Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

I way far shorter. 1.79. :D

Wah, then I am the "shortest" at 1.81 [laugh]

Last time in the army, always kena arrowed to be flag bearer in parades :angry:

Any "disrespect" to the flag means 7 extra weekend DO duties...heng never kena before...heheh

Edited by Xtrocious

Even if there's no potato starch added, gotta be careful with ANY plant product, because they ALL contain carbs to some degree. Tumeric is a root, u say neh. Just use sparingly.

Tumeric is actually grounded up old ginger...

Should be okay since MO is using a sprinkling of it...

That you have to ask him. He never read properly. I never advocate any flour in what i cook.

Ya lor, that's why i thought how come han pao pao go and tell people to add corn flour which is really corn starch...hahah

Yellow Ginger.

Tumeric is actually grounded up old ginger...

Should be okay since MO is using a sprinkling of it...

That you have to ask him. He never read properly. I never advocate any flour in what i cook.

I think he was just trying to be "helpful"...hahah

And you are right - cheat a little here and a little there does add up and it will probably never stop...sigh

Your weight and mood flutuate with hormonal levels which is what we expect. Our whole system is based on hormonal balance and control after all. So don't get too hang up about it. Cos ain't nuthin' you can do with that part.

Know that you're becoming healthier. You lost some weight, enough that you want to carry on with this eating style, and be disciplined about it. That's good enough. And to know you can achieve something when you really want it bad enuff. Find your own balance.

[drivingcar]

true true!!

all of us here are heading the same direction: to be fit and healthy!

still a long way to go for me [:p]

true true!!

all of us here are heading the same direction: to be fit and healthy!

still a long way to go for me [:p]

Hey sis, don't worry, it's not a race

There's no finishing line on our journey to good health... :D

I urge you to pick up the book I was extolling earlier. Even if you're not a runner. As long as you're reading this thread, you're interested in weight loss, exercise, diet, please go beg, borrow, steal or buy one [thumbsup] It's not just about running, or the lost hidden tribe, you'll learn so much more and may even fill up some of the blanks of the stuff you read here. Even the skeptical may be convinced. Read the book. It's

An excerpt:

'But the big mystery continued to be food. Judging by the Godzilla-like growth of our heads, Lieberman could pinpoint the exact moment when the cavemen menu changed: it had to be two million years ago, when apelike Australopitheus - with his tiny, giant jaw, and billy-goat diet of tough fibrous plants - evolved into Homo erectus, our slim, long legged ancestor with the big head and small tearing teeth perfectly suited for raw flesh and soft fruits. Only one thing could have sparked such a dramatic makeover: a diet no primate had ever eaten before, featuring a reliable supply of meat, with its high concentrations of calories, fat, and protein.

"So where the f--k did they get it?" Lieberman asks, with all the gusto of a man who's not squeamish about hacking into goats with a rock. 'The bow and arrow is twenty thousand years old. The spearhead is two hundred thousand years old. But Homo erectus is around two million years old. That means that for most of our existence - for nearly two million years! - hominids were getting meat with their bare hands.'

Ok, I won't spoil your fun. Go read the book.

In fact, CBS earlier in somewhere in the middle of this thread, if I remember (and if I've forgotten or gotten it wrong, forgive me, CBS :D ) that man was not meant to run long distance and/or marathons. And Mark Sissons or some paleo websites also talked about being hunter gatherers we walked long distances with short sprints to forage and hunt for food. We'd to sprint when we'd to chase or kill wounded animals. In fact, they'd be only 1/2 right. Because we're meant to run even longer distances. Read the book and maybe you'll believe that we're Born to Run.

BTW, I'm in no way related to the author, no scottish blood, nor the publisher. In fact, neither am I related to CBS or MO or skunk here except that we're Homo sapiens [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think he was just trying to be "helpful"...hahah

And you are right - cheat a little here and a little there does add up and it will probably never stop...sigh

we really gettin hardcore here, few grams also no give face liao [:p]

Well, it's really your choice...

But a few grams here and there could stop the fat burning process...

Then all your previous effort is wasted and you have to restart from scratch again...

Maybe it's just me but I am a great believer of if I want to do something, I will want to do it right the first time, everytime [laugh]

The key contention I have is in the definition of the word "run". I believe we're made to walk n jog long distances, but the word "run" to me, is like a sprint. We're not made to sprint long distances like 4-legged running animals, just examining our anatomy alone can tell that. But of course, I would guess "run" in the book actually means "jog".

Great writeup on WHR (waist-hip-ratio): http://nephropal.blogspot.com/2010/05/sex-...erved-nsfw.html

subcut%20v.%20visc%20fat%20adams.jpg

Sex and Omega-3: Highly Conserved (nsfw)

One of the pioneers on studying adaptations for sexual selection is Dr. Devendra Singh who has been doing research on human waist-hip-ratios (WHR) for decades. I first read about WHR in Drs. Mary and Mike Eades MD wonderful book the '6-week Cure', pioneers on how to achieve optimum WHRs in these neolithic days. Ideal for females is considered 0.7 and for males, approximately, 0.9, according to the research. The WHR is measured ratio of the differences between our depot or storage compartments for 2 distinctly different types of adipose (fat) tissues. Visceral fat is found around the organs and internally in the abdomen, and generally associated with inflammatory states, hormone deficiencies, nutritional imbalances and heightened atherosclerotic, dementia and cancer risks. As all amazing things designed for the mammalian body, the purpose of visceral fat is to protect and increase energy stores for sustained periods. What happens if hibernation never ends and the mating season passes over? Actually humans are so high on the apex predator pyramid, we appear to have survivalism and fertile-myrtles persist in the face neolithic damage and pretty cr*ppy WHRs (true for our clan, scary).

