Kusje Supersonic November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 aiyahh why compare them to those doing MLM...these are disabled & old ppl...jz help lah...dun wan jz turn down politely. They dun force U unlike scheming MLM They harass you when you are eating. Imagine if an abled bodied young man comes up to you to bug you to buy his tissue; why should we discriminate against an abled bodied young man if we don't think the elderly are wrong to do so? Also, there are many people that try to "force" you to buy from them. Look at the threadstarter, he is asking for reasons why people don't buy from them. Why should anyone need a reason not to buy something other than the fact that the price is not right and that they don't need it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 (edited) u think its easy to walk around with a big plastic bag full of tissues, going around asking pple to buy tissue??? Think of it as you just help someone. even if he is just preying on your sympathy, you know you have just help someone rather to missing out on someone who deserve help.. moreover, its only $1. If its still well within our capacity, why not stretch your helping hand? How different is that from giving that $1 to a begger who is .. say, with a missing limb? Bottom line is that you are not buying something that you had wanted to in the first place but are doing so out of sympathy. ... Just raising a point to think about. I believe everyone here have the right to do with his/her money as they deem fit Edited November 20, 2009 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 (edited) They harass you when you are eating. Imagine if an abled bodied young man comes up to you to bug you to buy his tissue; why should we discriminate against an abled bodied young man if we don't think the elderly are wrong to do so? Also, there are many people that try to "force" you to buy from them. Look at the threadstarter, he is asking for reasons why people don't buy from them. Why should anyone need a reason not to buy something other than the fact that the price is not right and that they don't need it? Agree. If I don't want to buy, I just don't want to buy... I don't owe the other party an explanation Edited November 20, 2009 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 agree very much with u. every couple of months i bring all the tissue to office and distribute. Eyh, your office damn the happening hor, "using a lot of tissue paper". After OT in the office use tissue paper more chee khek in the office hor? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 There was once I bought 3 packs from an old man. Then after finishing my rice, went to another part the same hawker centre for desert. The same old man who didn't recognise me came up to me again at the new table and asked me to buy. I declined politely and u know what? He used valgarities on me and insulted me. CCB! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 9/10 times i will buy.. coz i always forget to bring tissue for lunch.. sometimes if i tat person is really old or disabled, i juz give them $2-$5... sometime come to tink of it, one pack of cigarette already how much.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 My thoughts on this : If one decides to be charitable, and though out of the 100 persons maybe 99 persons are not genuinely selling tissues out of needs, one will still buy. Why ? Because its about that 1 person who sells it out of necessity, not the other 99. Tissue is cheap so may be less of a concern. What if what they are selling is more costly (eg trinkets at $10 each), how do we respond ? I think we have the free choice to help to what level we can and how often we can because one should give out of his own free will and not under compulsion. If we develop this attitude over time in our own means and conviction of being charitable, we will then derive immense joy from the act of being charitable and considerations such as whether we are cheated, what is the amount, 1 person or 100 persons is of less consequence. Not very logical and even sounds like a fool one will say, but to be charitable entails being vulnerable because there is no practical way to establish who is genuine or not. Well, charitable fools have a important place in this world too... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear November 20, 2009 Author Share November 20, 2009 Have to agree with some saying that some are young and able bodies which im not going to buy from or some may try to force u to buy.to me,i only buy with those elderly or disable only.Most of these are ok when u juz let them know ur intention that u dun want to.its some kuku who try to force u to buy then that is too much liao .What im trying to imply is that those with disability which i find pple rejecting them quite harshly,and believe me,i encounter a partially blind man was told by an idiot saying:"cant u see im eating".....by the way,this blind man was not 1 of those sellers insists of forcing pple to buy . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear November 20, 2009 Author Share November 20, 2009 9/10 times i will buy.. coz i always forget to bring tissue for lunch.. sometimes if i tat person is really old or disabled, i juz give them $2-$5... sometime come to tink of it, one pack of cigarette already how much.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 It seems like ppl dun use handkerchief anymore. I used to use it when I was in primary & sec school. After tissue paper become widely used, I notice very few ppl still use handkerchief including myself. Tissue paper create a lot of waste to the environment. I think I'm switching back to handkerchief dan I can tell the tissue uncle/auntie, "Sorry ah, I'm trying to save the environment by using handkerchief". You might say the piece of cloth uses water & soap to clean. Waste water but the handkerchief has many surfaces you can fold and "re-use". The atissue aunties/uncles can also save the environment and sell handkerchief, they can earn more dan selling tissues plus they can spread the message of saving our planet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 i usually buy from the old people as i have respect for elderly who are independent and earn a living for themselves, it's doing a good deed for myself and it's certainly an amount which i can afford Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 aniwae it is still the thking of demand and supply. If more people buy then more sellers will emerge. Coz SGreans are all generous people. If there isnt a need, you wont buy either. But most would out of sympathy will go buy. Most of the tissue sellers are ok, only a handful are persistant and would even mumble and scold you if you dun buy. I choose to walk away and ignore them. No point scolding them as will attract curious onlookers and probably even others will start the war... I like those that sells soft toys, usually they are mute (or faking i dun know), i will smile and shake my head and they would go away quietly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear November 20, 2009 Share November 20, 2009 My thoughts on this : If one decides to be charitable, and though out of the 100 persons maybe 99 persons are not genuinely selling tissues out of needs, one will still buy. Why ? Because its about that 1 person who sells it out of necessity, not the other 99. Tissue is cheap so may be less of a concern. What if what they are selling is more costly (eg trinkets at $10 each), how do we respond ? I think we have the free choice to help to what level we can and how often we can because one should give out of his own free will and not under compulsion. If we develop this attitude over time in our own means and conviction of being charitable, we will then derive immense joy from the act of being charitable and considerations such as whether we are cheated, what is the amount, 1 person or 100 persons is of less consequence. Not very logical and even sounds like a fool one will say, but to be charitable entails being vulnerable because there is no practical way to establish who is genuine or not. Well, charitable fools have a important place in this world too... :) hehe... yeah... like funding for a golden tap or a pet horse in Australia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear November 21, 2009 Share November 21, 2009 I used to fund this old lady at a particular coffee shop... But one day, i saw her after selling the tissue, she spend away the money drinking beer and smoking... =.= I stop.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 21, 2009 Share November 21, 2009 I think I'm switching back to handkerchief dan I can tell the tissue uncle/auntie, "Sorry ah, I'm trying to save the environment by using handkerchief". Huh? You don't owe them any explanation. Why force yourself to use a hanky just to be able to give them an excuse? Just say no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magnum Clutched November 21, 2009 Share November 21, 2009 They harass you when you are eating. Imagine if an abled bodied young man comes up to you to bug you to buy his tissue; why should we discriminate against an abled bodied young man if we don't think the elderly are wrong to do so? Also, there are many people that try to "force" you to buy from them. Look at the threadstarter, he is asking for reasons why people don't buy from them. Why should anyone need a reason not to buy something other than the fact that the price is not right and that they don't need it? Bottom line it's ur judgement, conscience & sincerity. If you willing to help so be it , if not so be it. sometime I jz give without taking the tissues....and i believe many of us do that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 21, 2009 Share November 21, 2009 Remember MingYi and Durai? Ultimate examples of sympathy exploitation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2009 Share November 21, 2009 Tissue cost average about $0.04/pkt in supermarket, can go for more than $0.30/pkt. Its good way to earn. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...