Topgun Neutral Newbie October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 ......my wife. Caught her, hook, line, bait and sinker. [laugh] (didn't we all!) Man you still don't get it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 No lah, not the Korean rubbish, that is a novelty waiting to kill someone. The Japanese Tako, is bigger, see sushi bars, crunchy to the bite. My wife's favorite dish, for me...well...not scared, it's a acquired taste. If I am not wrong, those tako in the sushi bars are cooked leh Haven't come across raw tako being served here - maybe I very mountain tortise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Eh, I never show face, how you know I handsome? Maybe my face look like kena bang by bus + moh peng... Fishing not really my thing lah. Last time went with some friends, sian. Went with my god father deep sea fishing, sian + sun burn. Sounds like you got stalker ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Yeah, the drop from the shore is no joke, swam Changi before, plus other places. Skunk, see if the rest game, we all go out and fish. Fee for your time, is no issue with me. Me not newbie to this, but as said, it's been a very long while since I last fished, only fishing I did was......my wife. Caught her, hook, line, bait and sinker. [laugh] (didn't we all!) We did several coastal swims there before as well - current quite strong there as well... Hmm...wonder who caught who? That is what Topgun is trying to say bah As for sea fishing, I must confess - I don't really have sealegs (strange cos I was involved in amphibious ops in the army)...my best friend was not my rifle but a bottle of seasick pills hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 How can didn't get it? Man you still don't get it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Yeah, cooked ones, they don't serve them raw. But bigger then those kimchi ones lah, and dead as well. If I am not wrong, those tako in the sushi bars are cooked leh Haven't come across raw tako being served here - maybe I very mountain tortise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Yeah, cyber stalker........I already told him when he showed his body online. [laugh] Sounds like you got stalker ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 No lah, wife I caught one lah, rod almost snap liek skunk's one, so use trawler net. [laugh] sealegs....donno lah, but I like the sea more then the land to be honest. Worse off, how about we do paleo on land instead, go Ubin, weekend survival, sure fun. Hmm....idea, think I'll speak with my boys, they've been wanting to get out for some weekend camping on teh outer islands.........Ah....St.Johns sounds nice. We did several coastal swims there before as well - current quite strong there as well... Hmm...wonder who caught who? That is what Topgun is trying to say bah As for sea fishing, I must confess - I don't really have sealegs (strange cos I was involved in amphibious ops in the army)...my best friend was not my rifle but a bottle of seasick pills hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 http://nephropal.blogspot.com/2010/10/thos...lueberries.html THOSE AMAZING BLUEBERRIES They are a disease fighting super antioxidant. This small deep blue ancient wild berry, that is very high in anthocyanins, has the potential to slow down aging, ward off disease, and fight against the harmful free radicals that rage constantly within our bodies. The scientists, at John Innes Center and Institute of Food Research in Norwich, have pinpointed a key group of enzymes involved in the production of plant pigments. The pigments are called anthocyanins, and has improved understanding of the genetics of anthocyanins also provides a better platform for studying their antioxidant properties, important in the fight against cancer, cardiovascular disease and age related degeneration. ATHEROSCLEROSIS-HEART ATTACK-STROKE Blueberries may help fight atherosclerosis, also known as hardening of the arteries, according to results of a preliminary U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) funded study with laboratory mice. This is the first direct evidence that blueberries can help prevent harmful plaques or lesions, symptomatic of atherosclerosis, from increasing in size in arteries. Cardiovascular disease is the number one killer of Americans. Principal investigator Xianli Wu, with the USDA Agricultural Research Service led the investigation. The study compared the size, or area, of atherosclerotic lesions in 30 young laboratory mice. Half were fed blueberry powder for 20 weeks; the others received no blueberry powder. Lesion size, measured at two sites on aorta (arteries leading from the heart), was 39 and 58 percent less than that of lesions in mice whose diets did not contain blueberry powdera. MEMORY IN OLDER ADULTS Scientists have reported the first evidence from human research that blueberries, one of the richest sources of healthful antioxidants and other so called phytochemicals improve memory. In the study one group of volunteers in their 70s with early memory decline drank the equivalent of 2-2 1/2 cups of blueberry juice every day for two months. A control group drank a beverage without blue berry juice. The blueberry juice group showed significant improvement on learning and memory tests, the scientist Robert Krikorian and colleagues said. The scientists were from the University of Cincinnati, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the Canadian department of agriculture. BLUEBERRIES AND LIVER DISEASE Conventional drugs used in the treatment of liver disease inevitably have side effects. A research study showed that blueberries could reduce liver indices, serum levels of hyaluronic acid