Mnns 4th Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 serious??.... which insurer you had that experience with?.. my current insurer is msig and that lady is with axa...... Yup, I can't speak for other insurer but i have a feeling it does depends on the insurer you are claiming against, how fast they process the claims, any dispute etc. I was claiming against N_UC and my insurer was O@C. Hope yours goes smoothly. Mine was settled after 2mths + and coincide with my renewal . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 15, 2009 Author Share December 15, 2009 Yup, I can't speak for other insurer but i have a feeling it does depends on the insurer you are claiming against, how fast they process the claims, any dispute etc. I was claiming against N_UC and my insurer was O@C. Hope yours goes smoothly. Mine was settled after 2mths + and coincide with my renewal . my 1st one, taxi is with auntie lucy and it took 4mths to settle the 100% claim........!!!... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iziz Clutched December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 (edited) well, no denying that my driving style is "fast" but to be fair, these 3 times really not my fault since 3 times also not due to fast ... 1st time, along hougang ave3, car in front suddenly change lane and i jam brake till very slow and in the end total stop since if i dont, i will kiss him sionce this car in front is not totally in another lane yet.. ... but the werid thing is i have been stationary for 3-5 seconds already, then, stating to move already and bang, taxi behind hit me real hard on the rear...... taxi mus be dreaming since my car has been stationary there for at least 3 seconds.. it was a raining day.... 2nd time, during morning peak hour, ~7:30am, slip road from sle to bke, those who know that slip road well, many car like to do last minute jump Q/cut in....a civic did that, but in fact, he didnt force that hard, just a norm "cut in"... and i brake slightly to let me cut in (it was slow moving anyway) then, bang... a red plate car kiss my ass .... very minor... and just now, 7:14pm was drizzling and slow moving anyway on SLE toward tpe...maybe 40-50 and sometimes drop to 30.....around woodland area.... front car brake, then i brake and car behind didnt brake in time and kiss me............ how can that be my fault?... my kumho ku31 fault??........ if u ask me, my take is if want to follow close to a fast car, make sure u know your braking limit and no denying, i do drive "fast" most of the time........so, should i drive slow so that people can brake on time?.....ummm....... anyway, i think it's just not my year... my previous car has zero accident for 3 years and trust me, i drove even faster back then since i was single but now, has family, i tone down a lot already....... this car nearly 3 year already kena many times.... or as my feng shui master told me, this color is no no for me... Again?!?! U trying to beat my record ar Edited December 15, 2009 by Iziz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnns 4th Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 my 1st one, taxi is with auntie lucy and it took 4mths to settle the 100% claim........!!!... aha. maybe its normal for them to take so long. Btw I am just guessing, if you report the accident but settle in private, you may still need to send ur insurer the proof (letter or something) that you settle it 'privately', so remember to keep those stuffs around, gonna be handy. On a side note, one insurer actually regard my accident as a risk and factor it into the premium even though mine was a 100% against third party oh well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 (edited) u better reflect ur parking skill then!!.. did u park too left or too right or too much protrusion? or simply because u drive a 7-series and park in hdb lot?....those lot to shallow for it lar!... Maybe the Ka was too small, and the 180 was too low so people couldnt see them It was in melb. It was a bad driving year.... kenna 3 instances of punctured tyres from nails (x2) and a screw as well... and the car was parked in a lock up garage so it couldn't be sabotage... I figured out how you're at fault. Your tyres are too grippy, too much traction so they couldnt stop as quickly Damage wise, your bumper should be quite easy. Its the boot that may be an issue. Without getting it fixed properly you may have opening/closing issues or even rainwater leaking in... Edited December 15, 2009 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 well, no denying that my driving style is "fast" but to be fair, these 3 times really not my fault since 3 times also not due to fast ... 1st time, along hougang ave3, car in front suddenly change lane and i jam brake till very slow and in the end total stop since if i dont, i will kiss him sionce this car in front is not totally in another lane yet.. ... but the werid thing is i have been stationary for 3-5 seconds already, then, stating to move already and bang, taxi behind hit me real hard on the rear...... taxi mus be dreaming since my car has been stationary there for at least 3 seconds.. it was a raining day.... 2nd time, during morning peak hour, ~7:30am, slip road from sle to bke, those who know that slip road well, many car like to do last minute jump Q/cut in....a civic did that, but in fact, he didnt force that hard, just a norm "cut in"... and i brake slightly to let me cut in (it was slow moving anyway) then, bang... a red plate car kiss my ass .... very minor... and just now, 7:14pm was drizzling and slow moving anyway on SLE toward tpe...maybe 40-50 and sometimes drop to 30.....around woodland area.... front car brake, then i brake and car behind didnt brake in time and kiss me............ how can that be my fault?... my kumho ku31 fault??........ if u ask me, my take is if want to follow close to a fast car, make sure u know your braking limit and no denying, i do drive "fast" most of the time........so, should i drive slow so that people can brake on time?.....ummm....... anyway, i think it's just not my year... my previous car has zero accident for 3 years and trust me, i drove even faster back then since i was single but now, has family, i tone down a lot already....... this car nearly 3 year already kena many times.... or as my feng shui master told me, this color is no no for me... I suggest you should review your driving style. Every car behave differently, you need to change your driving style to suit the handling of your car. Normally if kena bang behind too many times, it's because of these: 1) You follow too closely and could not gauge correctly between your car speed and braking speed. So when the car infront of you brake, you need to brake hard and that causes the car behind to also slam. 2) You didn't manage to anticipate hazard and space in front. Hazard could be a car that is about to stop because he suddenly switch into your lane and force to stop because he didn't have enough space. You ended up also braking behind him and that causes another car to slam behind you. 3) You brake hard too early even though there is a good length of distance between you and the car in front. However, the car behind knows that you still have some distance in front and didn't expect you to brake so early. (3) is a very common problem. For (2), it always happen in expressways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anakusop Clutched December 15, 2009 Share December 15, 2009 think my fren more cursed then u.... less than one week she got into an accident twice.... both ppl kiss her backside.... 2nd time was replacement car from the workshop...... damn suey...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 16, 2009 Author Share December 16, 2009 Again?!?! U trying to beat my record ar u lor... reco me that lousy color.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 2009 must be a cursed year for me.... why i didnt strike toto first prize??.... i think i dare to claim the top seat for the most "damned" driver of the year........ kena kiss backside 3 times within a 10mth......who can beat this?....... ok, i need serious opinion here.... well, i heard before if i'm renewing my premiun and have a "claim case" on hand, my premium will increase even it's obvious i'm claiming 100% from the driver who kissed my ars and i have zero liability?...... if it's true, then i chialat...my renewal is Jan and from my previous claim experience.. it will take some ~4mths for the case to close.... any bro/sis here know the facts or has similar situation?............. keep a distance from the the vehicle in front so that you need not jam brake if it suddenly stops. if you brake gradually, the vehicle behind will have more time to react and less likely to kiss your car butt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Bro, my mustank's accident rate is way way higher than yours. all the accidents so hiong, i dare not say here yours considered minor already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 No accidents are 100% liability free....you are always allocated some margain of fault. Usually...it does not bother you...but if you kenna 3x in 10 months...those little % will add up. A friend kenna...like you...within a year...he kenna 4x kenna kissed in the rear. 2x was within weeks....he kenna loading for his premium too....that is when we learn of this crap from the insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cklasse 1st Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Getting hit from rear is a case of car behind following too close. If there is ample distance, it would have braked in time unless the driver was sleeping. Whenever I go on the expressway, I always ensure the back guy keep a safe distance from me. I will either go faster to make that distance or change lane to let him pass. It's not how effective can I brake to avoid hitting the front car. The concern is how effective is that car behind me going to brake. It's a lot of defensive driving in Singapore here and not so much of how good you drive. I learned that I need to drive 4 to 5 cars at the same time when I am on the road. I need to drive mentally those cars around me to ensure I am safe. Even in TS situation of car cutting into his lane from SLE exit to BKE, it would be good to check side mirror everytime at such exit to anticipate such queue cutting cars coming in, in order to place yourself in a better position to avoid accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Based on the 3 incident, I don't see how to fault you. As a driver, during sudden braking, our responsibility is not to hit the front car. How close the rear car is on our behind should not deter us from stopping in time not to hit the front car. We are 100% not at fault if we are the first car (not counting those anyhow brake) as per BOLA http://www.gia.org.sg/pdfs/Barometer%20of%...%20Jun%2008.pdf Of course if we have enough space, we should start braking early so that the rear car can have more time to react. But basically, IMHO, it is good to check the rear mirror when braking. It might be safer just to change lane if one huge trailer/truck is following us too fast too close The only thing I can think of is you didn't turn on your headlights during the 2 incidents when it rained Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhao2008 Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 (edited) this year for me same as TS. 3 accidents in 2mths. 1. Front bumper accident in carpark, my car is parked nice in the lot. However, knock by someone. lucky can claim from the other party. 