Cat being tied up and left to choke

Friendstar

Faint. Must be those aunties. Haiz.

btw uu said dogs can condole but cats cannot? IMO it should be the other way leh. By any measure, cats are more hygienic than dogs. IMO.

Uu hv bad experience with cats b4?

The hygiene issue is therefore caused by the feeders and not the animal itself. The root of the problem is still human.

The one and only way to stop this will be to speak to these feeders nicely that what they are doing is doing more harm than good. Hopefully some will listen and spread the word to the other irresponsible feeders. Stopping the feeding will only cause the cats to scavenge which is not good for all. A well fed cat is much cleaner and has a much higher chance to resist illnesses.

There is this uncle in my estate who will cook for the community cats. He will distribute the food on cut newspapers and make one round around the whole estate feeding them. Once that is done, he will make another round to collect back all the newspaper and uneaten food. Other feeders use plates and they clear up after the cat has eaten as well. My estate is pretty clean. Not many incidences of irresponsible feeders.

I don't agree. I can't say for dogs but for cats, even community cats, their actions are pretty predictable because all they think about is food, shelter, fight or flight.

I am not requesting that your kids not run around the estate. But don't tell me everywhere they go to, there are community cats around?

I wouldn't like to be scratched but what I am saying is that, most times, the scratches are superficial.

Most cats bury their faeces so they tend to pass motion in sandy areas where they can cover them.

Do you know what the authorities do to the captured cats? They are killed unnecessarily. Feeding and monitoring them gives them a chance to live out their lives which is around 10 for a stray.

Actually you are wrong to say that cats roam. They don't. Esp if they have found a shelter with adequate food, water and safety. Cats prowl around their territory to secure it so that no other cats will come over to share their food. Usually, that territory is a block or two for female cats and a few more blocks for male cats.

Do you also know that many of these community cats are day time companions to the old folks who sit around the void deck shooting the breeze? They interact with them and in return, they get some company to pass the time.

I went through my post again re-reading it. It has been very factual with no outburst. I just wanted to present another side of the argument so that you may have a better understanding of these harmless animals living alongside us. Unfortunately, you do not seem to appreciate it.

I think you know that your child's behavior is shaped by you. I hope he/she/they can be more community cat/dog friendly in the future.

Regards.

You sound like a cat lover to me, like i say not all ppl like cats. My wife is one example, she is afraid of cats due to her childhood incident where a cat pounded on her while she was eating at playground. Since then she has phobia of getting near cat. So for ppl like her, just imagine what if one day she happen to see a cat sleeping on top of her car? Don't drive to work that day? Stray cats do give problems to neighbourhood, the funny noise they make at night(like crying baby sound), some will follow u when they sense food in your bags etc. If majority of the neighbours feel that stray cats are giving more problems then joy, then i think calling authority to help is one option. Whether how they will deal with the cats i don't know and up to them to decide.

btw uu said dogs can condole but cats cannot? IMO it should be the other way leh. By any measure, cats are more hygienic than dogs. IMO.

i refer to pet dog with official owners. Those should be properly train and groom.

Stray dogs i'll chase it off my estate immediately!!!!! My boy ever kena chased by a stray dog when he was 1+ yrs old in broad daylight.

As for the stray cats, like i said, its one fine day i'll make that complaint. Cos so far, i've been able to prevent my 3yr boy from getting anywhere near them.....at least most of the time.

i do not like to see innocent cats being put down for nothing. But if my 3 yr old son has not reach the age of comprehending and act rationary on stray cats, i cannot guarantee he does not stamp or grab at it(which he has done b4).....and thus getting injured. If that one unfortunate incident does occur, i'll make sure the whole cat clan is gone ASAP!

My 6yr old girl on the other hand understands the cat's plight after some explainations. I dont mind her getting close to the cats but strictly no touching. Even when she does steals a stroke or 2 on the cat occasionally, Its still aceptable to us.

Edited by Hiphiphoray

strays are dirty? if you think strays are dirty, then i feel that touching the handles and poles of buses/trains are even more dirty....ppl sneeze go toilet without washing their hands!!!

pls lor...my hdb blocks have ppl dumping egg shells, used sanitary pads and condoms around...who r the dirty one???

u dont like doesnt give u a reason to kill. same apply to humans.

Edited by Babyt

sometime i cannot help but to think is the culprit a student??? cos already finished exam and holiday just started, too much free time. dun be surprise there will be increase of vandalism and arson in MSCP.....

The hygiene issue is therefore caused by the feeders and not the animal itself. The root of the problem is still human.

The one and only way to stop this will be to speak to these feeders nicely that what they are doing is doing more harm than good. Hopefully some will listen and spread the word to the other irresponsible feeders. Stopping the feeding will only cause the cats to scavenge which is not good for all. A well fed cat is much cleaner and has a much higher chance to resist illnesses.

There is this uncle in my estate who will cook for the community cats. He will distribute the food on cut newspapers and make one round around the whole estate feeding them. Once that is done, he will make another round to collect back all the newspaper and uneaten food. Other feeders use plates and they clear up after the cat has eaten as well. My estate is pretty clean. Not many incidences of irresponsible feeders.

