Gendut 2nd Gear September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 yeah will really drop.. hope that it will not drop until even the MNC all drop out... slowly vote them out is okay.. but not when you intend to vote them out in one go... Another fallacy perpertrated by people with vested interests. Fact: businesses will be whereever there is a profit to be made. Many examples abound. But Kiasuism/kiasiism is very much alive in Singapore so expect to continue paying exorbitantly and please lets see more colourful/creative complaining/whining in the fututre. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 yeah will really drop.. hope that it will not drop until even the MNC all drop out... slowly vote them out is okay.. but not when you intend to vote them out in one go... Another fallacy perpertrated by people with vested interests. Fact: businesses will be whereever there is a profit to be made. Many examples abound. But Kiasuism/kiasiism is very much alive in Singapore so expect to continue paying exorbitantly and please lets see more colourful/creative complaining/whining in the fututre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 Another fallacy perpertrated by people with vested interests. Fact: businesses will be whereever there is a profit to be made. Many examples abound. But Kiasuism/kiasiism is very much alive in Singapore so expect to continue paying exorbitantly and please lets see more colourful/creative complaining/whining in the fututre. That will depend on who took the governement.. i have no worries if its worker party. but if taken over by certain mr chee... i will be sacared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 i think this one sum out very nicely. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...t&p=2875952 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 [EDITORS' NOTE: This letter was submitted to us by Mr Ng Kok Lim who had two letters published earlier by the Straits Times Forum on rising prices of HDB flats. Please feel free to send us your letters at [email protected]] I refer to the HDB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 the reason is because of the Lake side plan that the governement had show mah... Actually flat is jurong have more value when you rent out then sell. can easily earn around 20+k a year. 10 years you can pay off a 4 room liao... The rental demand for jurong west flats is always there because of the industrial/petrochem area there. These 2 industries employs many semi-skilled laborers from 3rd world countries + NTU foreign students all create a huge demand for rental HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 yupe, noted that too. And the thing is normally happend in this way Seller Agent: COV is 30k. Any offer around 28k will deal straight away. Me: (thought and discussed with wife) I will offer ..... (yet to finish my word) Seller agent: Already got an offer at 30k Me: (frustated) Okay, lets move on. After sometime, my agent told me that this particular flat sold at 35k above valuation price. This is not happend once, but everytime being outbidded and peoples are willing to pay higher than asking COV. So there it goes... the problem lies with the singaporeans. Many are willing to pay high price & COVs for resale flats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 [EDITORS' NOTE: This letter was submitted to us by Mr Ng Kok Lim who had two letters published earlier by the Straits Times Forum on rising prices of HDB flats. Please feel free to send us your letters at [email protected]] I refer to the HDB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 The rental demand for jurong west flats is always there because of the industrial/petrochem area there. These 2 industries employs many semi-skilled laborers from 3rd world countries + NTU foreign students all create a huge demand for rental HDB. if i am not wrong... these semi-skilled laborers are given their own quarters in leng kee or similar places... those that are rented out to are the superviors level... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lex250 Clutched September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 So there it goes... the problem lies with the singaporeans. Many are willing to pay high price & COVs for resale flats. quite true, here we r debating on the why, how & why not...yet there are many out there able and willing to participate in this COV....I guess only when all buyers collectively deny sellers the ability to demand COV, the problem will nvr go away Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear September 22, 2009 Author Share September 22, 2009 Wah like 7 mth auction.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario04 1st Gear September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 yupe, noted that too. And the thing is normally happend in this way Seller Agent: COV is 30k. Any offer around 28k will deal straight away. Me: (thought and discussed with wife) I will offer ..... (yet to finish my word) Seller agent: Already got an offer at 30k Me: (frustated) Okay, lets move on. After sometime, my agent told me that this particular flat sold at 35k above valuation price. This is not happend once, but everytime being outbidded and peoples are willing to pay higher than asking COV. actually Jurong area, especially near boon lay mrt one ... the COV really crazy ... heard the highest paid is S$80k!!!! think cos tht area got a gd school - River Valley Sec School cum JC cum boarding school. Plus the Lake plan released by gov ... the whole things go spiraling out of control ... my Jalan Bahar got pple asking for S$350k + at least S$50k COV?!?!?! this is irrational exuberance ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 22, 2009 Share September 22, 2009 actually Jurong area, especially near boon lay mrt one ... the COV really crazy ... heard the highest paid is S$80k!!!! think cos tht area got a gd school - River Valley Sec School cum JC cum boarding school. Plus the Lake plan released by gov ... the whole things go spiraling out of control ... my Jalan Bahar got pple asking for S$350k + at least S$50k COV?!?!?! this is irrational exuberance ... That one hor, wont go through one... mainly they place at Sgd 50K cov is for you to negoiate down one... now a day, in local market, even if you quote at valuation price, ppl will still want lower price. plus now, because the market is up. there are alot of seller that are putting up the price just to see if they can bait any fish or not. they are not seriously seller, just want to try their luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 23, 2009 Share September 23, 2009 Four ways to bring down flat prices I think there is only one way and Singaporeans know it. KICK OUT THE INCUMBENT! But alas Singaporeans only know how to whine and complain and when time to take action, their balls shrink. Well they deserve what the sow. I don't think majority will want to do that. You forget that the majority are probably already owning HDB flat, and hoping for higher and higher prices... Who in their right mind will want their property price to drop?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 23, 2009 Share September 23, 2009 yupe, noted that too. And the thing is normally happend in this way Seller Agent: COV is 30k. Any offer around 28k will deal straight away. Me: (thought and discussed with wife) I will offer ..... (yet to finish my word) Seller agent: Already got an offer at 30k Me: (frustated) Okay, lets move on. After sometime, my agent told me that this particular flat sold at 35k above valuation price. This is not happend once, but everytime being outbidded and peoples are willing to pay higher than asking COV. You got to know your own budget and limitation. Then stick to it. Don't be too stuck on one particular property - that's why many people end up paying through the nose, then complain price is too expensive. When i started out, i know that the max amount of $ i can raise is 25k. So i stuck to this figure and shopped around only for flats that fit this figure... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 23, 2009 Share September 23, 2009 Having said all this, i myself do find the price of mature estate in singapore is overrated. but then again, if ppl are still willing to paid for the flat around the area, it say something about the market of singapore. Yes, i agree - there are a lot of irrational buyers out there who simply MUST get a particular flat in a particular area, and will not compromise. Of course then have to pay the PRICE, very high PRICE I should say If buyers can exercise some discipline and budget constraint, then there wouldn't be such irrational pricing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 23, 2009 Share September 23, 2009 (edited) Yes, i agree - there are a lot of irrational buyers out there who simply MUST get a particular flat in a particular area, and will not compromise. Of course then have to pay the PRICE, very high PRICE I should say If buyers can exercise some discipline and budget constraint, then there wouldn't be such irrational pricing. That is why, how to blame the governement like that?? the cause of problem is themselves lah... move out of the area they want can already... singapore not very big. infacts if they have think through, if they have the money to buy flat in central area. with that amount of cash, they go to new estate like jurong and woodlands, they can buy a car some more. then no where will be far to get to liao... Edited September 23, 2009 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 23, 2009 Share September 23, 2009 Gov needs to shoulder some responsibility because we don't have enough supply. Thus the demand keeps driving the prices up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...