Darryn Turbocharged October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 A few quick thoughts.. 1. THE RING - many girls are fussy about what they wear, you choose as a surprise and she don't like then how? Unless you can think up excuse and see what she likes first and then surprise her. 2. Asking the Parents. this is a simple action of respect. I never asked my wife's parents, instead we take out for dinner and inform them of the decision. BUT the more traditional type may like to be asked first. 3. THE PROPOSAL, some great ideas expressed here. To my thinking the most important thing is not to do a "hollywood" proposal. (Something that is super romantic and taken from the movies etc) Instead do something that is super personal and proves to her that you remember what she does and does not like. Can you recreate something from your first date? Can you prove to her you remember what happened on first anniversary? Can you get the person who introduced you to do something? Can you recreate a scene from the first movie you saw together? (for example, if she really loves "an officer and a gentleman" rent a navy officer costume and go propose at her workplace - cheap and romantic) As an example, the first movie my wife and I saw was "My Best Friends Wedding" - if I was to "repropose" now, it would be by singing "Say a little Prayer" If you would like to do in Singapore it is also possible to buy advertising at the cinema and give them your own MP4 file to play as a proposal (the logistics may be a bit hard to arrange in Hong Kong) Also talk to the hotel - most hotels have one channel dedicated to their own show - it may be possible to pipe a pre-recorded video over this. As to arranging something with the hotel - there are two ways - you can get the hotel to buy and charge to the room, or there jsut call up a florist in Hong Kong and have them deliver - I did this in Shen Zhen for our anniversary, had flowers delivered to the hotel while my wife was travelling on a business trip (I was back in Singapore) How talented are you at IT? What may also be a plan - you know the ticker that runs under the CNA Prime Time Morning? Record one show of prime time morning and edit in your own ticker - Will you marry me? Slip it into the hotel room DVD (assuming they have one) and ask her to watch with you, pretend you didn't see - see if she notice. Sorry for the really long post - I guess the biggest thing (IMO) for a proposal is to prove to the girl that you pay attention to her and know her, if do a prosposal that shows this, regardless of whether extravagent or "romantic" she will totally love it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
City100a Neutral Newbie October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 it is expensive to get marry nowadays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 Hi guys,I'm planning to propose to my girl in like 3 months time.No much idea how I can go about it.Heard ring use for proposal is 1 ring,and there's another pair of rings for the wedding.Is it true?Also,I intend to propose to her when we go oversea trip next year.Any idea to spice up the proposal?Or how I should go about it? Currently in the plan is we'll be going to Hong Kong next year Feb,and I intend to propose to her in the airplane,or would it be better if we're at victoria peak????Guys!!!I need help!Thanks and Gam Xia joi joi.. Aiyah, so troublesome. Ask her to go HDB apply for flat can already lah. Buy ring later she don't like or don't want to marry you , how? Just go HDB you save money for proposal ring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 Talk to SIA and request the Captain to announce for attention. Do the proposal in the plane with the help from the aircrews. Make sure you do it immediately before the plane will be touching down, else after time effect will be kinda boring. Enjoy pal!~ sadly i thk singaporeans are not that romantic and im talking abt the passengers...i thk most would b irritated by this "disturbance"..."the wedding singer" proposal jus dun work with us i thk haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Author Share October 26, 2009 A few quick thoughts.. 1. THE RING - many girls are fussy about what they wear, you choose as a surprise and she don't like then how? Unless you can think up excuse and see what she likes first and then surprise her. 2. Asking the Parents. this is a simple action of respect. I never asked my wife's parents, instead we take out for dinner and inform them of the decision. BUT the more traditional type may like to be asked first. 3. THE PROPOSAL, some great ideas expressed here. To my thinking the most important thing is not to do a "hollywood" proposal. (Something that is super romantic and taken from the movies etc) Instead do something that is super personal and proves to her that you remember what she does and does not like. Can you recreate something from your first date? Can you prove to her you remember what happened on first anniversary? Can you get the person who introduced you to do something? Can you recreate a scene from the first movie you saw together? (for example, if she really loves "an officer and a gentleman" rent a navy officer costume and go propose at her workplace - cheap and romantic) As an example, the first movie my wife and I saw was "My Best Friends Wedding" - if I was to "repropose" now, it would be by singing "Say a little Prayer" If you would like to do in Singapore it is also possible to buy advertising at the cinema and give them your own MP4 file to play as a proposal (the logistics may be a bit hard to arrange in Hong Kong) Also talk to the hotel - most hotels have one channel dedicated to their own show - it may be possible to pipe a pre-recorded video over this. As to arranging something with the hotel - there are two ways - you can get the hotel to buy and charge to the room, or there jsut call up a florist in Hong Kong and have them deliver - I did this in Shen Zhen for our anniversary, had flowers delivered to the hotel while my wife was travelling on a business trip (I was back in Singapore) How talented are you at IT? What may also be a plan - you know the ticker that runs under the CNA Prime Time Morning? Record one show of prime time morning and edit in your own ticker - Will you marry me? Slip it into the hotel room DVD (assuming they have one) and ask her to watch with you, pretend you didn't see - see if she notice. Sorry for the really long post - I guess the biggest thing (IMO) for a proposal is to prove to the girl that you pay attention to her and know her, if do a prosposal that shows this, regardless of whether extravagent or "romantic" she will totally love it. I did ask her what ring she prefer,citing the reason that there's a online poll abt what girls like.Her answer is pure gold as oppose to white gold.So need some advise here,is there pure gold with diamond on it?I want to get something she like,and then on knee to propose.I agree the logistic over at HK side is more tedious,but I don't mind trying to arrange for flowers,but the problem is she doesn't like me spending on extravagant,flower is one of them.So probably flower is out.So probably some idea which can compensate this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 I feel a good proposal should be something sincere, personal and not too complicated. You are proposing to the girl you