Kelpie 2nd Gear September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 very soon..we'll be like HK..but HK has alot of empty lands on Lantau island and New territories..what we have? Ubin and Tekong? HK is a different case. Their lands are mostly hilly and not quite suitable or cost effective to convert to residential or commercial usages. I think they are larger than us but see how tall are their suburban residential apartments! I hope we will not end up like HK where their so-called 3 rooms flat is the size of our 2 rooms or 1.5 room flat . I think Singapore is a good place for education, making money (attractive for FTs) or a seemingly safe place to live otherwise not much different from else where. If you are rich, Singapore is good for you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gongfumaster Neutral Newbie September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 I am Boss, I ike to hire FT. 1/2 + 2 +3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asdfghjkl Neutral Newbie September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 FTs are cheaper. We can't blame companies for hiring FTs. We can only blame the system which give FTs advantage over heartlanders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 just ask how ur frens who are policeman, how many blue card holders are changing their address everyday. not forgetting those pink card holders who's country of birth is not SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 last time my interns are singaporeans.. in recent years....got intern from china,myanmar,indonesia,malaysia.. colleagues oso gettin multi national.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 If you have stepped into our universities these few years, you may think that you're either in a uni in China or India. More than half on post-grad are non-Singaporeans! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 Good what. A higher population can contribute more tax for nation development mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pufferfish1 Clutched September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 yup.....agreed my classmates in my mba are 80% from other countries out of 11 students only 3 singaporeans..... now i only eat at food stall man by local ... china cant cook s h i t Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhooloot Neutral Newbie September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 If you have stepped into our universities these few years, you may think that you're either in a uni in China or India. More than half on post-grad are non-Singaporeans! I think Singaporeans cannot compete with FT in terms of Intelligence... what to do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gongfumaster Neutral Newbie September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 That's why we have ITE, POLYTECHNICS & Instiutes that offers not so recognised degree courses for Singaporean. NTU, NUS, SMU are filling up FT by the thousands. even lectureres are FT. "CMI" Singaporean need not apply, pls go to poly. I blame it on our edu system, it sucks! It filters out the slower but intelligent/lazy stidents so efficiently that these students ended up being marginlised, low self-esteem and demoralised. I feel every Singaporean child should be given opportunity to go to Uni, just like going for National Service. Sad, very sad. I see our future, high end jobs for FT, low end jobs also for FT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 I blame it on our edu system, it sucks! It filters out the slower but intelligent/lazy stidents so efficiently that these students ended up being marginlised, low self-esteem and demoralised. I feel every Singaporean child should be given opportunity to go to Uni, just like going for National Service. every singaporean child fit and capable of taking a university degree should be put to university, and no FT should steal his place in a local uni. but every s'porean child should go uni? sorry, i beg to differ. it is a fact of life that not every human is cut out to achieve such high academic success. sometimes its because some humans are slower, sometimes that human is equally capable but lazy, sometimes its because the human has great talents somewhere else. the idea that these all should go uni is ridiculous. people are different, but not necessarily inferior. i wont argue that in s'pore, students who dont achieve academic success are marginalized. its true this happens, and i agree it shouldn be so. but just handing out paper qualifications to everyone despite differences and/or weaknesses is not an answer. that paper will completely lose its value. its already happening, today locals with degrees are a dime a dozen, and this is with the gruelling competition still in place. for that paper to mean something, then only the academically gifted, or those hardworking enough to achieve that success, should be allowed to receive that paper. every singaporean has equal opportunity to qualify for university. everybody goes through the same education system. even if for some reason a parent refuses to send the child thru the standard system, the child can still take his O's and A's as a private candidate and have his results evaluated equally like everyone else for uni entry. yes, we definitely must do something about the kids marginalized for not achieving academic success. but freely handing out the paper is not the solution. and i'll say one last thing: it is we s'poreans ourselves who totally enjoy looking down on our fellow s'poreans that is a big part of the problem of people being marginalized. look down on red-platers, look down on bikers, look down on ITE cert.... how not to get marginalized? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gongfumaster Neutral Newbie September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 Very strange, suddenly U-turn, now "they" say FT population reducing, maybe they just want to appease us??? Foreign population growth slows down by Esther Ng 05:55 AM Sep 29, 2009IN A sign of things to come, the pace of growth of the foreign population in Singapore has hit the brakes. After two years of double-digit increase and five years of an acceleration in the influx of non-residents - since the last time the Singapore economy had stalled - their numbers grew by 4.8 per cent from June last year to this June. Still, it was enough to tip the total population to almost 5 million in a recession-hit Singapore. The biggest jump - looking at the growth trends in recent years - was among permanent residents (PRs). After averaging an annual increase of 9.9 per cent over the decade leading up to 2000 - and smaller annual growth rates in the new millennium - the number of PRs grew 11.5 per cent, as of this June, from the year before. The "period of uncertainty" that has clouded the world's economies - and by extension, has curbed the growth momentum in Singapore's non-resident population here of 14.9 per cent in 2007 and 19 per cent last year - is also the reason for the double-digit increase in the number of PRs here, said CIMB-GK economist Song Seng Wun. "It's not unexpected ... These people could have become PRs to stay in Singapore or Asia to look for jobs. They ... are using Singapore as a launching pad," he told Today. Singapore's population density is now 6,814 people per square kilometre, compared to 5,900 per sq km in 2000. Mr Song said: "For the moment, Singapore's infrastructure is adequate. The infrastructure is continually being upgraded." The Population Trends 2009 report published online yesterday by the Singapore Department of Statistics also showed that other trends in ageing and marriage in Singapore continue to hold steady. The proportion of persons living alone now stands at 10 per-cent, from 8.2 per cent in 2000 and 5.2 per cent in 1990. