hated the colour.. :D

thanks for the headup.....really paisey....he oni an SCS cadet.....maybe i still havent get over the fact that my son is oredy an adult. Sometime.....I still worry for him! Last i scold him was when i got to know he sign on last April. Gave him 5 hrs of lecture about his decision and army farked up life......last i told him since he had signed on....do his best...do things once and serve proudly.

Nowadays OCS (and Army in general) not like our time. They probably take better care of the cadets than their parents!

For sure we would not be looking out for things like drinking enough water, having enough rest etc before our kids go exercises right?

Instead of scolding him, more important to reach him to spend/save his sudden increase in salary wisely! Like giving to you to "safe-keep" and not spend on a car like us! :D

you should be proud of your son ma..!! [sunny]

civil servant ok ma..

my dad did want me to sign on.. but i hated the colour.. :D

of course lar....but seeing many army personals corkup their life.....i just pray he wont be those kind of commanders everybody loves to hate.....sometime i also miss army life.....no need worry about food unless on exercise....nothing much to do except during missions and the likes. But ask me to go through again i will not want.....hahaha!

My bayonet gilat gilat. always see sun one. ^_^

my 'bayonet' for constant stabbing seldom see sun wan.......haha!

Nowadays OCS (and Army in general) not like our time. They probably take better care of the cadets than their parents!

For sure we would not be looking out for things like drinking enough water, having enough rest etc before our kids go exercises right?

Instead of scolding him, more important to reach him to spend/save his sudden increase in salary wisely! Like giving to you to "safe-keep" and not spend on a car like us! :D

after my tongue lashing.....i told him....army is the oni job that you will have the time.....the money.....the opportunity and the guts to do stupid thing. I gave him some sort of challenge.....100k in his bank the day he finish his contract. He said he can.......i hope too!

not all silver bayonet go ocs....

dont care lah....as long he sees out his contract safely i happy liao!

While I do respect quite a few wospec and some regular officers, invariably I feel it tends to limit your own mindset.

At least officer tend to be in charge of their own destiny. Wospec has less control. Dam sad to have no career when u are late 40s and early 50s

Anyway if your son is the gilat but Street smart type. He will do well.

While I do respect quite a few wospec and some regular officers, invariably I feel it tends to limit your own mindset.

At least officer tend to be in charge of their own destiny. Wospec has less control. Dam sad to have no career when u are late 40s and early 50s

Anyway if your son is the gilat but Street smart type. He will do well.

thanks.....i had told him earlier about army retirement plan.....he said oni taking up a single 4-5 yrs contract. I told him many regulars reached 40+ and army dowan them anymore......outside wont heckcare with their army background.....very difficult situation....children will be at middle phase of education. He understood it......thats why he signed on for max 5 yrs nia. I will knock his head should he not be in Officers course but yet apply for jcc just for the experience!

Anyway it is just a myth that officers serve an extra 10 years of reservist. After the first 3 high keys (out of 7), some are asked if they would like to take on higher appointment that are at least Major in rank. These could be Bn S3, Bn 2IC, CO or brigade staff (S1 to S4, 2IC etc).

If they 'volunteered', they would be sent to Command and Staff College (SCSC) for the Battalion level courses that's about 40 plus days. After that they would take on higher posts within the battalion and after 10 years, they would serve another 3 in a new battalion at a higher post, or move to brigade level. Those more 'on' or going after LTC and higher rank could volunteer to serve another cycle of 3 years or so.

Most of my mates moved to Mindef reserve as Captains. Am lucky that my battalion as a whole is very good, from men to officers. We bonded quite well, but to serve extra 3 years in a new place with no friends.. Erm, no thanks! Not as if we very 'gian' the crab some more..

If in Infantry as regular, must get at least 1 or 2 "Confidence" course. If not JCC, there are worse ones like Ranger (come out short circuited), airborne (higher risk), diving ("drowning") etc. JCC relatively OK I think, just learn to literally "eat snake". :D

during the mid 90s when our economy was still booming, SAF had a hard time recruiting regulars.

they offer upon signing, $80K on top of your regular pay into your account.

that was the time they take in many not so great soldiers. all sign up just for that additional $80K.

if you do the maths, 6 yr contract (less 2.5 yr of NS), you actually service only 3.5 yr more.

regular pay+$80K. not a bad deal right?

OCS not in Pasir Labar (where SISPEC is), it is in SAFTI MI. If indeed you went to the old Pasir Laba then it would be SISPEC.....

OCS was in PL before moving to SAFTI MI.

again... iirc [blush]

Quite sure you were not in OCS. During my time, have cross over from SISPEC and commando. All say OCS is tough. One cross over die on first day 10 km run.

Anyway it is just a myth that officers serve an extra 10 years of reservist. After the first 3 high keys (out of 7), some are asked if they would like to take on higher appointment that are at least Major in rank. These could be Bn S3, Bn 2IC, CO or brigade staff (S1 to S4, 2IC etc).

If they 'volunteered', they would be sent to Command and Staff College (SCSC) for the Battalion level courses that's about 40 plus days. After that they would take on higher posts within the battalion and after 10 years, they would serve another 3 in a new battalion at a higher post, or move to brigade level. Those more 'on' or going after LTC and higher rank could volunteer to serve another cycle of 3 years or so.

Most of my mates moved to Mindef reserve as Captains. Am lucky that my battalion as a whole is very good, from men to officers. We bonded quite well, but to serve extra 3 years in a new place with no friends.. Erm, no thanks! Not as if we very 'gian' the crab some more..

Wrong info, i completed command and staff course, no volunteered to stay on, serve the same number of years as other.

Good for you. My mates who did moved on to serve as appointment holders in a new battalion.

Quite sure you were not in OCS. During my time, have cross over from SISPEC and commando. All say OCS is tough. One cross over die on first day 10 km run.

Wrong info, i completed command and staff course, no volunteered to stay on, serve the same number of years as other.