Subcutaneous fat lies below the skin on the arms, legs, thighs (femoral) and buttocks (gluteal) are associated youthful appearances, balanced hormones and an overall anti-inflammatory state. Brown fat which is highly associated with optimal metabolism, infection protection, attractive appearances and longevity is found in the subcutaneous layer including the face and cheeks. When you shiver, it is your arms and legs that tremor, not your belly. (Pictures courtesy: arizona.edu biochem lecture.)

Omega-3 Are Slowly Stored in Female Thighs and Buttocks

Lassek and Gaulin correlated cognitive abilities and their relationship to omega-3 (DHA EPA long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids) and WHR in a seminal article 'Waist-hip ratio and cognitive ability: is gluteofemoral fat a privileged store of neurodevelopmental resources?' (Evolution and Human Behavior 29 (2008) 26

More mainstream science research suggesting that sugar is the culprit for more ailments :)

Here's how to bring down your blood pressure

05:55 AM May 27, 2010

WASHINGTON - Downing fewer sugary drinks, one of the main sources of sugar in some people's diet, can help bring down blood pressure, according to a study published on Monday in the American Heart Association journal Circulation.

"Our findings suggest that reducing sugar-sweetened beverages and sugar consumption may be an important dietary strategy to lower blood pressure and further reduce other blood pressure-related diseases," said lead author Liwei Chen, of the Louisiana State University health science centre.

Reducing the intake of sugary drinks by an average of two servings per day can lower systolic blood pressure levels by a small, but significant amount. This in turn would reduce the risk of stroke by 8 per cent and coronary heart disease by 5 per cent, she said.

Researchers observed a group of 810 adults, aged 25 to 79, with pre-hypertension and early hypertension. They took part in an 18-month programme focussing on weight loss, exercise and a healthy diet, and their effects on blood pressure.

At the beginning of the study, patients drank a third of a litre of a sugary drink each day - just under one serving.

The beverages used in the research included those sweetened with sugar or high-fructose corn syrup such as regular soft drinks, fruit drinks, lemonade and fruit punch.

At the end of the study they drank half that amount daily. The participants saw their blood pressure numbers decline with the lower consumption. Previous studies have already shown that drinking sugary beverages can lead to an increased risk of obesity and type-2 diabetes. AFP

URL http://www.todayonline.com/World/EDC100527...-blood-pressure

Copyright 2010 MediaCorp Pte Ltd | All Rights Reserved

More mainstream science research suggesting that sugar is the culprit for more ailments :)

Here's how to bring down your blood pressure

05:55 AM May 27, 2010

WASHINGTON - Downing fewer sugary drinks, one of the main sources of sugar in some people's diet, can help bring down blood pressure, according to a study published on Monday in the American Heart Association journal Circulation.

"Our findings suggest that reducing sugar-sweetened beverages and sugar consumption may be an important dietary strategy to lower blood pressure and further reduce other blood pressure-related diseases," said lead author Liwei Chen, of the Louisiana State University health science centre.

Reducing the intake of sugary drinks by an average of two servings per day can lower systolic blood pressure levels by a small, but significant amount. This in turn would reduce the risk of stroke by 8 per cent and coronary heart disease by 5 per cent, she said.

Researchers observed a group of 810 adults, aged 25 to 79, with pre-hypertension and early hypertension. They took part in an 18-month programme focussing on weight loss, exercise and a healthy diet, and their effects on blood pressure.

At the beginning of the study, patients drank a third of a litre of a sugary drink each day - just under one serving.

The beverages used in the research included those sweetened with sugar or high-fructose corn syrup such as regular soft drinks, fruit drinks, lemonade and fruit punch.

At the end of the study they drank half that amount daily. The participants saw their blood pressure numbers decline with the lower consumption. Previous studies have already shown that drinking sugary beverages can lead to an increased risk of obesity and type-2 diabetes. AFP

URL http://www.todayonline.com/World/EDC100527...-blood-pressure

Copyright 2010 MediaCorp Pte Ltd | All Rights Reserved

agreed, I have started to cut down sugary drinks years ago..

CBS...... :D :D in the process....slow boil, toil and trouble...

post-11534-1275130155_thumb.jpg

Out of the pot comes the heap of delicious rubble! :D

post-11534-1275130216_thumb.jpg

Wahahahahaha! 7kgs!

CBS...... :D :D in the process....slow boil, toil and trouble...

Out of the pot comes the heap of delicious rubble! :D

Wahahahahaha! 7kgs!

Salute bro MO siah...looks fantastic [:)]

Wah 7kg...can last me 1 whole week and more...not that I mind...hahah