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gongfumaster Neutral Newbie September 28, 2009 Share September 28, 2009 (edited) every singaporean child fit and capable of taking a university degree should be put to university, and no FT should steal his place in a local uni. but every s'porean child should go uni? sorry, i beg to differ. it is a fact of life that not every human is cut out to achieve such high academic success. sometimes its because some humans are slower, sometimes that human is equally capable but lazy, sometimes its because the human has great talents somewhere else. the idea that these all should go uni is ridiculous. people are different, but not necessarily inferior. i wont argue that in s'pore, students who dont achieve academic success are marginalized. its true this happens, and i agree it shouldn be so. but just handing out paper qualifications to everyone despite differences and/or weaknesses is not an answer. that paper will completely lose its value. its already happening, today locals with degrees are a dime a dozen, and this is with the gruelling competition still in place. for that paper to mean something, then only the academically gifted, or those hardworking enough to achieve that success, should be allowed to receive that paper. every singaporean has equal opportunity to qualify for university. everybody goes through the same education system. even if for some reason a parent refuses to send the child thru the standard system, the child can still take his O's and A's as a private candidate and have his results evaluated equally like everyone else for uni entry. yes, we definitely must do something about the kids marginalized for not achieving academic success. but freely handing out the paper is not the solution. and i'll say one last thing: it is we s'poreans ourselves who totally enjoy looking down on our fellow s'poreans that is a big part of the problem of people being marginalized. look down on red-platers, look down on bikers, look down on ITE cert.... how not to get marginalized? ok, i agreed not can go Uni. But I think most can make it, if not for our what? EM1, EM2, EM3, normal, express, special system. I think now they scraped EM3, but they still cluster smart and slow student in diff classes. We should have a credit edu system, you clock a number of credits and you pass PSLE, O levels, A levels etc. In current system if you fail one subject, you have to be retain the whole year, waste of time and demoralised. I think USA edu system like that? also no need wear uniform, more liberal, more crative, more innovative. ya, we are argue till the bulls go home, in the end, obedience edu system is still the game. Edited September 29, 2009 by Gongfumaster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeshunda100 Neutral Newbie September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 (edited) That's why we have ITE, POLYTECHNICS & Instiutes that offers not so recognised degree courses for Singaporean. NTU, NUS, SMU are filling up FT by the thousands. even lectureres are FT. "CMI" Singaporean need not apply, pls go to poly. I blame it on our edu system, it sucks! [b]It filters out [/b]the slower but intelligent/lazy stidents so efficiently that these students ended up being marginlised, low self-esteem and demoralised. I feel every Singaporean child should be given opportunity to go to Uni, just like going for National Service. Sad, very sad. I see our future, high end jobs for FT, low end jobs also for FT. Well said!!! Edited September 29, 2009 by Leeshunda100 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 (edited) lets look at it this way: every kampong ppl has 3 phases (or more) in life i.e. phase 1: 1-25 yrs = growth phase 2: 25- 50 yrs = making a living phase 3: 50 - 60 yrs = retirement/harvest the problem is that our phase 1 is tremendously 'eating' into the phase 2 - be it financially, standards/demands and stresses etc. so there MUST be availability in phase 2 to pay back in phase 1 & MORE to attribute into phase 2. by rite, phase 2 is the foundation of phase 3, NOT phase 1! worse, how many years in this 25 yrs in phase 2 is needed to contribute in generating the new phase 1? more worse, the new phase 1 is getting into the late phase 2 of many ppl simply b Edited September 29, 2009 by A_korusawa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gongfumaster Neutral Newbie September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 wah, very deep. lets look at it this way: every kampong ppl has 3 phases (or more) in life i.e. phase 1: 1-25 yrs = growth phase 2: 25- 50 yrs = making a living phase 3: 50 - 60 yrs = retirement/harvest the problem is that our phase 1 is tremendously 'eating' into the phase 2 - be it financially, standards/demands and stresses etc. so there MUST be availability in phase 2 to pay back in phase 1 & MORE to attribute into phase 2. by rite, phase 2 is the foundation of phase 3, NOT phase 1! worse, how many years in this 25 yrs in phase 2 is needed to contribute in generating the new phase 1? more worse, the new phase 1 is getting into the late phase 2 of many ppl simply b Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 FTs are cheaper. We can't blame companies for hiring FTs. We can only blame the system which give FTs advantage over heartlanders. My company I'm working for hired an FT from mumbai to do marketing (60% job scope overlap with mine). He's got: - Good qualifications - More experience from his past few years working in KL - Damn hardworking - No NS liabilities with this type of FTs freely available, how can any employers resist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 29, 2009 Share September 29, 2009 My company I'm working for hired an FT from mumbai to do marketing (60% job scope overlap with mine). He's got: - Good qualifications - More experience from his past few years working in KL - Damn hardworking - No NS liabilities with this type of FTs freely available, how can any employers resist? siao leow, le ai tio pok leow? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...