Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

http://www.heartscanblog.org/2011/03/handy...carb-index.html

Handy dandy carb index

There are a number of ways to gauge your dietary carbohydrate exposure and its physiologic consequences.

One of my favorite ways is to do fingerstick blood sugars for a one-hour postprandial glucose. I like this because it provides real-time feedback on the glucose consequences of your last meal. This can pinpoint problem areas in your diet.

Another way is to measure small LDL particles. Because small LDL particles are created through a cascade that begins with carbohydrate consumption, measuring them provides an index of both carbohydrate exposure and sensitivity. Drawback: Getting access to the test.

For many people, the most practical and widely available gauge of carbohydrate intake and sensitivity is your hemoglobin A1c, or HbA1c.

HbA1c reflects the previous 60 to 90 days blood sugar fluctuations, since hemoglobin is irreversibly glycated by blood glucose. (Glycation is also the phenomenon responsible for formation of cataracts from glycation of lens proteins, kidney disease, arthritis from glycation of cartilage proteins, atherosclerosis from LDL glycation and components of the arterial wall, and many other conditions.)

HbA1c of a primitive hunter-gatherer foraging for leaves, roots, berries, and hunting for elk, ibex, wild boar, reptiles, and fish: 4.5% or less.

HbA1c of an average American: 5.2% (In the population I see, however, it is typically 5.6%, with many 6.0% and higher.)

HbA1c of diabetics: 6.5% or greater.

Don't be falsely reassured by not having a HbA1c that meets "official" criteria for diabetes. A HbA1c of 5.8%, for example, means that many of the complications suffered by diabetics--kidney disease, heightened risk for atherosclerosis, osteoarthritis, cataracts--are experienced at nearly the same rate as diabetics.

With our wheat-free, cornstarch-free, sugar-free diet, we have been aiming to reduce HbA1c to 4.8% or less, much as if you spent your days tracking wild boar.

I just started on this since 14 March 2011 (till today = 18days)

Weight has dropped from 94 kg to 86.6 kg this morning before breakfast.

This include the days I went to Bangkok and my weight loss literally stalled for the 4 days despite eating salmon, steak, pork and unagi.

Probably due to overdose of fresh coconuts when i was there.

I won't say I am successful as this is still too early but just to share with those who wants to embark on this

1. Read http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/ to understand why you are doing this.

Alot of people will try to put you down.

If you don't understand the science behind it, you will feel miserable.

2. Homecooked food is many times better than outside food for weight loss even if you are eating only pure fats and some proteins.

I guess the main difference is the oil they use and the amount of sugar that goes to cooking the food.

I use ghee or butter to cook my food.

3. Breakfast is a major headache. I bet you will end up eating bacon and ham + eggs more often.

To cut the sodium, i suggest you parboil the bacon and ham before eating (soak in boiling water for 3min).

You will have to wake up early to do it but it is well worth it because if u have a heavy breakfast, you can skip or not eat that much for lunch which is settled outside.

The usual hawker fare is not that recommended.

4. I was a soda + fruit juice addict and hardly drink plain water.

The sudden drop will cause some withdrawal syndromes.

Buy a box of OSK green tea and chill it in the fridge. Taste better than plain water.

Yes i know diet coke has aspartame but it helps to alleviate the pain of no sugary drinks.

5. Your success rate improves if your spouse joins in.

6. Don't have a ai mai ai mai attitude. Want to do, than do it properly.

Don't try to cheat. If you don't see results, the likelihood of you quitting is very high.

7. Exercise is recommended. Try doing pushups, squats, crunches at home.

Go down slow and come up slow. Idea is to work the muscles and not go through motion to get the reps.

I find sprinting up staircase (4 stories -> rest 10sec -> 4 stories) to be excellent as it does not depends on the weather and takes very little time to arrive at start point.

8. Eat animal fats not stuff yourself with proteins. I can see why people fail. Probably they ate more proteins than fats.

Eating proteins will not make you full for long periods of time.

I avoided roast pork, pork leg trotters, kway chap (without kway, tau kwah and fishcake) etc last time and to me initially, eating all these fats is gross.

After sometime, u get used to it.

That's all for now.

Thanks to chickenbackside for daring to try this and share his experience. I know i will chicken out for sure if i did not see any locals doing it.

Edited by Cwong2910

Well done Wong!

Thatz nearly 8 kg loss in two weeks, I guess you must be very disciplined.

Yes, the spouse is very very impt. If your spouse dun follow this lifestyle, it is difficult.

Great work and PM MO for an invite to the dark side ya.

Edited by Piyopico

Well done Wong!

Thatz nearly 8 kg loss in two weeks, I guess you must be very disciplined.

Yes, the spouse is very very impt. If your spouse dun follow this lifestyle, it is difficult.

Great work and PM MO for an invite to the dark side ya.

Done...hahah

And good job CWong - understanding the science/logic behind why we do it is a big first step...

Results is the best motivator [laugh]

I know i will chicken out for sure if i did not see any locals doing it.

No need to chicken out. There are many locals doing it. From old to very young. All got.

My own parents, my friends, their parents, their children, their siblings, uncles, aunties... This is only my own personal chain.

Still got the bros who took a step to investigate my posts, dare to try it, their families and friends...

It just takes a bit of desire to know the truth and the ability to read.

Good job Cwong. It against conventional wisdom but it works. I think you have joined a small group that also found a lifestyle that can maintain the desired weight and fitness.

