Feels like less than 4M population now

Evo5sg

Drove to a few HDB estates today.

could feel the space and less crowded, like when population was below 4M more than 10 years back.

On 12/24/2023 at 8:47 PM, Wt_know said:

1.5M went out holiday liao ... LOL

Fully Agreed...+ a few Thousands Kena Covid.

Edited by ER-3682

And less than 10 with no Xmas invitation or programme stay at home typing on his computer replying messages in MCF forum.. Oh wait..

Edited by Ender
  • Haha! 20

On 12/24/2023 at 8:42 PM, Evo5sg said:

Drove to a few HDB estates today.

could feel the space and less crowded, like when population was below 4M more than 10 years back.

You are right.  Everywhere seems less people today  such that I decided to  spend my time in the afternoon taking busses around just to enjoy the routes.

Think I spent 3 hours today just taking different busses back and forth. So few people on busses! Nice!

Lovely afternoon. Glad I did all my food indulgence  in JB last week and now I have a quiet SG to myself during Xmas...😁

Edited by Starry

On 12/24/2023 at 9:03 PM, Ender said:

And less than 10 with no Xmas invitation or programme stay at home typing on his computer replying messages in MCF forum.. Oh wait..

Most are at home waiting for Santa Claus arrival.....

From Shopee, Lazada or TB.

Trying to tide over the incoming 9% GST

Sg where got lesser population, i find getting more crowded.

This long weekend seems like lesser people, cause more than half people staying in sg now in overseas liao.

But also must see which part of sg you go la. Hearsay orchard rd and places of interest mountain people mountain sea. 😅

On 12/24/2023 at 9:21 PM, Atonchia said:

Most are at home waiting for Santa Claus arrival.....

From Shopee, Lazada or TB.

Trying to tide over the incoming 9% GST

Ya, many people stay home to buy last minute shopping before 9% GST, so not free to go out.

Go to shopping centres ….. all doing last minute shopping …Q’s are long ……

but also nowadays can see even some Hawker centres the stall holders also go “makan  angin” overseas …..with temporary closed signs 

Many are still overseas clearing forced to take leaves too 

seems like Orchard also experiencing smaller crowds this Xmas? lol

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/some-retailers-see-slower-business-along-orchard-road-christmas-4006996

‘It’s not as good as last year’: No Christmas cheer for some retailers along Orchard Road

Some retailers say crowds have thinned with many locals going overseas for a year-end holiday, while others also point to concerns about inflation and the lure of a weak Malaysian ringgit.

On 12/25/2023 at 7:59 AM, Scion said:

seems like Orchard also experiencing smaller crowds this Xmas? lol

all cheong JB liao ... JB hotel occupancy rate as highest above 90% ... huat ah!

Genting also ... people mountain people head 

packed like sardines ... :grin:

On 12/25/2023 at 4:00 AM, BanCoe said:

Go to shopping centres ….. all doing last minute shopping …Q’s are long ……

but also nowadays can see even some Hawker centres the stall holders also go “makan  angin” overseas …..with temporary closed signs 

Many are still overseas clearing forced to take leaves too 

Ya lo, some of my regular makan stall closed in nov and dec, i sian half lo since i seldom eat at randomly food stall de.

On 12/25/2023 at 10:24 AM, Wt_know said:

all cheong JB liao ... JB hotel occupancy rate as highest above 90% ... huat ah!

Genting also ... people mountain people head 

packed like sardines ... :grin:

Also happens to be malaysia school holiday period. There is a lot of domestic travel to malaysia tourist spots. Very packed.