love, not for others to see. Good luck! u hv a very good point! nowadays many pple do things jus to "show" the pple ard...even buying car, a fren had to ask us what do we think of it etc, weddings, furniture even electronics for the house haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 I did ask her what ring she prefer,citing the reason that there's a online poll abt what girls like.Her answer is pure gold as oppose to white gold.So need some advise here,is there pure gold with diamond on it?I want to get something she like,and then on knee to propose.I agree the logistic over at HK side is more tedious,but I don't mind trying to arrange for flowers,but the problem is she doesn't like me spending on extravagant,flower is one of them.So probably flower is out.So probably some idea which can compensate this? Yes... basically gold got white gold, 18 karat and 24 karat (spelling?). If I remember correctly the higher the carat the more "pure" - but ask a jeweller about this. Remember also that more pure = softer so the ring (particularly the clasps for the diamond) will not be as strong. A factor to consider. Also look at the diamond setting - is basically two types, "rub over" and "claw" Claw setting shows the diamond better and makes it look bigger, rub over is more secure and holds the diamond in place better. If she not the sort to appreciate "extravagent" flowers, then perhaps you do a twist on the "practical singaporean" way of propose - maybe some feng shui item that brings love and children into home? Do you happen to be into photography at all? I heard about someone else that propose with a self taken photo of a swan - blown up to a postere and framed (significant as swans mate for life)...so present to her and tell her want to hang over bed as you want your love to be like the swans - you want to be together forever.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Author Share October 26, 2009 You're saying don't get the white gold that's too pure?I thought that only applies to gold as I bought her a anklet and the sales person says pure gold very weak.I think the diamond I'll look for claw design,she's those very cumblesome person,think the diamond drop off she also would realise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 You're saying don't get the white gold that's too pure?I thought that only applies to gold as I bought her a anklet and the sales person says pure gold very weak.I think the diamond I'll look for claw design,she's those very cumblesome person,think the diamond drop off she also would realise. Nope - not giving any advice at all - is for you to decide which is more important to you. Just try to inform some of the issues that want to be aware of. Is like buying car - different cars for different purposes. Ring the same, different golds for different usage patterns. If GF (soon to be fiancee) wear a lot, do a lot of very active things then maybe a "harder" gold better. If very delicate princess type and not wear so often perhaps go for more pure gold. Just as a side note, can now get husband and wife matching engagment ring sets - it is becoming more popular for men to now also wear ring. Perhaps can use this as a ruse to get her to go shopping with you - buy matching set? As a further side note, the guideline on affordability is that you are supposed to spend 2.5 - 3 months salary on the ring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 I did ask her what ring she prefer,citing the reason that there's a online poll abt what girls like.Her answer is pure gold as oppose to white gold.So need some advise here,is there pure gold with diamond on it?I want to get something she like,and then on knee to propose.I agree the logistic over at HK side is more tedious,but I don't mind trying to arrange for flowers,but the problem is she doesn't like me spending on extravagant,flower is one of them.So probably flower is out.So probably some idea which can compensate this? don't think got ring made of pure gold, cos it'll be too soft already, ur diamond will probably drop off after a while... but there are diamond rings in yellow gold as opposed to white gold n platinum. but then really depends on taste, yellow gold w diamond abut weird... is ur GF refering to plain yellow gold ring or yellow gold ring with diamond. also do take note to actually try on the yellow gold ring, cos some skin tone just not nice with yellow gold, i also like yellow gold ring but when i put on my finger it just looks funny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 the only ring you'll be looking at is the suffer-RING.... hahaha I also just proposed by the way... did it in Myanmar on holiday at a lakeside on my knees... the key is to know where to do it =) so do your homework before flying there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 for your infor, the bro above is correct... no such thing as 999 pure gold for rings cuz it's much too soft... personally mine is platinum... a bit more exp but more scratch resistant... and trust me, she'll love whatever you buy for her... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 (edited) here bro is an example of 14K gold diamond ring Edited October 26, 2009 by Tunge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Author Share October 26, 2009 That's like near 5k or so.Is that a norm?Cause my girl quite money sense,if she know spend so much,she'll say she rather I spend that money and bring her to holiday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Author Share October 26, 2009 the only ring you'll be looking at is the suffer-RING.... hahaha I also just proposed by the way... did it in Myanmar on holiday at a lakeside on my knees... the key is to know where to do it =) so do your homework before flying there! I'm thinking of victoria peak at HK.Heard from my friend that's a nice place which can oversea part of HK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carcuter88 Neutral Newbie October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 Congrats on your successful find! Is your girl a person who gets shy easily? Unsporting personality? From what I think, you may try to propose on a cable car. At least it saves you the fear of her being paiseh and walking away (not unless she attmepts to jump out). And the best of all, its not gonna minus big digits from your bank account. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 26, 2009 Share October 26, 2009 Do it the Singapore way! "Want to buy flat together or not?" Same here, i nv even give my wife diamond ring coz she say its a useless stone, save the money for reno more practical. Save me money and trouble Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear October 26, 2009 Author Share October 26, 2009 Congrats on your successful find! Is your girl a person who gets shy easily? Unsporting personality? From what I think, you may try to propose on a cable car. At least it saves you the fear of her being paiseh and walking away (not unless she attmepts to jump out). And the best of all, its not gonna minus big digits from your bank account. Shy I don't think so.Unsporting I don't think so too.She's ok with stuff but proposal in front of ppl,I don't know she can take it not.I'm thinking of holding her hand and ask the question.If she pai say wanna walk away,at least I still hold on to her. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...