Scenic98 Clutched September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 i have bigger sweat that you. if you really love your partner, you should marry her first. can always live with parents first wah, if not move to the more affordable new estate. waiting for price to drop then get marriage is the worse. cause this is equavalent to getting marriage for the flat and not for love. this type very dangerous for marriage. that was what my wife and i did. got married, stayed with my parents for 5 years and we even had our kid there, while waiting for our flat at p21 to be ready. at one point, there were 10 occupants in my parents place when my bro also moved back after selling his hdb. and as luck would have it, the contractor building our p21 block went bust, building delayed and by then there were better locations for us to choose, so we forfitted part of the deposit. looking back, that was the best decision i've made. as another bro mentioned, be prudent, save save save, have a nice wedding but no need to go overboard like spending thousands on flowers or some overseas photo shoot. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 My sources tells me that Edge-Dee-Bee has activated all their heads to come up with a suitable response due to what has been published in today's newspaper.... apparently they take this matter quite seriously.... Nbz.. later our dearest Marlboro Tan.... decided to implement his infamous C.O.E system also on the HDB flats then you all know. CAT A 3rooms and below CAT B 4 rooms CAT C 5 rooms and EA CAT D EC CAT E Open Next year will be just nice to mark the 20th anniversary for COE system since he first implemented in 1990 when he was still Minister for Transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 Nbz.. later our dearest Marlboro Tan.... decided to implement his infamous C.O.E system also on the HDB flats then you all know. CAT A 3rooms and below CAT B 4 rooms CAT C 5 rooms and EA CAT D EC CAT E Open Next year will be just nice to mark the 20th anniversary for COE system since he first implemented in 1990 when he was still Minister for Transport. CAT E Open AIR ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 Then, after 10 years how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 Then, after 10 years how? After 10 years, scrap your property la.....or renew COE. This one you don't know meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 Got off peak HDB or not? Door must be red colour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 (edited) After 10 years, scrap your property la.....or renew COE. This one you don't know meh? So, renew COE at prevailing rate. Then add 10% property tax surcharge with each additional year up till max 50% surcharge. Flats will need to be inspected every year to ensure no leaks, thereby safe-guarding your neighbour downstairs from unwanted accidental discharge of shits and fertilizers. Die lor, later got some buggers here complain about people living in COE flats, contributing to congestions again, ban COE flats, etc etc.... Edited September 18, 2009 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 So, renew COE at prevailing rate. Then add 10% property tax surcharge with each additional year up till max 50% surcharge. Flats will need to be inspected every year to ensure no leaks, thereby safe-guarding your neighbour downstairs from unwanted accidental discharge of shits and fertilizers. Die lor, later got some buggers here complain about people living in COE flats, contributing to congestions again, ban COE flats, etc etc.... wun ban lah... jus reduce Quota loh... like the car system.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 So, renew COE at prevailing rate. Then add 10% property tax surcharge with each additional year up till max 50% surcharge. Flats will need to be inspected every year to ensure no leaks, thereby safe-guarding your neighbour downstairs from unwanted accidental discharge of shits and fertilizers. Die lor, later got some buggers here complain about people living in COE flats, contributing to congestions again, ban COE flats, etc etc.... Ban COE Flat still better. Later they really install ERP at entrance then xiao Liao... But then hor... like that flat more expensive leh... look at what happen to car when COE introduce... B4 COE, my dad can still buy a mini for less than 6K leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 Ban COE Flat still better. Later they really install ERP at entrance then xiao Liao... But then hor... like that flat more expensive leh... look at what happen to car when COE introduce... B4 COE, my dad can still buy a mini for less than 6K leh... becos car got a additional 100% tax and 20% custom duty mah... then they will pull in demand and supply to balance out the equation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 becos car got a additional 100% tax and 20% custom duty mah... then they will pull in demand and supply to balance out the equation. Yeah, with COE Quota mean lesser ppl can buy flat which also mean lesser ppl want to sell... cause sell liao no home. so lesser supply too... then it become, who have money to buy 2 home can earn while those that cannot buy 2 home will have to suffer cause if not no house to stay... no different from now wah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 of cos got different lah... can keep the people mouth shut mah... will you KBKP to garment if car COE goes up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 of cos got different lah... can keep the people mouth shut mah... will you KBKP to garment if car COE goes up? Wah ban eh... like that ppl like me that keep quite one also kana leh.. now must earn a lot of money to by 2nd house before COE rull got install liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 18, 2009 Share September 18, 2009 Is it really expensive, or is it that young people today find it difficult to afford the flat because they actually overspend?? Someone just raised this idea to me today... Looking at how young people are splurging on clothes, clubbing, etc. makes us wonder how they're ever going to be able to save up for a flat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 19, 2009 Share September 19, 2009 Is it really expensive, or is it that young people today find it difficult to afford the flat because they actually overspend?? Someone just raised this idea to me today... Looking at how young people are splurging on clothes, clubbing, etc. makes us wonder how they're ever going to be able to save up for a flat... I believe its the latter. they spend all they earn so got no money to buy house. period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear September 19, 2009 Author Share September 19, 2009 (edited) I believe its the latter. they spend all they earn so got no money to buy house. period. I have a friend early 30s, earn 10k plus per mth, spend a lot, collect lots of branded watches, buy golf gti, after a yr den change to BMW 525, rent a condo in orchard to stay despite he his own rm in his parent house, buy many gadget etc, now getting married, he start to sell all his assets like car, watches etc coz he no much saving for wedding expense, can earn 10k per mth but no saving, amazing. He himself also tell me that he spend too much, now den realise Edited September 19, 2009 by Curahee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 19, 2009 Share September 19, 2009 I have a friend early 30s, earn 10k plus per mth, spend a lot, collect lots of branded watches, buy golf gti, after a yr den change to BMW 525, rent a condo in orchard to stay despite he his own rm in his parent house, buy many gadget etc, now getting married, he start to sell all his assets like car, watches etc coz he no much saving for wedding expense, can earn 10k per mth but no saving, amazing. He himself also tell me that he spend too much, now den realise Yeah, this is the type of person who complain that HDB price too high... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear September 19, 2009 Share September 19, 2009 actually buidling more flats may or may not solve the problem. the issue here is there r a group of newly weds or soon to be wed who need to get a HDB and there are a group of opportunitst who can afford private/landed but still buy HDB for investment. so competiton happens no matter what. more flats the suggestions by TS is to stop the 2nd group of people, although the suggestions are flawed, it's a good starting point. maybe another suggestion to increase the minimum years b4 flat can be sold example 10yrs? I do not agree on the point about targetting opportunists. As it is, HDB policy only allows for 1 family unit to own 1 HDB flat. There is no way for any one Singaporean to own/co-own more than 1 flat. No richer/poorer citizen is prejudiced by this arrangement. For those who want and dare to invest, it's their choice, and risk, to invest in property. It's not just to deny a person from buying a $3 bowl of prawn noodle soup just because he can afford a $15 bowl of ramen ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...