Ender Hypersonic March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 http://www.heartscanblog.org/2011/03/lette...ce-company.html Letter from the insurance company Claudia got this letter from her health insurance company: Dear Ms. ------, Based on a recent review of your cholesterol panel of January 12, 2011, we feel that you should strongly consider speaking to your doctor about cholesterol treatment. Reducing cholesterol values to healthy levels has been shown to reduce heart attack risk . . . Okay. So the health insurer wants Claudia to take a cholesterol drug in the hopes that it will reduce their exposure to the costs for her future heart catheterization, angioplasty and stent, or bypass surgery. This is understandable, given the extraordinary costs of such hospital services, typically running from $40,000 for a several hour-long outpatient catheterization procedure, to as much as $200,000 for a several day long stay for coronary bypass surgery. So what's the problem? Here are Claudia's most recent lipid values: LDL cholesterol 196 mg/dl HDL 88 mg/dl Triglycerides 37 mg/dl Total cholesterol 291 mg/dl By the criteria followed by her health insurer, both total and LDL cholesterol are much too high. Note, of course, that LDL cholesterol was a calculated value, not measured. Here are Claudia's lipoproteins, drawn simultaneously with her lipids: LDL particle number 898 nmol/L Small LDL particle number <90 nmol/L LDL particle number is, by far and away, the best measure of LDL particles, an actual count of particles, rather than a guesstimate of LDL particles gauged by measuring cholesterol in the low-density fraction of lipoproteins (i.e., LDL cholesterol). It is also measured and is highly reproducible. To convert LDL particle number in nmol/L to an LDL cholesterol-like value in mg/dl, divide by ten (or just drop the last digit). Claudia's measured LDL is therefore 89 mg/dl--54% lower than the crude calculated LDL suggests. This is because virtually all of Claudia's LDL particles are large, with little or no small. This situation throws off the crude assumptions built into the LDL calculation, making it appear that she has very high LDL cholesterol. Do you think that Big Pharma advertises this phenomenon? My humble assessment of Claudia's blood readings is typical for those on low carb on high fat diet.. The high HDL and low Trig are indicator of such diet. I'm seeing such trend in my own blood test. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Most of the anti-nutrients (lectins, glycoalkaloids) are found in the skin of a potato. Aiya, don't worry about it lah. If you're eating them once in a while, it's fine. apply to all potato? including sweet potato.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Yes, applies to all varieties of tubers. Once a month is ok. But if you eat like everyday, then peel the skin. But of course you do know that you shouldn't be eating it often right? Especially for a diabetic... For me, I have a small one once in a few months when I start feeling a bit cold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Yes, applies to all varieties of tubers. Once a month is ok. But if you eat like everyday, then peel the skin. But of course you do know that you shouldn't be eating it often right? Especially for a diabetic... For me, I have a small one once in a few months when I start feeling a bit cold. since i have taken myself off the pill, guess i can be consider myself to be a non-diabebes . one piece of good news for you bro, tapioca kueh is made from tapioca and water. No flour or any sort involved, no sugar if you dont mind. Some pandan and bit of salt to taste. and lots of coconut flakes to go with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 since i have taken myself off the pill, guess i can be consider myself to be a non-diabebes . one piece of good news for you bro, tapioca kueh is made from tapioca and water. No flour or any sort involved, no sugar if you dont mind. Some pandan and bit of salt to taste. and lots of coconut flakes to go with it. Which Tapioca kuah doesn't have FLOUR to it? Tell me. It's well...called Tapioca FLOUR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Which Tapioca kuah doesn't have FLOUR to it? Tell me. It's well...called Tapioca FLOUR. LOL - still flour...hahah But seriously, I think there are also some debate at the ang mo forums over what type of flour can be used... Some are recommending almond and coconut flour but almost impossible to find here... So to save time and effort, I just avoid ALL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 LOL - still flour...hahah But seriously, I think there are also some debate at the ang mo forums over what type of flour can be used... Some are recommending almond and coconut flour but almost impossible to find here... So to save time and effort, I just avoid ALL I did, sometime back, make a coconut cake, without flour, and CBS saw the picture, and couldn't control himself at the sight of the cake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 I did, sometime back, make a coconut cake, without flour, and CBS saw the picture, and couldn't control himself at the sight of the cake. the brown brown one that looks like sai isit? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 the brown brown one that looks like sai isit? lol That one not cake, Chocolate Fudge. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 really, i bluff you all not. Later i post pix cos OC making them later. Is tapioca consider tubers?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 I did, sometime back, make a coconut cake, without flour, and CBS saw the picture, and couldn't control himself at the sight of the cake. Cooooo coooo uuuutttttt..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 really, i bluff you all not. Later i post pix cos OC making them later. Is tapioca consider tubers?? Tapioca still carbs wat. Does not have to be in the form of flour. Wanna eat then just eat lah, you also wack DURIANS liao lor. BTW, this weekend onwards Mao Shan Wang prices will start to drop cos in season. Should be $10 per kg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 tapioca=root=starch seems they are different from potato or sweet potato = cant eat its no wonder they can be make into kueh even without flour... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Tapioca n sweet potato just has slightly less carbs per gram than other tubers. Less doesn't mean none... If u like have one per month that's definitely ok... But more frequently than once a fortnight is probably once too much... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Generally I look upon all plant matter with suspicion. They're not supposed to be our food... The only plant material I use is distilled liquor n tobacco lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 I eat plant matter basically cos they compliment my meat. They also give me a a vehicle to transport my coconut oil. Drinking coconut oil straight from the bottle becomes boring after a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Tapioca n sweet potato just has slightly less carbs per gram than other tubers. Less doesn't mean none... If u like have one per month that's definitely ok... But more frequently than once a fortnight is probably once too much... me not really into kueh, so its ok for me . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 tapioca=root=starch seems they are different from potato or sweet potato = cant eat its no wonder they can be make into kueh even without flour... Table for your viewing pleasure. TABLE 3. Average Nutrient Composition (per 100 gm Edible Portion) of Cassava Compared to That of Some Staple Food Crops Found in West Africa tubers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...