2. Side scratches, as turn too fast inside carpark. pay myself :( 3. Rear bumper. Driving towards expo for sitex. It was raining during noon, with my headlights on. Slow down n soft braking with the flow of the traffic with 0.5-1m car length on lthe most left lane. As many cars are queuing to turn into expo for church service n sitex. After i stopped for about 10seconds, one blur sotong came n knock my rear. Trying to con me to send my car his own workshop for lower repair cost. So sorry i dun entertain. As he gave me an impression of dreaming, n gaven me excuse for working nightshift. Hence, full third party claim with backup car from workshop, hands-off everything to the workshop to settle. (Red Plate) Now i had full sets of bumper for xmas. Haha My personal exp, i'm ok with taxi, lorries, van, motorcycle. As my driving speed is normally 80-90km/h on highway. Goes with the flow of the traffic, pple go fast i go fast, with safety distance. So enough time to react at most horn for warning. If no cars infornt, i just maintain at normal driving speed. As i normally plan my route, so not rush for anythings. Even if its late, i dun bother late liao what for speed. But not some red plates. So red plates are just like animals release from the zoo. Zoom here zoom there, cut here cut there like the whole road own by them. I think for sudden brake most important is to brake in time to avoid any impact to the car infornt. But not to forget the sides as well. Sometimes, while trying to avoid impact to the car infornt, forgetting the oncoming traffic from the sides. If sway sway, cannot avoid in time, mulitple collision will sure happened. As for rear, the tailgating driver should keep his/her own braking distance. Anyway Drive Safely, Enjoy the upcoming holidays Edited December 16, 2009 by Zhao2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 I used to kena kissed a few times on backside in one yr before. Changed my driving style a little, always give the rear car ample warning ... how? ... by not following too close to the front car if i see that my rear has a tailgater. So far so good .. thank God! 2009 must be a cursed year for me.... why i didnt strike toto first prize??.... i think i dare to claim the top seat for the most "damned" driver of the year........ kena kiss backside 3 times within a 10mth......who can beat this?....... ok, i need serious opinion here.... well, i heard before if i'm renewing my premiun and have a "claim case" on hand, my premium will increase even it's obvious i'm claiming 100% from the driver who kissed my ars and i have zero liability?...... if it's true, then i chialat...my renewal is Jan and from my previous claim experience.. it will take some ~4mths for the case to close.... any bro/sis here know the facts or has similar situation?............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tookara Neutral Newbie December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 erm its other ppl langgar his car rear leh not he langgar ppl so why should he change his habits? its ppl who are tailgating him mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 well, no denying that my driving style is "fast" but to be fair, these 3 times really not my fault since 3 times also not due to fast ... 1st time, along hougang ave3, car in front suddenly change lane and i jam brake till very slow and in the end total stop since if i dont, i will kiss him sionce this car in front is not totally in another lane yet.. ... but the werid thing is i have been stationary for 3-5 seconds already, then, stating to move already and bang, taxi behind hit me real hard on the rear...... taxi mus be dreaming since my car has been stationary there for at least 3 seconds.. it was a raining day.... 2nd time, during morning peak hour, ~7:30am, slip road from sle to bke, those who know that slip road well, many car like to do last minute jump Q/cut in....a civic did that, but in fact, he didnt force that hard, just a norm "cut in"... and i brake slightly to let me cut in (it was slow moving anyway) then, bang... a red plate car kiss my ass .... very minor... and just now, 7:14pm was drizzling and slow moving anyway on SLE toward tpe...maybe 40-50 and sometimes drop to 30.....around woodland area.... front car brake, then i brake and car behind didnt brake in time and kiss me............ how can that be my fault?... my kumho ku31 fault??........ if u ask me, my take is if want to follow close to a fast car, make sure u know your braking limit and no denying, i do drive "fast" most of the time........so, should i drive slow so that people can brake on time?.....ummm....... anyway, i think it's just not my year... my previous car has zero accident for 3 years and trust me, i drove even faster back then since i was single but now, has family, i tone down a lot already....... this car nearly 3 year already kena many times.... or as my feng shui master told me, this color is no no for me... 3 times, all 3 ties claim insurance?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 16, 2009 Share December 16, 2009 Try it a few times yourself Getting hit in the rear, even though u can claim $$ is extremely inconvenient. If can avoid, avoid. erm its other ppl langgar his car rear leh not he langgar ppl so why should he change his habits? its ppl who are tailgating him mah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...