Plus it's a good thing your wife joined you. My wife and all saw the changes but still can't accept it fully. I have learned to respect their decision and live in harmony with this difference.

Cheers and blessed day !

Hi..

I'm new to this low carb diet..

What do u guys think about this?

meal 1:

3 scrambled eggs cooked in butter + 3 fish oil softgels + 10 almonds + 1 cup of green tea (self brew)

meal 2:

3 hard/soft boiled eggs with butter & coconut cream + 5 almonds + either western food (chop w/o fries) or chup cai png w/o rice (2 meat 1 veg) + 3 fish oil softgels + 1 cup of green tea (self brew)

very minimum exercise... probably just twice a week HIIT (burpees) + some random # of chin ups..

feasible? enough fats? protein? or too much carb?

I started this low carb diet last week.. cutting away all bread & 95% of rice (cheat a little probably just 2 tablespoons when I forget to order chup cai png w/o rice)

so far manage to lose 1.5kg

Target to lose 10kg.

Please advise.

Thanks!

Edited by Freshy

Bacon is full of sodium, even if you parboil i guess it's still salty as ever.

How about pan fry pork belly? You can get them from SengSiong thinly sliced frozen packs and they are not preserved with sodium. Best thing is after frying the pork belly, the pan is well greased...i will just crack in a couple of eggs. :wub:

3. Breakfast is a major headache. I bet you will end up eating bacon and ham + eggs more often.

To cut the sodium, i suggest you parboil the bacon and ham before eating (soak in boiling water for 3min).

You will have to wake up early to do it but it is well worth it because if u have a heavy breakfast, you can skip or not eat that much for lunch which is settled outside.

The usual hawker fare is not that recommended.

Hi..

I'm new to this low carb diet..

What do u guys think about this?

meal 1:

3 scrambled eggs cooked in butter + 3 fish oil softgels + 10 almonds + 1 cup of green tea (self brew)

meal 2:

3 hard/soft boiled eggs with butter & coconut cream + 5 almonds + either western food (chop w/o fries) or chup cai png w/o rice (2 meat 1 veg) + 3 fish oil softgels + 1 cup of green tea (self brew)

very minimum exercise... probably just twice a week HIIT (burpees) + some random # of chin ups..

feasible? enough fats? protein? or too much carb?

I started this low carb diet last week.. cutting away all bread & 95% of rice (cheat a little probably just 2 tablespoons when I forget to order chup cai png w/o rice)

so far manage to lose 1.5kg

Target to lose 10kg.

Please advise.

Thanks!

I got a feeling with your diet, it is not sustainable as it is only 2 meals per day, and that's very little that you eat. Want to share what's your normal diet like? How many meals? And your weight before you start?

hmm.. isn't 2 meals a day the way for low carb/paleo?

normal diet? You mean become I start this? is those typical wholemeal bread + butter and/or rolled oats with cocoa powder. then lunch & dinner is chup cai png with rice or home cooked dinner(similar to chup cai png but with soup)

actually, I do feel full & satisfied with the oily tasty scrambled eggs for breakfast. :D

paiseh.. still reading up this 300++ pages of discussion. Absorbing as much as possible.. till then please do pardon me if I ask any repeated stuff. [blush][sweatdrop]

weight/height = 82.6kg/170cm

measured last week... my weight more or less stay that way for almost a year.. + - 1 or 2kg... but always strangely go back to that number despite feasting or the normal reduced calorie dieting.. [hur]

I'm 175cm n weigh 73kg, that's after losing 17kg n I still look pretty chunky, but healthy chunky hehe. I think for your height, should drop down to 70kg, unless u r very muscular.

ya lor.. [bigcry]

still a long way to go..

I read is ard 65kg for my height. ^_^

Nope. not a gym goer or someone who exercise regularly..

May I know how long you took to shed 17kg?

Edited by Freshy

Can see my before n after pics early in this thread. For the first 12 weeks, I lost 1kg per week, frequently eating buffets lol. Then the last 5kg was slowly lost over 2 months as I neared a low bodyfat level. All the while stuffing my face everyday. In fact I even cut down on exercise as I got lazier lol

Hi all, now in the US, heading off to my challenge in a few hours time. My pre qualify was great.

I'm all ready/ and CBS, yes bro. my last and final challenge, I'm not getting any younger, and all my old course mates are also stopping. 3 already grand dads. [:p] Narr...still a long way to go for me.

and no bro. I never fall off the wagon since. [:)]

Handsome. [rolleyes]

Can see my before n after pics early in this thread. For the first 12 weeks, I lost 1kg per week, frequently eating buffets lol. Then the last 5kg was slowly lost over 2 months as I neared a low bodyfat level. All the while stuffing my face everyday. In fact I even cut down on exercise as I got lazier lol

Hi all, now in the US, heading off to my challenge in a few hours time. My pre qualify was great.

I'm all ready/ and CBS, yes bro. my last and final challenge, I'm not getting any younger, and all my old course mates are also stopping. 3 already grand dads. [:p] Narr...still a long way to go for me.

and no bro. I never fall off the wagon since. [:)]

Wah, what you doing there? Sounds like you're doing something dangerous!

As for myself, I've switched to lifting heavy (3-5 rep range) in the gym 3 times a week, with once a week max effort 8 set sprints. I was expecting to put on some fat cos my activity level has decreased drastically since the metabolically demanding circuits have been cut out, and the heavy lifting is causing me to eat like a PIG! But so far, my pants still fit and my muscles seem to be becoming more angular looking.

Still eat the same foods though. Just even more now. Scary.