RIVERVIEW

Picanto

Yeah, but is he the guy as described in my earlier post?

Yep, inclusive of parts. Actually, does the job really require alot of labour? Steering tie rods, rear brake discs & pads...that's it! Ed China (Wheeler Dealers) can do it in no time at all...alone! [grin]

When I mentioned roughly $280 just now, it was a conservative estimate on my part. Not their actual quote. Their actual quote was as follows:

Brake discs: Translated from Mandarin - "A few ten dollars" each. So what can I take this to mean?? [confused]

Brake pads: Also "a few ten dollars" [confused] Help please? Anyone? [confused]

Steering tie rods: $70.00 (very reasonable!)

Wheel Alignment: $60.00 (hmmm...quite ex!)

actually the price is very reasonable.. even if you get your brake pads direct from ric tat, it will also cost a few ten dollars each.. it simply means "ji shi kuai".. a literal and loose translation from chinese into english..

the wheel alignment is not expensive.. i had my wheel alignment and the bolt nut installed at kenny (used to be in RV, now an own boss). cost me quite a lot.. the bot nut which I got from Kenny (now an own boss).. The bot nut itself cost me $100+++... :o but no more uneven tyre wear...

i would say its very reasonable.. try asking from ur AD, think easily twice the amount or even mroe [laugh]

this must be one of the "hottest" topic in MCF. it has reached 9 pages after a few days. more positive feebacks than negative feedbacks. regardless of the outcome, i think RV is super famous in MCF, even without becoming a sponser.

and you are right, this topic has made RV even closer with their customers...no thanks to me

somehow, u reminded of myself when i was younger.. but then i never go smear people's reputation like you.

i am just a strong advocate that we should not drive to Jay Bee... [laugh] i am only 20% strength at my peak compared to you... now i am uncle weixiang le... haha... no longer hot blooded..

vincent is actually a very nice boss but then even i am a client, when i saw what you had done... i could not but felt rather fumed as well...

Edited by Ivan_06

cannot compare with AD lah............................

any WS will surely be cheaper than AD right?

yes, and what u had post in another thread about the $15 labour for change of oil, filter, spark plugs and etc.. in those 1 man show workshop...

last time i visited a very famous workshop in eunos, really like one man show.. people say until got mountain got hill.. tried them once.. err. no more. ^^

one thing i like to add, the level of expertise and detail in RV is way better compared to AD.

not forgetting that its more like a family thing.. ^^

Edited by Ivan_06

Actually after reading this whole topic, I am tempted to try out RV... i am soon due for my 20k servicing for my Fit and I used up all my vouchers from my PI...

Only prob is the location quite far as i am from the east.

There is a whirring sound coming from the rear left suspension everytime i accelerate too much(sound is like a bike very near ur car)... no sound during cruising....

Any advice...

somehow or other, i really dun take offence with what you say.

i may be very "famous" and put up "earth shaking" comments/discussion online. but i think i am still a kind person at heart.

of course u shouldnt take offense... i wasnt being rude to you what... just stating some of my thoughts based on facts...

and i never doubted your heart... yah i also THINK you could be kind hearted... ^_^

by the way, self praise is no praise... but i seriously do not doubt your heart... [laugh] just pls dont say good thinks about one's self... character and personalities are for OTHERS to judge, not one's self..

CHEERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [laugh]

cannot compare with AD lah............................

any WS will surely be cheaper than AD right?

there is no SURELY when it comes to workshops... ^_^

Actually after reading this whole topic, I am tempted to try out RV... i am soon due for my 20k servicing for my Fit and I used up all my vouchers from my PI...

Only prob is the location quite far as i am from the east.

There is a whirring sound coming from the rear left suspension everytime i accelerate too much(sound is like a bike very near ur car)... no sound during cruising....

Any advice...

sorry cant help ur problem... but RV sure can... and you may go there all thanks to this thread... hahaha... Mr Picanto aka (famous and earth shaking) has gotten yet another potential customer for Mr Mong... [laugh]

bro, Wheel Alignment: $60.00 where got ex? some charge even more. $50 or less is if you bought tyres/suspensions frm them... or you regular or friend... how much you expecting? by the way wheel Alignment got computer type and also 'eye power' type. ^_^

anyone correct me if i wrong pls...

Ya lar, i agree. $60 for wheel alignment where got ex? If you asked around, that should be one of the cheapest you can find liao. Usually it ranges from 60 -65 onwards.

I think it is only fair to do your homework and asked around before making comments on if something is ex or not.

Ya lar, i agree. $60 for wheel alignment where got ex? If you asked around, that should be one of the cheapest you can find liao. Usually it ranges from 60 -65 onwards.

I think it is only fair to do your homework and asked around before making comments on if something is ex or not.

I done my computerise wheel alignment at RV at $30 nia.....did they charge me wrong? haha [laugh]

Guys, pls allow me a little sharing from my point of view, costing is merely primary source on comfort level. You might source a WS that do $50 but end of the day there might be trade off in some area, do spend some time, understand what you be paying for then proceed. I still got friend that insist AD due to comfort level.

David

To setup a business is easy but to sustain and maintain, the road is long and tough, those who is running a business will know the hardship and sacrifices. But to those ppl out there who is just merely just a staff of a company, pls concentrate on collecting your payslip every mth and pray hard not to get retrench.

Agree. Alot of time we always compare the cost from car owner point of view. We try to save as much as we can by buying the spare parts and consumables from the stockist. Then we bring to the workshop hoping to be charged the lowest for labor cost. From workshop point of view, they lose out on the opportunity to earn from the spare parts and consumables to cover the overheads. Hence they have no choice but to charge higher for the labor or impose additional charge for BYO. Sadly most forumers do not understand this point. Soem even go to the extent of condemning them for charging higher. Workshops are setup as business to make money, to provide employment for the staffs. If we expect to pay the lowest and ends up the business is no longer viable, we as car owners will also lose out in the end for not able to service/repair our ride in the workshop that we trust.

So only towkay like you can kao bei and peasants just keep quiet hor?

be it towkay or non-towkay, everyone is kao bei-ing, tough time right now.

note: tow kay is also peasant.

btw: i am just a staff of a US MNC whose future also unknown...hahahha

Agree. Alot of time we always compare the cost from car owner point of view. We try to save as much as we can by buying the spare parts and consumables from the stockist. Then we bring to the workshop hoping to be charged the lowest for labor cost. From workshop point of view, they lose out on the opportunity to earn from the spare parts and consumables to cover the overheads. Hence they have no choice but to charge higher for the labor or impose additional charge for BYO. Sadly most forumers do not understand this point. Soem even go to the extent of condemning them for charging higher. Workshops are setup as business to make money, to provide employment for the staffs. If we expect to pay the lowest and ends up the business is no longer viable, we as car owners will also lose out in the end for not able to service/repair our ride in the workshop that we trust.

very true...i come across workshops that employ SG workers, pay is little bit high but generally responsible, good working attitude and produce quality workmanship. MY worker also not bad. But if employ other nationalities, no doubt pay is cheap but workmanship, attitude and workmanship is questionable.

ultimately when one doing business is all abt profit, earn big or small profit still profit, cannot do loss business, this is not a charity. need to cover boss and employees pay, utilities, rental, goods purchasing, maintenance of equipment etc etc

Hmmm???? Interesting

Stamford, Hanip and MBM are charging me lesser for my 40K servicing than RV, doing the same kind of servicing.

Which workshops have high profits??? I know Stamford is a public listed company and they can afford to charge lower than many other major workshop.

Very interesting, so need to charge more cover operating cost??? [hur]