and alanine aminotransferace, and increase levels of superoxide dismutase and decrease levels of malondialdehyde in liver homogenates compared with the model group. Meanwhile, the stage of hepatic fibrosis was significantly weakened. Blueberries increased the activity of glutathione-S-transferase in liver homogenates and the expression of Nrf2 and Nqo 1 compared with model group. The authors suggest that blueberry consumption is beneficial for hepatic disease (including fibrosis). SOURCES X. Wu, J. Kang, C. Xie, R. Burris, M. E. Ferguson, T. M. Badger, S. Nagarajan. Dietary Blueberries Attenuate Atherosclerosis in Apolipoprotein E-Deficient Mice by Upregulating Antioxidant Enzyme Expression. Journal of Nutrition, 2010; 140 (9): 1628 DOI: 10.3945/jn.110.123927Top of FormUSDA/Agricultural Research Service (2010, September 30). Blueberries help fight artery hardening, lab animal study indicates. ScienceDaily. Retrieved October 6, 2010, from http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/...00929105701.htm Journal Reference: Wang YP, Cheng ML, Zhang BF, Mu M, Wu J. Effects of blueberry on hepatic fibrosis and transcription factor Nrf2 in rats. World J Gastroenterol, 2010; 16 (21): 2657-2663 DOI: http://www.wjgnet.com/1007-9327/full/v16/i21/2657.htm World Journal of Gastroenterology (2010, June 18). Blueberry ameliorates hepatic fibrosis, study finds. ScienceDaily. Retrieved October 6, 2010, from http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/...00617102706.htm Krikorian et al. Blueberry Supplementation Improves Memory in Older Adults. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2010; 100104141245097 DOI: 10.1021/jf9029332 American Chemical Society (2010, January 21). Blueberry juice improves memory in older adults. ScienceDaily. Retrieved October 6, 2010, from http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/...00120121552.htm Posted by Dr. T at 7:34 PM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 great stuff, shall add those BLUEBERRIES into my avo shake the next time. Blue + green=? don know what colour its gonna appear to be..... btw, avo shake can replaces a meal easily. I took 1 big cup and feel full even till late at nite.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 great stuff, shall add those BLUEBERRIES into my avo shake the next time. Blue + green=? don know what colour its gonna appear to be..... btw, avo shake can replaces a meal easily. I took 1 big cup and feel full even till late at nite.... Does it matter what colour it is when everything will come out brown Sorry, juvenile humor...hahah A couple of posts back, I did mention about some studies saying that having our meals in soup form will keep hunger pangs away longer... Supposedly the soup expands the stomach (triggering the feeling of satiety) and because of the nutrients, it takes longer to clear blah blah blah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Yeah, cooked ones, they don't serve them raw. But bigger then those kimchi ones lah, and dead as well. Oh ok, the octupus I had in Korea was alive - they snip off the tenacles for us to eat on the spot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 carls junior have the low carb burger!!! i dont know why, but i was quite amazed when i saw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Presently with the amount of food I'm eating per meal, I don't even feel hungry at all, and I don't take soups. If you want soup, then drink more water after the meal lor. Does it matter what colour it is when everything will come out brown Sorry, juvenile humor...hahah A couple of posts back, I did mention about some studies saying that having our meals in soup form will keep hunger pangs away longer... Supposedly the soup expands the stomach (triggering the feeling of satiety) and because of the nutrients, it takes longer to clear blah blah blah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Yeah, Korean woman also need their legs snipped off. Narr...I didn't go for the live octo thing, same with the Kimchi, thought loads of BS on how healthy it is. Oh ok, the octupus I had in Korea was alive - they snip off the tenacles for us to eat on the spot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 You forgot to say HUNGRY also. carls junior have the low carb burger!!! i dont know why, but i was quite amazed when i saw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 No lah, wife I caught one lah, rod almost snap liek skunk's one, so use trawler net. [laugh] sealegs....donno lah, but I like the sea more then the land to be honest. Worse off, how about we do paleo on land instead, go Ubin, weekend survival, sure fun. Hmm....idea, think I'll speak with my boys, they've been wanting to get out for some weekend camping on teh outer islands.........Ah....St.Johns sounds nice. Congrats on the great catch :) Anyway, think you can give Ubin a miss - I took a group up there for camping a few years ago - the conditions at the campsite were bad with very run-down facilities... If they never refurnish the place, I imagine the conditions are probably even worse off now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 When I last camped at Tekong, many moons ago, there wasn't any such a thing called facilities. Same with Ubin, to me, camping is going all out without any facilities, surviving on what you have, brought, caught, dug......*glup* steal. Congrats on the great catch :) Anyway, think you can give Ubin a miss - I took a group up there for camping a few years ago - the conditions at the campsite were bad with very run-down facilities... If they never refurnish the place, I imagine the conditions are probably even worse off now... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...