Talking about stray cats and cat lovers, i have seen ppl feeding stray cats in neighbourhood. What i don't understand is if they really love the cat, why don't they bring them home and keep? Stray cats can sometimes be annoying to ppl, like sleeping on top of cars and leaving scratch marks, making funny noise at night, although most of them are harmless but not all ppl like cat.

There are lots of reason why the cat lover can't bring them back to their house. I for one feed the stray cats in my neighbourhood. I have a bottle of pellets in my car and I feed them whenever i got a chance. However my wify is damn scared of cats and I have a few rabbits at home too...

My neighbourhood got quite a number of stray cats too. Have seen them resting on top of cars many times. Shittt all over the grass patch.

Told off the person feeding these stray cats a few times........ [furious]

If she cares so much, why dont she go find a place for these cats ?????? Just feeding them is not the right solution. Its causing hygenie problems and worst still scatch/bite a curious kid or something......then who is responsible ? [shakehead]

One fine day, im gona call the authorities to clear them out. [mad]

At most your kid kenna scratched by the cat but how many cats were killed by these sickos a year? Cats generally are very affectionate animals, I have never been attacked by a cat before in my life. What I see is some kids who like to disturb the cat resulting in the cat retaliating as a result. YOU should keep a watch and educate your kid if you don't want them to be attacked by cats.

Afterall they DO deserve a place in this world right?

[sweatdrop] I find it very amusing upon reading your story about your wife's fear of cats...If her fear stems from a bad experience with a cat, and she associates all things with cats as"bad", then I am very sure your wife would have more negative experiences with people...

one cat pounce on her and its traumatic for life...what happens when she comes across a negative experience with another human being? Say, someone jumps queue in front of her? Or someone snatches her parking lot? or some driver horns her and gestures at her while she's driving? all of which happens everyday...would she be in fear of people from then on?

it is rather incredulous to blame your fears on one object/person/experience...

My neighbourhood got quite a number of stray cats too. Have seen them resting on top of cars many times. Shittt all over the grass patch.

Told off the person feeding these stray cats a few times........ [furious]

If she cares so much, why dont she go find a place for these cats ?????? Just feeding them is not the right solution. Its causing hygenie problems and worst still scatch/bite a curious kid or something......then who is responsible ? [shakehead]

One fine day, im gona call the authorities to clear them out. [mad]

You sound like our health minister. When old ship out to JB. Dumb.

Its causing hygenie problems and worst still scatch/bite a curious kid or something......then who is responsible ?

HAHA why sld the cats be blamed for some silly kids whose parents dont teach?

I do have a colleague who has a phobia of cats. It was because when she was a young girl, her cousins played a trick on her by putting a stray in a cupboard and then make her open it, thus causing the stray to run straight out into her and scaring her out of her wits.

Even though she is > 30 yo now, she still has this fear of cats even though she knows it is irrational. There was once she was walking down the stairs and there was this community cat sleeping on the steps. She actually teared and stoned there, yelling for her then boyfriend to help her. She has no such phobia of dogs though. She used to have 2 poodles which had unfortunately passed on due to old age.

I offered to help her overcome her fears by asking her over to my home so that she can interact with my timid cats but she said no thanks.

Sometimes the human mind can be pretty irrational.

Edited by Kxbc

Hmm...interesting...I must say then that the experience or trauma must be preceded by an element of surprise, of being caught off guard...

i think some over here has to loosen up their hate for cats. i like cats and as a kid i was scratched by one too but it didnt affect me. they are animals which is why they dun understand. these are not tigers.

[sweatdrop] I find it very amusing upon reading your story about your wife's fear of cats...If her fear stems from a bad experience with a cat, and she associates all things with cats as"bad", then I am very sure your wife would have more negative experiences with people...

one cat pounce on her and its traumatic for life...what happens when she comes across a negative experience with another human being? Say, someone jumps queue in front of her? Or someone snatches her parking lot? or some driver horns her and gestures at her while she's driving? all of which happens everyday...would she be in fear of people from then on?

it is rather incredulous to blame your fears on one object/person/experience...

You don't need to have a good reason to be afraid or cats or dogs or other animals. Like me i am afraid of big dogs bcos i was chased before by a dog when i was young. I'm also afaid of coachroach but i don't have any bad experience with it. But when you associate with bad experience with people, you have to see how 'bad' the experience is. If you ask a victim who has been molested or raped, see if she is traumatised or not. Same like ppl who kenna stuck in lift or being robbed in lift, ask them if they are afraid of taking lift with stranger again? This is common sense. Jumping queue is nothing lah, we also jump other ppl's queue at times also what.

My younger sister and I were chased by a huge dog when I was prob 6 and she 4. [laugh] We ran like mad.

I was nearly attacked by a senile old Alsatian when I was 14. It jumped up and placed its front paws on my shoulders (I am very short) while growling and barking into my face for a full minute before its owner rushed out to get him off me. I was scared stiff I tell you.

But I still adore dogs. Then and now. Not traumatised or anything. Kids nowadays can't be so tofu right?